Bush vs Obama, a little perspective.

George Bush initiated almost every policy Obama is getting flack for.  The federal debt?  Bush and the republican congress operated the federal government at 20% (or about half a trillion dollars) over budget for 8 years, amassing 5 trillion dollars in debt and doubling the deficit.  Bush started the bank bailouts, he signed the stimulus bill (which was actually a good thing, but whatever), he bailed out the auto industry, collectively putting us about 1 trillion dollars over budget this year and last year. 

He also oversaw the financial collapse that lead to all that spending.

Barrack Obama?  He tried to get us universal access to health insurance.  Oh the shame.

George Bush?  Told interrogators it was okay to do things like beat prisoners’ heads against concrete walls and floors because it wasn’t torture so long as they had a medic there.

(actual photos from the prison)

Back to Barrack Obama, lets see what did he do?  Well, he said america isn’t perfect when he was overseas.  Oh, he gave the prime minister of england a bunch of DVDs and they turned out to be from the wrong region, that was embarassing.  Of course that was because he didn’t yet have protocol people because he was trying to fill treasury positions to fix the economy, but it was still a screwup.

Lets see, what else did he do?  He created a private army Americorpse and gave them half a trillion dollars to arm themselves…  that is according to glenn beck.  In reality of course this is complete fiction (feel free to google it yourself).

What else?  He raised all of our taxes, right?  The tea party people were out in force protesting against… the tax cut he gave them.

Okay well I’m sure I’ll think of something else bad he did.  But for the moment lets see what bush did.

He made the world hate us.  He got a lot of our soldiers killed.  Started two wars which ended hundreds of thousands of civillian lives.  He apparently hired a mercenary firm to fight our war for us that was run by an evangelical christian bent on killing as many muslim civillians as he could.

But that’s nothing, because Barrack Obama had a christian preacher who was a bit extreme.  And he’s not an american citizen!  And he’s also a secret muslim.  And… and…

About agnophilo

Nerd.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

64 Responses to Bush vs Obama, a little perspective.

  1. striemmy says:

    Dear lord….. to see someone look so happy in the midst of those scenes…. = it doesn’t inspire much confidence in my fellow man.. or woman for that matter.

  2. Kingsnake8 says:

    they were not told to document or take pictures they were told get information and to that they got results so i dont believe in torturing of innocent people but to the people who would do harm to our wonderful country i believe that they should perish into the gates of hades hell or what ever place that you believe that evil sons of bitches should go 

  3. Charity333 says:

    I wonder How they treat American Prisoners?!?!?! More on Obama VS BUSH http://blog.heritage.org/2009/03/24/bush-deficit-vs-obama-deficit-in-pictures/#<li>President Bush expanded the federal budget by a historic $700 billion through 2008. President Obama would add another $1 trillion. <li>President Bush began a string of expensive finan­cial bailouts. President Obama is accelerating that course. <li>President Bush created a Medicare drug entitle­ment that will cost an estimated $800 billion in its first decade. President Obama has proposed a $634 billion down payment on a new govern­ment health care fund. <li>President Bush increased federal education spending 58 percent faster than inflation. Presi­dent Obama would double it. <li>President Bush became the first President to spend 3 percent of GDP on federal antipoverty programs. President Obama has already in­creased this spending by 20 percent. <li>President Bush tilted the income tax burden more toward upper-income taxpayers. President Obama would continue that trend. President Bush presided over a $2.5 trillion increase in the public debt through 2008. Setting aside 2009 (for which Presidents Bush and Obama share responsibility for an additional $2.6 trillion in public debt), President Obama’s budget would add $4.9 trillion in public debt from the beginning of 2010 through 2016.

  4. agnophilo says:

    @PuttinOut –  “lookyou are comparing obama to bush.  Its like comparing a rotten apple toa rotten pear.  You cant compare someone to the bottom of the foodchain, anyone would look good. “Okay…”But the fact is obama saidhe would cut the deficit in half. But if you look closely his plan wasto triple the deficit before he would cut it in half.”  No, the previous president doubled the deficit, he said he would cut it in half his first year, which he’s doing, and then continue to bring down spending through the rest of his term in office, which he’s also trying to do.”Simple mathtells you how that goes.  And that was before the trillions he wants tospend on the health care that everyone says wont work.  Im for reformbut i believe its not a very well thought out plan. “Sorry, but fox news says it won’t work.  That isn’t “everyone”.  You don’t even know what the healthcare reforms are or how they work, your opinions are just transplants of everyone else.  Which I wouldn’t mind so much if you didn’t act like you know what the hell you’re talking about when you clearly don’t.”I justhave a big problem with the die hard obama fans.  There has been nopresident in history who has had a cult following like he does.”  Setting aside this shit, obama doesn’t have a cult following because people are enthusiastic about his administration.  Liking the guy does not translate into thinking he’s the second coming.  This “obama worship” stuff is more an invention of conservative media outlets than anything manifest in the mainstream.”He wasin office less than a month and was deamed one of the greatest leadersin history by national papers.  How idiotic was that.”I don’t know what articles you’re talking about, so I can’t speak to that.”The man has wona nobel piece prize for saying what he was going to do without evendoing it.  And nominated only weeks after he got in office.”  He got nominated because he won on a platform of ending america’s human rights abuses and policy of “bomb first, ask questions later”.  He put america back on the path of diplomacy.  You do know he’s the commander in chief of the largest military power in the world, right?  And he won an election on a platform of peace and cooperation that the world was overwhelmingly behind before he even took office.  That’s an achievement whether you think so or not.”I dontbelieve obama lies, but people need to find out what he excludes in his’speeches’.  Hes not giving you the whole story.  For that matter nopresident usually does.  Just because the man says something doesntmean its gospel.  Wake up america.”Sorry, but you’re not saying anything.”And i believe they shouldtake him off of tv and take away his celebrity status and make him runthe country instead of spending all that time giving speaches.  Maybeif he can concentrate on that then he could actually acomplishsomething so we can fairly judge him by.”You’re mindlessly repeating conservative talking points.  Every president is a “celebrity”, this is a pathetic, inept criticism.

  5. Charity333 says:

    BTW It was a Democratic Congress for the last 2 years of the Bush Administration which is when some of the policies were implemented.

  6. agnophilo says:

    @TheRiverIsEverywhere – I’m sorry.  There are a lot more, many weren’t released.  And I’m saddened by many of the responses, but I’ve gotten it before.  I did a blog called “what waterboarding actually is” that got featured ages ago and got a lot more pro-torture responses.  It’s just people mindlessly taking their “side” and following authority like good little lemmings.@thomas_baker – He’s also had many successes, but you wouldn’t know since fox news doesn’t talk about that.  And you are basically an evil prick.  I guess we should beat tourists to death too, rape them, rob them.  They’re not americans right, so I guess they’re not real people.Congratulations, you’ve become the reason hitler got away with it.  I mean it’s okay to kill them right, they’re not germans.  They’re not aryan.  So why does it matter?@radicalramblings – Correction, it would be if he were still doing or defending it.  Jackass.@ElliottStrange – I have to, it’s my blog.@explosive – He’s black.  And republicans see him as the guy who stole their power, they don’t get that they lost their power because of their own actions, not him.@FoliageDecay – Yeah, they bashed him for going to try to get us the olympics to help our economy.  But he’s actually doing the job.  The last president said “we don’t talk to countries that do x things!”  Because it was his… job to talk to them.  He wasn’t being a firm leader, he was skipping out of work early and shattering the record for the most vacation time.

  7. agnophilo says:

    @Charity333 – First of all, the heritage foundation is a conservative propaganda mill.  They cite “sources” for their claims, you click the link to see what the source is, and it’s them repeating their own claim.  Sorry, that is not evidence.  Also the “new government healthcare fund” is the healthcare reform, it’s how it’s being paid for, which is by a combination of new revenue from the wealthiest 1% of americans which will still pay about half what their taxes were under ronald reagan, and half in spending cuts.Their budget proposals are bullshit as well.  I saw one chart on their website that “projected” the budget out almost a century.  If you can’t figure out why that’s insane, please don’t even bother responding.  Also, the 80 billion a year in healthcare reforms are designed to reduce over 1 trillion dollars a year in waste in our healthcare and health insurance industries.

  8. agnophilo says:

    @Charity333 – Not really.  The democrats had like a 1 vote majority in the senate and one of them was dying.

  9. @agnophilo – I don’t understand how anyone can look at those photos and not think it is wrong.

  10. agnophilo says:

    @TheRiverIsEverywhere – I do.  Doesn’t help though.

  11. helvetebrann says:

    @agnophilo – “Very… socratic : D”Thanks!  I think it’s important that we emphasize critical thought with kids and adults.”I’vekind of got it easier in that regard.  My father’s side (maybe 20-30people) have disowned me, and my mother’s side is me, my mom, my sisterand my grandma.  And a lot of out of state relatives I’ve never met orhave only seen once or twice.  Of the four in my immediate family allare atheist/agnostic except my grandma, who has a bit of a fuck-nutreaction when I bring it up, so I just don’t bring it up.  She’s old,it’s not like she’s going to lose faith or anything.  So I just ignoreit and we get along swimmingly.  She’s not a fundamentalist oranything, just has it ingrained in her that it’s not right to speaknegatively about religion etc, etc.”Yeah, that’s quite a bit easier to deal with.  My entire family is Mormon.  My sister and mom are kind of not religious anymore and my stepdad isn’t, but the rest of my family is super Mormon.  I actually had to pay my own way through college (despite conditional offers of help) because I didn’t want to go to BYU.”That’s nice : D  Of course you’re a girl and he’s a guy, might have something to do with it : DIntelligence is sexy after all.”HA!  True.  And yes, it is.  Honestly, I couldn’t date a believer anymore.  I would be consistently bothered.”Iagree.  I generally only get ticked off if the person I’m debating withis being intellectually dishonest or a prick, which in my experience Iusually find mostly with public debates, such as with radiotelevangelists.  In my recent blogs there’s a link to a podcast of abrief argument I had with one awhile ago if you want to listen.”I tend to get most irritated when discussing same-sex marriage.  The irrational logic, the closeted homophobia, and inability to see a correlation between this civil rights movement and EVERY OTHER civil rights movement drives me up a wall.  I’m getting better at it speaking logically and less emotionally about it now though.”There’san interesting website called preacherturnedatheist.com orpreastturnedatheist or something like that, of one guy’s story. Usually though when you get that invested you put up additionalroadblocks to make it impossible to ever seriously question it.  I haveone friend who is an evangelical christian, he went to college to studyit and is like 20-something thousand in debt over it, so he’s hardlylikely to be receptive to the idea that it’s all bullshit.”I’m going to have to find that.  Most of the family members I know don’t question the idea of religion because they have built their entire life around their beliefs.  Which, in and of itself is sad.”You’rewelcome.  I would have added it to my playlist, but playlist.com seemsto have been made to remove all beatles music from their searchresults.  Usually you could still find it, but under alternate titleslike “beattles” or “beetles”, but alas no more : (But yeah, there are some more heathen tunes in my playlist if you’re interested.”Wow it doesn’t have the Beatles music?  That’s sad!!!!!

  12. agnophilo says:

    @helvetebrann – “Thanks!  I think it’s important that we emphasize critical thought with kids and adults.”I agree.  Teach a child what to think, you guide them for a day, teach them how to think, you guide them for the rest of their life.  Unfortunately this also works with teaching children to think irrationally, rationalize things, believe things because of how they make them feel and not evidence etc.”Yeah,that’s quite a bit easier to deal with.  My entire family is Mormon. My sister and mom are kind of not religious anymore and my stepdadisn’t, but the rest of my family is super Mormon.  I actually had topay my own way through college (despite conditional offers of help)because I didn’t want to go to BYU.”That’s pretty awful.  It’s like offering to give a hungry person some food, but only if they go to church with you, become an atheist etc.  It’s not kindness or charity, it’s manipulation.”HA!  True.  And yes, it is.  Honestly, I couldn’t date a believer anymore.  I would be consistently bothered.”I could, sort of.  They would have to be extremely open-minded and reasonable.  But then again if they were those things they probably wouldn’t be a believer to begin with.”Itend to get most irritated when discussing same-sex marriage.  Theirrational logic, the closeted homophobia, and inability to see acorrelation between this civil rights movement and EVERY OTHER civilrights movement drives me up a wall.  I’m getting better at it speakinglogically and less emotionally about it now though.”Yeah, pisses me off too.  I remember I had a neighbor who was mormon, an old lady.  She was very polite but kind of an asshole.  I mowed her lawn growing up and she would do things like say she couldn’t pay me one week, then call me up a few days later to help her carry her new furnature into the house.  Shit like that.Anyway, I got into it one day with her about gay rights (don’t remember how it came up) and she kept saying “why are you so angry about this” and looking at me like “you’re gay, aren’t you?”  Fuck her.  I guess if I’m pissed off about minorities not having civil rights I must be black, and if I thought it was outrageous that women couldn’t vote I guess that makes me a tranny.I really loathed her.”I’mgoing to have to find that.  Most of the family members I know don’tquestion the idea of religion because they have built their entire lifearound their beliefs.  Which, in and of itself is sad.”I agree.  They interpret everything through the filter of their religion so they wouldn’t know how to process anything without it.  Little do they know they probably process many things with common sense and secular philosophy already.But yeah, there are some more heathen tunes in my playlist if you’re interested.””Wow it doesn’t have the Beatles music?  That’s sad!!!!!”Yeah.  It has some, but any search of “beatles” is blocked.  It sucks.  It used to be easy to find beatles tunes on there, but not anymore : (I just go to youtube and search for them, people put up random videos with their favorite songs just to put the songs up there.  You can find almost anything.

  13. helvetebrann says:

    @agnophilo – “I agree.  Teach a child what to think,you guide them for a day, teach them how to think, you guide them forthe rest of their life.  Unfortunately this also works with teachingchildren to think irrationally, rationalize things, believe thingsbecause of how they make them feel and not evidence etc.”Yes.  It works both ways.  It’s probably why it takes a) so long for people to leave their religious beliefs behind and b) why so few do.  I thank a couple of high school teachers for helping me along the way.  One who made me realize I didn’t want to go to BYU and one who opened my eyes to the idea that people believed that there was nothing after life.  He was the first one to do so.”That’spretty awful.  It’s like offering to give a hungry person some food,but only if they go to church with you, become an atheist etc.  It’snot kindness or charity, it’s manipulation.”Mormon love is usually conditional love.  That’s why I can’t come out to my family.  I’ve been debating about the idea of coming out anyway though.  I hate hiding my atheism.  Anyway, I succeeded and got to shove my honors in their faces.”Icould, sort of.  They would have to be extremely open-minded andreasonable.  But then again if they were those things they probablywouldn’t be a believer to begin with.”You’re a more open person than me I suspect.  “Yeah,pisses me off too.  I remember I had a neighbor who was mormon, an oldlady.  She was very polite but kind of an asshole.  I mowed her lawngrowing up and she would do things like say she couldn’t pay me oneweek, then call me up a few days later to help her carry her newfurnature into the house.  Shit like that.”We talked about that =)  I was the ex-Mormon commenter on that particular blog.  While people usually think that Mormons are so “nice”, once they get to know them, they realize that their “niceness” is usually an attempt to convert and when you get down to it, they really don’t care about anyone else.”Anyway, I got into itone day with her about gay rights (don’t remember how it came up) andshe kept saying “why are you so angry about this” and looking at melike “you’re gay, aren’t you?”  Fuck her.  I guess if I’m pissed offabout minorities not having civil rights I must be black, and if Ithought it was outrageous that women couldn’t vote I guess that makesme a tranny.”I HATE discussing the gay rights movement with my family.  They just cannot understand why I support gay rights.  Nor can a lot of old friends that I would no longer consider friends.  So now I like to throw in the research I have on the subject and about how homosexuality is not a choice, etc.  I just absolutely cannot understand why people don’t see a correlation between this civil rights movement and any other civil rights movement.

  14. agnophilo says:

    @helvetebrann – “Yes. It works both ways.  It’s probably why it takes a) so long for peopleto leave their religious beliefs behind and b) why so few do.  I thanka couple of high school teachers for helping me along the way.  One whomade me realize I didn’t want to go to BYU and one who opened my eyesto the idea that people believed that there was nothing after life.  Hewas the first one to do so.”Well kudos to that guy : D  And to you of course.”Mormonlove is usually conditional love.  That’s why I can’t come out to myfamily.  I’ve been debating about the idea of coming out anywaythough.  I hate hiding my atheism.  Anyway, I succeeded and got toshove my honors in their faces.”That sounds horrible.  Love is one of the most beautiful things in this world, and to twist and debase it seems, ironically, kind of blasphemous/irreligious.  I felt inspired and put a handful of songs about love on my playlist (near the bottom, starting with the led zeppelin ones).”Wetalked about that =)  I was the ex-Mormon commenter on that particularblog.”  Wow, small xanga : D”While people usually think that Mormons are so “nice”, once theyget to know them, they realize that their “niceness” is usually anattempt to convert and when you get down to it, they really don’t careabout anyone else.”I’m sure not all mormons are like that.  You used to be one after all : D”You’re a more open person than me I suspect. “Maybe I just haven’t had constant shit from religious family members.  I don’t think you’re necessarily closed-minded.”IHATE discussing the gay rights movement with my family.  They justcannot understand why I support gay rights.  Nor can a lot of oldfriends that I would no longer consider friends.  So now I like tothrow in the research I have on the subject and about how homosexualityis not a choice, etc.  I just absolutely cannot understand why peopledon’t see a correlation between this civil rights movement and anyother civil rights movement.”To paraphrase what something jon stuart said, the difference on the gay rights issues is some people see homosexuality as a part of the human condition, and some see it as a bizarre fetish.

Speak yer mind.

