Evangelist Guy’s Show Podcast.

http://www.aomin.org/podcasts/20091001.mp3

After figuring out how to get the link to work it’s the first time I’ve listened to his commentary after I called in, the guy’s kind of pissing on atheists after I hang up which was parroted back by the people in my blog comments who were saying I was being hostile and obnoxious when I was actually being pretty nice to the guy.

For a little while there with all the christians saying how “hateful” I was I thought maybe I did come off as being a dick but after listening to it again, no, I really don’t think I did.

Anywho.  Not one of my most interesting debates, very brief.

About agnophilo

Nerd.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Evangelist Guy’s Show Podcast.

  1. Ok…gotta hear this!  Hope you had fun!  🙂

  2. ROCSandstorm says:

    I didn’t really hear much of anything said of substance by him. I couldn’t tell if he honestly didn’t understand what you were saying or if he was just stepping around the topic.

  3. agnophilo says:

    @awakeningthesoul – Eh, it wasn’t that eventful.  Always enjoy debating though.@ROCSandstorm – Judging from my experience with radio evangelists, probably the latter.The last show I called in to debate the guy made the same argument he was making, but actually explained it out all the way, I destroyed it completely, so his sidekick replied “you’ve got a heart problem, there’s a problem with your heart”.I’ve yet to find an evangelist who debates atheists on the radio who isn’t a total sleaze who uses underhanded debate tactics.After I hung up he basically trashed me and atheists in general, that’s yet another way to “win” a debate illegitimately.  Usually they try as hard as they can to make the conversation not be able to go anywhere, drop the call or say goodbye, and then say “see, this is what happens every time an atheist calls in!”Yeah, because that’s the way they debate when atheists call in, lol.But yeah, I didn’t have much time to see if the guy was a real jerk though, since he said “goodbye” before we even got anywhere.

  4. sophia says:

    i don’t think you were being a jerk at all.@ROCSandstorm – that’s the impression i got of him, too.

  5. LydJaGillers says:

    You would love to talk religion and faith with my dad. He’s educated and polite: in other words will listen to what you say and if he feels that he just doesn’t agree then he will say “I don’t agree.” not a childish man at all.Then again my dad isn’t an evangelical radio talk show host either. Interesting podcast. Will listen to it in full when I’m not at work.

  6. agnophilo says:

    @sophia – Thanks.@LydJaGillers – Maybe I could do a blogtalk radio thing and talk with him sometime : D

  7. LydJaGillers says:

    @agnophilo –  maybe. But then I would have to teach my dad how to even use a blog. hehe…

  8. agnophilo says:

    @LydJaGillers – Actually blogtalk radio is a thing where you create an internet radio show and they give you a number that people can call in and talk.

  9. FalconBridge says:

    link didn’t work when I clicked it.

  10. agnophilo says:

    @FalconBridge – Works for me still. Try again.On my comp it opens in quicktime.  Do you have dialup and do you use firefox or MSIE?

  11. Thank you for posting it.  Here I go…breaking my own rule.  For what its worth …The entire point– Science changes.  Science is NOT consistent.  What happened 50 years ago, can now be reversed, changed, deleted from the records b/c of advanced technologies and discoveries.  If you place your entire life, logic and reasoning based on science…it will change, therefore your logic and reason will never be consistent.  Also, you are basing your belief system on man’s assumptions, observations, and data which again CHANGES.  Observations?  Where was the observation in the creation of time, matter and world?  No where.   You are assuming by man’s belief based on certain evidences  and their Phd doctorate status that  their hypothesize is indeed the truth. It truly isn’t.  If you didn’t see it you are just as guilty as Christians believing in something that is not seen.  I have evidences in my life that I believe God performed certain circumstances and events …so why can’t I base these things on fact that God exists?    Also, from a Christian point of view…Not religion …but based on the Man, God, and person of Jesus Christ.  According to scripture He who claims He is God never changes.  Hebrews 13:8  … There should be a consistency that runs through us all. For Jesusdoesn’t change—yesterday, today, tomorrow, he’s always totally himself.Colossians  Chapter one explains:  15[Now] He is the ]=””>[o]exact likeness of the unseen God [the visible representation of the invisible]; He is the Firstborn of all creation.    16Forit was in Him that all things were created, in heaven and on earth,things seen and things unseen, whether thrones, dominions, rulers, orauthorities; all things were created and exist through Him [by Hisservice, intervention] and in and for Him.    17And He Himself existed before all things, and in Him all things consist (cohere, are held together).)=””>(A))=””>____________________________-It truly is a wonderful life — though no question will ever be answered in this life…we hold on the Truth that is in Christ.  Thanks for letting me respond.  Nice voice on the radio. 

  12. agnophilo says:

    @LifeNeedsProtection – This is a common evangelical anti-science argument.  But science changes because it gets perpetually closer to the truth, not because it’s always wrong.It’s moot however, because I was just saying that I know the universe behaves in a consistent way because it’s been meticulously and repeatedly observed and measured and it in fact does behave that way.  I was saying that observation is a valid basis for knowing something, and was commenting on the nature of the universe as it is now, not how it was created etc.So far as that, how many universes have you seen created?So far as the scripture, that is a belief system, none of those things have been established or even supported by anything, ever.You say that I shouldn’t base my opinions or worldview on science because it changes, implying that scripture has more merit because of it’s consistency.The bible condones and advocates slavery.  It says that witches not only exist, but you should kill them when you see one.Now isn’t is kind of a good thing that we’ve changed our minds on some of this stuff?The bible says god sends lightning from heaven and thunder is his voice, and clouds are dust from his footprints and all kinds of greek mythology-esque bullshit.  There used to be a lot of that in primitive science, but fortunately science changes.

  13. agnophilo says:

    @LifeNeedsProtection – Oh, and what “rule” did you break?

  14. @agnophilo – I promised myself not to comment anymore on atheists’ sites.    I got tired of being called names for my beliefs. Tired of atheists’ cursing and laughing. It’s the same old dance, going in circles, and I get dizzy. It’s someone’s else debate now, not mine.  I just quietly back away and wish you all the best as I have done with other atheists.  All my love~ 

  15. agnophilo says:

    @LifeNeedsProtection – I’m sorry some atheists are rude, but you have to see that dismissing atheists as rude, mean people as a group is no less bigotted than dismissing christians as all retarded, or all fanatics.Have I ever been rude or mean to you?I tend to only be rude to people who are obnoxious to me first.Some people count disagreeing as being “rude”, but I don’t think that’s what you mean.

Speak yer mind.

