My Nominee For “Most Retarded Article”.

According to the Huffington Post the movie Avatar was a clear ripoff of… Disney’s Pocahontas. 

They even made a mashup trailer with the audio of avatar’s trailer and scenes from Pocahontas to illustrate the point (no pun intended), which you can do to show superficial similarities between virtually any two movies.

Yes, they ripped off ideas like being in an unusual place and cultural barriers which obviously were never seen in any other stories, ever.

This insanity I found in a pulse from randomneuralfirings on xanga.

This is why I don’t blog every day, or even every week.  I wait until a thought enters into my head that is worth subjecting other people to. 

About agnophilo

Nerd.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My Nominee For “Most Retarded Article”.

  1. The unfortunate truth about cinema (and the vast majority of literature) is that it all tells the same story: a small showcase of the human condition. Very little of the history of any artistic medium steps outside this area and those that did were only successful in rare cases

  2. Gunner_Poole says:

    Agreed, which is why I do AND don’t get the fuss over this movie. It’s not as though Pocahontas came up with that story line. The ethnocentric “it takes a good one of Us to save them from the bad Us” plot has been around forever.  Jesus Christ, Brother. Children of the Sun mashed up with my John Coltrane CD?!? Your place keeps making me think I’m having a flashback. You’re bailing me out of jail when I dash out the door naked and run the streets screaming, “Coltrane in space! Coltrane in space!”

  3. You’ve inspired me to go and see Avatar. I thoroughly enjoyed Pocahontas and I need to get out of the house. 🙂 Granted, when I saw Pocahonats I was 8 but whatever. 

  4. Pocohantas was made after James Cameron had the idea for Avatar. Just saying.

  5. @Brok3nSpindles – You will not regret seeing Avatar. It’s one of the best movies I’ve ever seen. 

  6. agnophilo says:

    @Brok3nSpindles – It’s a good flick.  @Sounds0fLaughter – I would ask how you know that but I don’t care enough. : )

  7. BobRichter says:

    Yeah, that’s a meme that’s been kicking around a while. It’s total crap, but what are you going to do? People are morons.

Speak yer mind.

