Atheistic/skeptical Music Videos.

In keeping with the recent trend, I’m posting some skeptical music vids you might enjoy, believer and unbeliever alike.

Losing My Religion, REM (video appears to be downish, youtube was just down for maintenance though – but yeah, awesome symbolism, one of my alltime fav’s)

Oh, life is bigger
It’s bigger than you
And you are not me
The lengths that I will go to
The distance in your eyes
Oh no, I’ve said too much
I set it up

(chorus)
That’s me in the corner
That’s me in the spotlight, I’m
Losing my religion
Trying to keep up with you
And I don’t know if I can do it
Oh no, I’ve said too much
I haven’t said enough
I thought that I heard you laughing
I thought that I heard you sing
I think I thought I saw you try

Every whisper
Of every waking hour I’m
Choosing my confessions
Trying to keep an eye on you
Like a hurt lost and blinded fool, fool
Oh no, I’ve said too much
I set it up
Consider this
Consider this
The hint of the century
Consider this
The slip that brought me
To my knees failed
What if all these fantasies
Come flailing around
Now I’ve said too much
I thought that I heard you laughing
I thought that I heard you sing
I think I thought I saw you try

But that was just a dream
That was just a dream

(repeat chorus)

But that was just a dream
Try, cry, why try?
That was just a dream
Just a dream, just a dream
Dream

Tool, Sober
(very deep music video)

There’s a shadow just behind me,
shrouding every step I take,
making every promise empty,
pointing every finger at me.
Waiting like a stalking butler
who upon the finger rests.
Murder now the path is must we
just because the son has come.

Jesus, won’t you fucking whistle
something but the past and done? (x2)

Why can’t we not be sober?
I just want to start this over.
Why can’t we dream forever?
I just want to start things over.

I am just a worthless liar.
I am just an imbecile.
I will only complicate you.
Trust in me and fall as well.
I will find a center in you.
I will chew it up and leave,
I will work to elevate you
just enough to bring you down.

Mother Mary won’t you whisper
something but the past and done. (x2)

Why can’t we not be sober?
I Just want to start this over.
Why can’t we sleep forever?
I Just want to start things over.

I am just a worthless liar.
I am just an imbecile.
I will only complicate you.
Trust in me and fall as well.
I will find a center in you.
I will chew it up and leave.

Trust me. Trust me. Trust me. Trust me. Trust Me.

Why can’t we not be sober?
I Just want to start things over.
Why can’t we sleep forever?
I Just want to start this over.

I want what I want.
I want what I want.
I want what I want.
I want what I want.

Something To Believe In, Poison [embedding disabled on all of them]

Well I see him on the TV
Preachin’ ’bout the promise lands
He tells me believe in Jesus
Steals the money from my hands

Some say he was a good man
Lord I think he sinned, yeah

Twenty-two years of mental tears
Cries a suicidal Vietnam vet
Who fought a losing war on a foreign shore
To find his country didn’t want him back

Their bullets took his best friend in Saigon
Our lawyers took his wife and kids, no regrets
In a time I don’t remember
In a war he can’t forget

He cried “Forgive me for what I’ve done there
Cause I never meant the things I did”

Chorus:
And give me something to believe in
If there’s a Lord above
And give me something to believe in
Oh, Lord arise

My best friend died a lonely man
In some Palm Springs hotel room
I got the call last Christmas Eve
And they told me the news

I tried all night not to break down and cry
As the tears rolled down my face
I felt so cold and empty
Like a lost soul out of place

And the mirror, mirror on the wall
Sees my smile it fades again

Chorus

Sometimes I wish to God I didn’t know now
The things I didn’t know then
Road you gotta take me home

Solo

I drive by the homeless sleeping on a cold dark street
Like bodies in an open grave
Underneath the broken old neon sign
That used to read JESUS SAVES

A mile away live the rich folks
And I see how they’re living it up
While the poor they eat from hand to mouth
The rich drinkin’ from a golden cup

And it just makes me wonder
Why so many lose, and so few win

Chorus

You take the high road
And I’ll take the low road

Yes Sometimes I wish I didn’t know now
The things I didn’t know then

And give me something to believe in, yeah

Imagine, John Lennon

Imagine there’s no heaven
It’s easy if you try
No hell below us
Above us only sky
Imagine all the people
Living for today…

Imagine there’s no countries
It isn’t hard to do
Nothing to kill or die for
And no religion too
Imagine all the people
Living life in peace…

You may say I’m a dreamer
But I’m not the only one
I hope someday you’ll join us
And the world will be as one

Imagine no possessions
I wonder if you can
No need for greed or hunger
A brotherhood of man
Imagine all the people
Sharing all the world…

You may say I’m a dreamer
But I’m not the only one
I hope someday you’ll join us
And the world will live as one

American Jesus, Bad Religion.

i don’t need to be a global citizen
’cause i’m blessed by nationality
i’m member of a growing populace
we enforce our popularity
there are things that
seem to pull us under
and there are things
that drag us down
but there’s a power
and a vital presence
thats lurking all around
we’ve got the american Jesus
see him on the interstate
we’ve got the american Jesus
he helped build the
president’s estate
i feel sorry
for the earth’s population
‘cuz so few
live in the U.S.A.
at least the foreigners
can copy our morality
they can visit but they cannot stay
only precious few
can garner the prosperity
that makes us walk
with renewed confidence
we’ve got a place to go when we die
and the architect resides right here
we’ve got the american Jesus
overwhelming millions every day

he’s the farmers barren fields (in god)
the force the army wields (we trust)
the expession in the faces
of the starving children
(because he’s one of us)
he’s the power of the man (break down)
he’s the fuel that drives the clan (cave in)
he’s the motive and conscience
of the murderer
(we can’t redeem your sins)
he’s the preacher on t.v. (strong heart)
the false sincerity (clear mind)
the form letter that’s written
by the big computers
(indefinitely kind)
he’s the nuclear bombs (you lose)
and the kids with no moms (we win)
and i’m fearful that
he’s inside me (he is our champion)

Comfort Eagle (We Are Building A Religion), by Cake

We are building a religion
We are building it bigger
We are widening the corridors
And adding more lanes

We are building a religion
A limited edition
We are now accepting callers
For these pendant key chains

To resist it is useless
It is useless to resist it
His cigarette is burning
But he never seems to ash

He is grooming his poodle
He is living comfort eagle
You can meet at his location
But you’d better come with cash

Now his hat is on backwards
He can show you his tatoos
He is in the music business
He is calling you “DUDE!”

Now today is tomorrow
And tomorrow today
And yesterday is weaving in and out

And the fluffy white lines
That the airplane leaves behind
Are drifting right in front
Of the waning of the moon

He is handling the money
He’s serving the food
He knows about your party
He is calling you “DUDE!”

Now do you believe
In the one big sign
The doublewide shine
On the bootheels of your prime

Doesn’t matter if you’re skinny
Doesn’t matter if you’re fat
You can dress up like a sultan
In your onion head hat

We are building a religion
We are making a brand
We’re the only ones to turn to
When your castles turn to sand

Take a bite of this apple
Mr. corporate events
Take a walk through the jungle
Of cardboard shanties and tents

Some people drink Pepsi
Some people drink Coke
The wacky morning DJ
Says democracy’s a joke

He says now do you believe
In the one big song
He’s now accepting callers
Who would like to sing along

He says, do you believe
In the one true edge
By fastening your safety belts
And stepping towards the ledge

He is handling the money
He is serving the food
He is now accepting callers
He is calling me “DUDE!”

Do you believe
In the one big sign
The doublewide shine
On the bootheels of your prime

There’s no need to ask directions
If you ever lose your mind
We’re behind you
We’re behind you
And let us please remind you
We can send a car to find you
If you ever lose your way

We are building a religion

We are building it bigger

We are building

A religion

A limited

Edition

We are now accepting callers…
For these beautiful…
Pendant keychains

This and this are also awesome, but have nothing to do with atheism : D

Judith, A Perfect Circle

You’re such an inspiration
For the ways that I will
Never, ever choose to be
Oh so many ways for me to show you
How your savior has abandoned you

Fuck your God, your Lord, your Christ
He did this, took all you had and
Left you this way, still you pray, never stray, never
Taste of the fruit, never thought to question “Why?”

It’s not like you killed someone
It’s not like you drove a hateful spear into his side
Praise the one who left you broken down and paralyzed

He did it all for you…
Did it all for you…

Oh so many ways for me to show you
How your dogma has abandoned you

Pray to your Christ, to your God
Never taste of the fruit, never stray, never break, never
Choke on a lie even though he’s the one who
Did this to you, you never thought to question “Why?”

It’s not like you killed someone
It’s not like you drove a spiteful spear into his side
Talk to Jesus Christ as if he knows the reasons why

He did it all for you…
He did it all for you…
He did it all for you…

**************

Can’t help but think I’m missing some classics.  Will update later maybe.

About agnophilo

Nerd.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Speak yer mind.

