Is it true that “what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger”?

Yes.  Though perhaps it should be amended that what doesn’t kill you or change you for the worse makes you stronger.

   

I just answered this Featured Question, you can answer it too!

About agnophilo

Nerd.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Is it true that “what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger”?

  1. … that means the same as no. 

  2. Looks like we agree here….

  3. agnophilo says:

    @Newshoundfortruth – No response to my response to your response to my blog comment?: P

  4. @agnophilo – I put that on the other site…couldn’t you see it?

  5. agnophilo says:

    @Newshoundfortruth – I see it, I just didn’t get an update for some reason.

  6. Hmm, you wrote a pretty heartfelt response to what was posted of mine on revelife.  I guess that deserves and honest response.Mostly, the post was about what faith had done for me.  I never intended for it to be applied to all people, nor did I say that no one else would have helped others.  Actually, one of my closest friends, an atheist, was a part of a huge response to Hurricane Katrina, immediately afterwards.  So, I certainly wouldn’t have said that people who aren’t Christians wouldn’t go to other places/countries and help the needy.  Many NGO’s and aid charities are not faith-based, and have done great help to those who are disempowered and suffering.  Actually, I never once said that others wouldn’t have such “moral impulses” as I have.  I will concede that I believe that I have them the way that i do because I experienced a life changing experience in God, but, again, that really wasn’t what the post was about.  It was entirely personally focused – an introvert simply expressing their religious faith and what the journey has been like for them.  Also, I rather agree with your criticism that many christians simply help because they think it is an opportunity to share belief – i have seen this many times, and from both sides of the aisle, so to speak.  Frankly, I think that such actions devalue the person they are trying to reach, and ultimately could easily ruin any chance to share faith that a Christian might have.  We need to love our neighbor, not value them on their religious convictions.As i said, my post on revelife was always intended to be about what my personal walk of faith had been like – not what it was like for other people.  I hope that you do not believe that I look down my nose at people who share different beliefs than I do, and hope thatyou don’t think that I would dare slander you for doing something I myself used to do – not believe in “invisible things.”  I hope you have a wonderful day, and thank you for your straightforward and honest response to my blog!

  7. agnophilo says:

    @JadedJanissary – You say that you never intended to imply that non-believers didn’t have those moral impulses, that they did not constantly revise and improve themselves in the same way, etc and you didn’t intend it to be a commentary on anyone but yourself, but before describing these things you say that they will be particularly hard to explain to non-believers.It’s hard to see how that would not come off as offensive and condescending, even if it wasn’t intended as such.  Then dismissing any argument against the existence of god as being pseudo-intellectual, essentially calling disbelief pseudo-intellectual.Maybe I was wrong, but these comments set a bad tone for the rest of the blog and made the whole thing sound like an insulting diatribe.

  8. @agnophilo – I actually didn’t say that all arguments against the existence of God were pseudo intellectual.  Just as most arguments commonly used FOR the existence of God are pseudo-intellectual, however, most arguments AGAINST the existence of God are the same.  Yes, there are arguments on both sides.  And, I certainly never said that it was the only thing which I encountered from people who differ in their faith beliefs from myself – I simply said that I “get that a lot” from “people.”  Again, you are mistaken about the intent of the post.  I never once said that the post was about moral impulses, nor about the exclusivity of morality to Christians.  You have mistaken the intention – what i said was what the consequences of taking a leap of faith admitting where I was wrong with God, and then throwiing my whole life into full-time christian service would be difficult to express to non-believers.  In fact, it has often been something that I have struggled a great deal to explain to non-Christians, who often have many questions.  I didn’t say that they couldn’t understand it, nor that they would be incapable of having a similar experience – simply that it was difficult to express the consequences of it.

  9. hey…do you have a screen name? I like ur wisdom poem, btw.

  10. agnophilo says:

    @JadedJanissary – Alright – good to know that’s not how it was meant.  I’m sorry for the misunderstanding.

  11. agnophilo says:

    @XATTACK_SQUIRREL_TARGETX – Screenname on what?  And thanks.

  12. agnophilo says:

    @XATTACK_SQUIRREL_TARGETX – cynical2486n – I’m not cynical, I made the screenname when I was like 13, someone called me cynical and I didn’t know what it meant, but I assumed I was, haha.  I just started using pidgin, so you can IM me.  Just lemme know who you are.

  13. MackyM says:

    Probably. I can’t see people with Parkinson’s Disease, Alzhiemer’s, or apuees really feeling like they’ve gained character and personal strength from their ordeal.

  14. I like your Revelife debates!  So I’m subscribing to you.  I can tell that you’ve carefully thought through a lot of issues regarding faith and reality.  Nothing will change my belief in and relationship with Christ, but I can certainly learn from your ideas.I hope you find that the Christian community does not viciously attack you.  For the times that we have, I’m sorry.  We have a lot to learn about love…

  15. agnophilo says:

    @goodnessgraceness – Thank you.  As someone who seems to appreciate the importance of reason and logic, when you say nothing will ever, ever change your mind, doesn’t that invoke just an ounce of shame?  Shouldn’t you be open to the possibility that you’re wrong?Only in religion is never ever changing your mind considered a virtue.  In every other area of human inquiry it’s something to be ashamed of.

  16. Good point, but I think of it more in terms of a relationship…If I love someone and I marry him, I’m not going to let anything change that relationship.  Same with God – I am convinced that he is true, I have encountered him on a personal level, and I have committed my life to him.However, I don’t think it’s a good thing to have blind faith.  When I was a child, I didn’t need too much information to verify my beliefs, but as I’ve gotten older I have looked more into why I believe what I believe.  I have looked for evidence of God, and if I come across something that seems to point to my worldview being inconsistent, I’m going to search it out until I can come to a reasonable conclusion.

  17. agnophilo says:

    @goodnessgraceness – The difference being that you don’t believe that your spouse or significant other exists, you know they do and in actuality interact with them.  You can’t start a “relationship” with a being you don’t know exists, then use your emotional commitment to that premise to justify it as being true.  “I’ve committed my life to him” doesn’t mean diddly, people commit their life to Allah and Mohammad every day.You say you’ve looked for evidence of god – ever found any?

  18. But I could be a total skeptic and say that I have just imagined my spouse; it’s all a hallucination.  I wouldn’t do that, though.  I would trust that my interaction with him is real (especially since other people would corroborate that story).  In the same way, I have interacted with God throughout my life.  I don’t SEE him, but I see him at work.  To use an old analogy, it’s like the wind — it’s invisible, but you can feel it’s effects and watch it blow through the trees.Evidences:- Answered prayers.  There have been so many times that God has specifically answered my prayers.  I can give you examples if you want.  Of course, they could be explained away as coincidences, but why would there be a greater probability that the answers were just a result of chance?- Nature.  When I question the existence of God, I look around me at the earth and people.  There is such complexity and meaning.  I find it hard to believe that this was caused at random with no one behind it.- The Bible in correlation with my experience.  As I seek to understand and live out God’s prescribed plan for humanity, I see more and more the wisdom of it.  Life seems to confirm that we are messed-up people, we do need to be rescued, and God’s way of love and morality is best.What are your thoughts?

  19. agnophilo says:

    @goodnessgraceness – God is invisible, your spouse is not.  Don’t insult my intelligence by comparing concrete things to abstract ones in terms of evidence.The wind is only invisible by human eyes, it can be quantified and observed countless ways.  We can compress and liquify it and even freeze oxygen and nitrogen into solids.  We know the exact atomic makeup of “air”, don’t pretend that your invisible friend is in any way comparable to the wind.Answered prayers are self deception, there is no rational reason to think that because you prayed for something and got it that it was caused by your prayer.  If I spend a lifetime praying to satan regularly I would get lots of answered prayers too simply by the law of large numbers.  I would be able to convince myself satan was helping me even moreso if I lied to myself by ignoring every single prayer that went un-answered, and lied to myself even more by only praying for things I think I can realistically get which are not in any way miraculous (physically impossible).Nature is complex therefore there must be a god.  Setting aside that that in no way dignifies your theism (it’s an argument for deism), it’s also illogical since the god would have to be even more complex and as hard as it is to understand the world (which btw, if you study science there is barely anything in this world that has not been explained, you just don’t look for the answers) the deity you claim exists would have to be much more complex, so how do you explain that?  Who intelligently designed the intelligent designer?And if there is an intelligent god that cares about us, why did he make smallpox which mostly kills children and babies, the bubonic plague which gruesomely and very painfully kills 70% of the people who get it, poisonous reptiles, tsunamis, floods, tornadoes?  Why is our galaxy on a collision course with the andromeda galaxy?  Why is the atmosphere of the earth barely too thin to shield us from harmful radiation, which makes the sun burn and blister our skin?  I could go on.  Did your friend do all of this?  If I were buddies with the being who invented smallpox and the bubonic plague, I’d have some pretty serious questions for them.  Your buddy is the worst mass-murderer of all time, if he exists.

Speak yer mind.

