If You’re Thinking About Watching Battlestar Galactica…

Don’t.

I was really jazzed about the show when it first came on, partly because good scifi is hard to come by.  I watched the whole thing, every episode up to the end, following their trail of breadcrumbs, waiting for them to explain wtf was going on.

They put it off until the last episode and then “explained” the innumerable plot twists by saying that there is a god after all and he magically made all that shit happen for no discernible reason.  Oh, and Starbuck wasn’t a cylon, she was an angel and she ::poof:: disappears.

Now this is not merely offensive to me because I am not religious.  I don’t mind religion in fiction.  I enjoyed movies like constantine just as much as the next guy, and if they wanna create a scifi universe where there actually is a god, so be it.  What pisses me off is that they made shit up, stringing along millions of fans waiting for an explanation they had no intention of giving.  They did a little mini-documentary thing just before the last episode where the creator of the show admitted that they had no idea how they were going to end the show when they were writing the last episode.  They made random things happen with no intention of ever explaining them.

I felt seriously ripped off.  I felt my trust had been violated.  I’d been following this show for years, even through the seasons that blew, waiting for an explanation.

I went on IMDB and looked at the reviews for the last episode, and a little more than half are “it was okay” to “yay this is great”, and the rest are pretty much “someone talk me out of throwing away my DVDs right now”.

The show was a scam from the beginning, and I feel even worse because I recommended it to people.  The first season or two might be fun to watch sometime very far from now, but I’d have to train myself not to gag at the prospect first.

About agnophilo

Nerd.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to If You’re Thinking About Watching Battlestar Galactica…

  1. maniac_rose says:

    oh that sucks. I am glad I never got into the show. 

  2. SirNickDon says:

    Yeah, I was a pretty avid viewer of BSG for the first couple of seasons, but around the time Starbuck came back from the dead and Baltar was being worshiped as a Messianic figure, I figured they were just doing really good improv, and I lost interest.  I have no idea where the show went from there, but I’m not surprised they just employed a deus ex machina (pun intended) to tie things up.  More than anything, BSG reminds me of tabletop gaming.  I can just imagine the gamers sitting around the table with their piles of energy drinks and dessicated computer parts, saying, “My cousin Theresa’s in town for a month, can we make a character for her to play?”  “Sure, she can be the captain of the Pegasus, another Battlestar that shows up.” 

  3. Roninsabum says:

    Yeah, I felt the same about that god-awful ending to what was once a great show.  It was obvious that they didn’t plan ahead.  I was pretty convinced at one point that there would be some great twist about Starbuck being the reincarnation of the Daniel-cylon, but they decided to go with that copout instead.  (http://roninsabum.xanga.com/692996547/starbuck—this-is-a-spoiler-if-im-right/)…and although there are a few good things to be said of Babylon 5 [ref. complicated light], it was vastly worse.

  4. @SirNickDon – that is when I stopped watching too

  5. BobRichter says:

    See, I never mistook Battlestar Galactica for more than a vehicle for fantastic-looking space battle scenes. I never really liked the characters and never had much respect for the story, so while the last episode was a let-down, I didn’t have that far to go.And I’ll always have the space-battles.

  6. DarthPatriot says:

    yeah i saw this.  the old series is much funner to watch.  im not sure what the hell they sought to accomplish with the series?  at first, i wondered if they were trying to make it edgy, i forgave them on that measure because they have to try to sell a product after all.  and then all the twists were interesting…but i never got an explaination, so that was a turn off.  then this crap?  come on….all it did was remind me of the horrible art ayn rand denounces in her books.  all flash, no substance.  

  7. FalconBridge says:

    I agree.  I liked the series as well and was disappointed by the ending.  Did you watch the original series at all?  It also started off well and then petered off.  I’m currently trying to watch Caprica because I really like the main actor, Eric Stoltz.

  8. agnophilo says:

    @maniac_rose – Be very thankful.@complicatedlight – Yes, and enjoyed it very much.  It looks wonderful in contrast, such complete, well-woven stories with a beginning, middle and end.  I’m a stickler for that in a story.  Ever seen firefly?@SirNickDon – Was the pegasus chick actually a relative of one of the creators of the show?  And yeah the show started sucking after the second season regardless, but I stuck around to see how it all came together…  I didn’t think they’d be such assholes that they would actually rip people off.  It’s like buying a movie and you go home to watch it and the last half hour just goes black and says “yeah we didn’t feel like making that part, but thanks for the money”.@Roninsabum – What was this about babylon 5?  I thought it was a really good series once it got going.  And the story was wrapped up nicely.@BobRichter – True.  At least the effects department earned their paychecks even if the writers didn’t.@DarthPatriot – It could’ve been a truly great show, I think they just got lazy and stopped giving a shit halfway through.@FalconBridge – I saw bits and pieces of the old series, it’s hilarious.  They played battlestar galactica: 1980 once, I just saw the part where they’re on motorcycles and they turn to “space” motorcycles and fly off to galactica.

  9. rafi09 says:

    That explains why my dad was upset and pretty much doesn’t talk about Battlestar Galactica anymore.

  10. amygwen says:

    I never got past the first two episodes.

  11. nephyo says:

    The ending didn’t bother me largely because I never expected the series to have a rational or understandable ending. The series didn’t make any sense a lot of the way through and it seemed clear to me that the writers were making shit up as they went.There was still, I thought, lots of good stuff in the series and I still like it. I can appreciate the middle and the beginning and just not care about the end.I want to note that the ending would have been equally silly if they’d introduced some random alien race that had been pulling the strings, or suddenly revealed that character X was secretly super powered and behind it all. Basically it’s a classical writing flaw where you explain/solve all your problems away with a random all powerful solution. *cough* avatar *cough* Really, I think that’s the way TV series are written nowadays. Just make stuff up as you go. You don’t have to plan anything out or even have a point just so long as things are dramatic and you end every other episode with some kind of cliff hanger. 24 is like that. Heroes is like that. I suspect Lost will be like that too and the end will anger 80% of the shows fans.Maybe it’s incentives. Once your show is enormously popular what real incentive do you have to have a good ending? You’ve already got your money and your success and probably your next job already lined up. It’s sort of like bankers who have little incentive to leave their companies in good shape if they’re already enormously wealthy prior to their leaving.

  12. agnophilo says:

    @nephyo – “The ending didn’t bother me largely becauseI never expected the series to have a rational or understandableending. The series didn’t make any sense a lot of the way through andit seemed clear to me that the writers were making shit up as they went.”I was naive : (“Therewas still, I thought, lots of good stuff in the series and I still likeit. I can appreciate the middle and the beginning and just not careabout the end.”Maybe.  Not for a long time though.”I want to note that the ending would have beenequally silly if they’d introduced some random alien race that had beenpulling the strings, or suddenly revealed that character X was secretlysuper powered and behind it all. Basically it’s a classical writingflaw where you explain/solve all your problems away with a random allpowerful solution. The shitty thing is that they could’ve actually explained it within the mythology of the show if they’d tried.  I think they wanted to “surprise” everyone.  That and the show creator was likely some evangelical asshole.*cough* avatar *cough* I don’t think avatar did that exactly.  Certainly not to nearly the same level of shittiness as galactica.”Really, I thinkthat’s the way TV series are written nowadays. Just make stuff up asyou go. You don’t have to plan anything out or even have a point justso long as things are dramatic and you end every other episode withsome kind of cliff hanger. 24 is like that. Heroes is like that. Isuspect Lost will be like that too and the end will anger 80% of theshows fans.”40% if it involves god.  Believers aren’t allowed not to like anything vaguely jesusy.”Maybe it’s incentives. Once your show is enormouslypopular what real incentive do you have to have a good ending? You’vealready got your money and your success and probably your next jobalready lined up. It’s sort of like bankers who have little incentiveto leave their companies in good shape if they’re already enormouslywealthy prior to their leaving.”True.

  13. gene546 says:

    Relative to the stationary roundabout [the Earth], the distant stars would have…linear velocities exceeding 3*10^8 m/s, the terrestrial value of the velocity of light. At first sight this appears to be a contradiction…that the velocities of all material bodies must be less than c [the speed of light]. However, the restriction u Sungenis, Robert, Galileo was Wrong the Church was Right, pp., 108

  14. agnophilo says:

    @gene546 – Wrong blog, and the quote is incomplete.@misuriver – Yes.  Excellent show.  One of the best.

  15. gene546 says:

    No, you don’t understand the quotation. The ETHER is the one that rotates the entire universe, without affecting to isolated motion of the stars. Ether is more rigid than steal and more elastic than any know material, and it serves as antifriction body. Ask the guy who is behind you. Here is another quote from another physicist, “it si often objected that if the geocentric were true, and the rotating heaves were dragging the Foucault pendula and weather systems around, why doesn’t the force pull on the earth itself and drag it alone causing, causing it to eventually rotate in sync with the heavens? It appears that this straightforward applications is torque to the earth should cause to rotate in turn, but this turns out to be oversimplification, as the heavens rotate, the firmament rotates on an axis through the earth’s, poles, each firmament particle…also rotates with the same angular (ω) velocity . Ironically, this is precisely the reason the earth can’t be moved.” Galileo was Wrong the Church was Right, pp., 353If need more quotations, let me know, to explain the celestial mechanics I Have enough information here.

  16. misuriver says:

    @agnophilo –  Hell yeah it is! 

  17. agnophilo says:

    @misuriver – The song “hell yeah” came on when the page loaded.  How awesome is that.

Speak yer mind.

