It’s Weird.

I’m not intellectually lazy, I stop and think about things a lot, try to suss out the truth wherever I can.  But I’m generally physically lazy when I can be, I’ll put off chores and let my apartment get a bit messy etc.

I’m sure there are a lot of people who are the opposite, who are extremely tidy and hard working but could give two shits about finding out the truth and constantly buy into lies told to them by politicians, televangelists, advertisements etc.

Similarly there is no value I hold to that’s so basic that someone out there doesn’t find it obscene.

Someone out there thinks cannibalism or fucking kids is just dandy.  Swell.  Nifty.  Super-cool.

Life is odd.

And that’s putting it mildly.

About agnophilo

Nerd.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to It’s Weird.

  1. maniac_rose says:

    I was going to say I am the same way and explain why, but I lost my train of thought because the roof, the roof, the roof is on fire. 

  2. agnophilo says:

    @maniac_rose – : )  But we don’t need no water, do we?  We let the mutherfucker burn : D

  3. striemmy says:

    I operate in the same manner. Makes me wonder if people like us are better off. They function better in the real world sense. We’re just excellent at the analytical aspect of things. Someone very close to me asked me to make a contribution to a big financial project last night. They didn’t ask me to contribute anything financially or physically. They just asked me to be the brains behind the operation. Perhaps thinkers are good for something beyond making messes.

  4. Oh it definitely is. 

  5. Uek says:

    get a roomba, and dilute some bleach with water for a bathroom spray, without these things I’d never get laid.

  6. Jimbo1023 says:

    And then, of course, there is a significant majority of the population who is both intellectually lazy and physically lazy.

  7. agnophilo says:

    @striemmy – Definitely.@TheHiddenRose86 – : D@Uek – Well I tidy up if I’m expecting company : D@Jimbo1023 – Or intellectually incapable.  Then again there are people physically disabled as well.

  8. I’m one of those weirdos who has no moral problem with the concept of cannibalism, as long as there’s consent and certain restrictions. But I still have to mull over every aspect.

  9. I’m the same way, though getting in fights with Xanga trolls sometimes requires way more energy than it would take to clean my room, take out the trash, etc.And let’s hope that the people who have no problem screwing kids are outnumbered by people who prefer to have consensual sex.

  10. agnophilo says:

    @Ex_Adyto_Cordis – Well yeah, but you get the idea.@sarahzthoughts – They are, but I don’t see how that helps the kids much.

  11. @agnophilo – It doesn’t. Just saying that majority of adults prefer having sex with other adults.

  12. JandJinJapan says:

    Before I got married, that’s how I was – leaving my house and apartment pretty much a mess for days (except the kitchen:  too many ant invasions to leave dishes and cooking utensils unclean for more than a day), but reading and reading, even cloistering myself away from society during lengthy holiday breaks.And yes, to say that life is odd is a very mild statement.  Good article.

  13. tsh44 says:

    I guess I’m somewhere in the middle. I investigate what matters to me but really don’t care about a lot of things others might think I should know. My house is sometimes spotless and sometimes messy but never dirty.

  14. S_K_O_T says:

    We’re similar, to an extent, in a certain manner. I’m clean looking, I’m thinking, feeling, contemplating, experiencing, learning and living at a very heightened level, at a far ranging spectrum…but my room, full of stuff, is a mess…not dirty, but a mess.You, however, are trying to walk an amoral, liberal/libertine tightrope, from which you WILL FALL!

  15. agnophilo says:

    @S_K_O_T – The sad thing is it’s hard to be sure you’re kidding.I’ve been arguing with fundamentalists today… 

  16. S_K_O_T says:

    @agnophilo – I’m not kidding, and nothing that I’ve said should lead you to claim that you might think so.Instead of arguing with fundamentalists, and, it seems, arguing the (non-existent) case for liberalism, you should really look at what is going on, think about what is going on, and GET fundamental, and fight against the onslaught and privations of liberalism.

  17. agnophilo says:

    @S_K_O_T – You were being hyperbolic and crazy, so I assumed you were joking.And fundamentalism doesn’t mean “being about the fundamentals”, it means believing in adhering to a strict, literal interpretation of scripture.  Synonymous with “hypocrisy”, since no one actually does that with any consistency.So far as the onslaught and privations of liberalism, you’re gonna have to be a little more specific.  What privations?

  18. S_K_O_T says:

    @agnophilo – What privations? Are you sure that you’re being serious? Take a look at so much of the last few decades of ‘culture’, take a look at most of this current ‘society’, it’s privations-a-go-go, it’s privations by the dozen.Fundamentalism is the strict, literal interpretation of Scriptures, it IS about the fundamentals!You’re daring to mention hypocrisy? People believing in, knowing, and striving for, the fundamentals, even if they sometimes fail, is NOT hypocrisy, it’s human. Better to fail, at times, to slip, striving for the best, than ‘comfortably’ settling for the worst.Liberalism, REVOLVES around rampant and constant hypocrisy! Liberalism is a constant parade of contradictions! These, ruthlessly enforced though, by the vaguely contrived new “fundamentalism” of political-correctness!Itself a riot of hypocrisy and contradiction!Not that you’re ‘allowed’ to critique it though, because now there are no rules, expect when some need to be made up to keep the whole fiasco going.There is no genuine conssitency to Liberalism, only a consistency of error.I don’t deal in hyperbole, nor am I crazy…well, maybe a little crazy at times, but look at what I surrounded by, look at what any good man is up against, sometimes it gets ya’ a little crazy.

  19. agnophilo says:

    @S_K_O_T – None of your words mean anything.It’s actually almost impressive.

  20. S_K_O_T says:

    @agnophilo – If there’s an insult, then THAT’S an insult!My words mean EVERYTHING!Do you think I’m messing around? Wasting my time with my words here?You made some glib comments in this initial post, about stopping and thinking about things, about sussing out the truth…all of which you’re yet to show any proof that you do them. Well, it’s time TO stop and think deeply about things, it’s time TO start sussing out the truth. Take a step forward and upward, get into some real thinking, and genuine understanding.My words are, thank God, actually most impressive!

Speak yer mind.

