Have you ever been a victim of discrimination?

I’ve gotten a little resentment from one or two black people for being white, but nothing major (no violence or anything).  Mostly religious discrimination.  I’ve had people physically run away from me at the mention of atheism, shut down and grind their teeth at me, get up and leave the room, and various other neurotic reactions.  I’ve had people assume I’m a selfish, immoral person because I’m not christian, I can’t ever run for public office because no one will vote for an atheist (though I have voted for christians), and I was disowned by one parent for not being catholic.  

I just answered this Featured Question; you can answer it too!

About agnophilo

Nerd.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Have you ever been a victim of discrimination?

  1. stump says:

    I’ve had people run away from me at the mention of Christianity, shut down and grind their teeth at me, get up and leave the room, and various other reactions.  I’ve had people assume I’m a selfish, immoral person because I’m a Christian, too.

  2. helvetebrann says:

    As an atheist, yes.  As a white female, not so much. 

  3. agnophilo says:

    @gabrielpeter – Well that’s encouraging, lol.@helvetebrann – Yeah, most people like white females : D

  4. Ro_ad808 says:

    Ironically, I felt discriminated against for being a white male. As I was working in an assessor (providing ratings on job interviews), I was limited as to which panels I could be on and was given a reduced workload.  I was “unqualified” because I was NOT a traditional minority. (Even though out of the 40 or so of us on the job there were only 5 white males) Although interestingly in my branch of academia females vastly outnumber males.  I should be considered a minority, but am not because of tradition.  

  5. I have many many times. Hot women have definately discriminated against me because I am ugly.

  6. agnophilo says:

    @Ro_ad808 – That might be because whatever company you work for has had problems with not hiring minorities.  But it’s still not fair.@tendollar4ways – Har har.

  7. BobRichter says:

    I’ve faced discrimination both positive and negative for nearly everything about me. I’m male, white, large, bespectacled, bearded, overweight, intellectual, nontheist, I’m (at 28 still) young. I’ve been convicted of a crime. I’ve faced interminable periods of unemployment, failed in academia, and been depressed. I’m a progressive and a realist. I drive a foreign-built economy SUV and live with my father. Some of this discrimination has merit.Some does not.Some is open for debate.Discrimination used to be  a good thing. Using the word as a catch-all to describe various forms of bigotry is a disservice to the language.Now, have I been a victim of out-and-out bigotry? Not as far as I know. But I don’t know everything.

  8. FalconBridge says:

    There were two black boys in an apartment complex my parents lived in for a short while.  Any time I went out to play and they were already out there they would yell things at me and throw stones and rocks at me.  I’d hide in the entry way or hallway.  I’d go out the front door, the little playground was in the back.  Eventually my mom found out what was happening.  There was an argument between the moms.  Then, because we all rode the school bus together I started to be harassed by everyone at the bus stop.  Eventually they moved away.

  9. I have dealt with it a little. People don’t agree that it is possible to be attracted to both males and females. I get a lot of discriminatory words. But oh well I know what I like and I don’t care if people agree with it.  

  10. agnophilo says:

    @Avoiding_Sober – Good for you!@FalconBridge – That sounds more like general bullying.  I hope you didn’t get hurt too bad.

  11. I agree with JulieDeer You are awesome

  12. I have to think of the song about wishing everyone was colorblind so there would be no racism, but like you experienced with religious discrimination, people just find other ways to discriminate. And like my husband said “everyone would probably find ways to discriminate the different shades of gray if everyone was colorblind.”I went to a very conservative Mennonite school. I was discriminated against because I was not like everyone else there. I hated it there. I was treated as “different”The funny thing is it was so blatant that even my grandmother knew it was happening. She still talks about it sometimes.I didn’t fit in anywhere. I had to wear this huge covering to go to that school. The students there didn’t accept me and the people outside the school in the world just saw the huge covering and assumed that I was like the asshats at the school.

  13. TNLNSL_PRN says:

    Once or twice for being white.  But its VERY rare.  I don’t show racism or discrimination so i don’t get it in return.I used to be one of those Christians that would either not be friends with atheists, or get in their face and fight with them like the devil.  But i don’t do that anymore.

  14. TNLNSL_PRN says:

    Oh… one thing that does get me though.  There are three men in my nursing program with me.  In this day and age they STILL get… “Nursing?  Isn’t that a woman’s job?”  Pisses me off.

  15. YouToMe says:

    @Kristenmomof3 - :/ awww Kristen. (( hugshugshugshugshugshugshugs))You’re a diamond girlie. ā¤

  16. agnophilo says:

    @JulieDeer – @Kristenmomof3 – : )  Nice of you both to say.  You’re pretty great in my book as well : )

  17. agnophilo says:

    @Kristenmomof3 – You’re right.  Though a negative stereotype, if found in a supposedly infallible religious text, is far harder to erase than one that isn’t.  And when people can just say “homosexuality is an abomination” and get automatic support without ever having to make an argument, that is a great help to prejudice too.  Faith allows people to say “this is just true, and how dare you disagree with me”, whereas if I did that I would never get away with it.The problem though is with organized belief, blind faith and dogmatic belief structures.  A religion without these things would not be subject to such pitfalls.  You don’t hear a lot of zen buddhists going around harassing minorities, largely I think because their beliefs are not dogmatic so they are free to question and refine themselves without fear of “sinning” by thinking the wrong thing.  But if a religion allowed dissent, was not based on automatic faith, didn’t indoctrinate kids, didn’t threaten punishment for unbelief etc – would it even be a religion?  It would be a philosophy.As far as school bullying, hopefully most of the bullies grow out of it by college and the workplace.@CrystallineFigurines – Kudos for not hating on atheists anymore : )  Always nice to hear.@CrystallineFigurines – You mean as in hospital nurse?

  18. YouToMe says:

    Thanks, welcsville šŸ™‚

Speak yer mind.

