Satan’s Calculator.

I read a blog from a fellow xangan who shall remain anonymous unless he or she wishes to chime in.  This blog claimed that over the next ten years the US will spend $300,000 on “welfare programs” for every person living in poverty, or 30k per year, per person.  The ensuing hilarity:

Me:  “I doubt that, I think there’s vast room to fudge the numbers here by counting almost everything as “welfare spending” and counting as few people as possible as poor.  For instance according to the census bureau 13.2% of the US is below the poverty line.  Assuming the US population is 300 million and doing some quick math we find that according to your figures in the next decade “welfare” spending will amount to  $11,880,000,000,000,000, or 11.8 quintillion dollars.

Them:  “Speaking of fudging there are only 7.2 million welfare recipient in the USA. Nice try”

Me:  “You said ‘for each person currently living in poverty’.  And even using your number that would add up to 2.1 quadrillion dollars, lmao.”

Ah, numbers.  The favorite tool of the… well, tool.

And no, that’s not directed at the author, who was likely just repeating this nonsense. 

About agnophilo

Nerd.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Satan’s Calculator.

  1. maniac_rose says:

    Don’t forget to factor in the crazy checks and the flitter checks.Life on mars – Bowie? holly shit man, I listen to that allll the time.your music freaks me out, it’s like your somehow plugged into my itunes.

  2. agnophilo says:

    @maniac_rose – : )  I get nothing but positive feedback about my playlist : )I’ve got more bowie stuff on there, should be modern love, ziggy stardust, a space oddity and a few songs from labyrinth.

  3. Ahhh math. The only language you can’t actually lie in. 

  4. agnophilo says:

    @ElliottStrange – Well clearly you can.  Just not effectively if your opponent has a calculator handy.

  5. @agnophilo – I was implying the fact that with numbers, the results are always identical. You can’t fabricate anything and expect to be taken seriously. There’s no room for argumentation. 

  6. agnophilo says:

    @ElliottStrange – I get what you mean. 

  7. 30k/year is nothing compared to how much our representatives are making.  Heck, a decent job in the private sector can net a worker more than 30k/year.

  8. BobRichter says:

    I hate to bring this up. Absolutely hate to. But quadrillions are (depending on who you talk to) 10^15 each.when you multiply 3*10^5(three hundred thousand)*7.2*100^6 (7.2 million) you should get 2.16*10^12, only 2.16 trillion.Meanwhile, your first number was 11.9 (round up!) quadrillion, not quintillion.Otherwise, you are of course perfectly correct.

  9. agnophilo says:

    @Rob_of_the_Sky – I agree, but it doesn’t matter.  And yeah they’re making about 160k a year before bribes.@BobRichter – That’s weird.  But yeah thanks.  I’m horrible with numbers.Still her poverty level statistic is crap so she’s still wrong.

  10. Uek says:

    I read that post too and it made me want to puke. It appeared anyone who disagreed with her was debated with on no basis, plus even if you win an argument with this person you either get blocked or called all sorts of nonsense behind your back. ITS MY PARTY AND I’LL CRY IF I WANT TO.GJ Skull

  11. Alyxandri says:

    I love that song by Ani DiFranco. You do have a great playlist.yeah, I know this is unrelated to the post…

  12. agnophilo says:

    @Uek – Yeah I did a blog about her being a troll awhile ago.  I didn’t name her in this blog because I don’t like piling on or being trollish myself.@Alyxandri – : )  Thanks.  I like my playlist.  I only wish they didn’t limit you to 200 songs.

  13. Uek says:

    @agnophilo –  I don’t because frankly I don’t like the idea of a mentally unstable person with shotgun(s) and a 1911 going apeshit on someone.

  14. Uek says:

    @agnophilo – name her directly

  15. agnophilo says:

    @Uek – You’re saying she has guns and will kill you if you “name” her?

  16. Uek says:

    @agnophilo – No, how could she? But I try not to anger mentally unstable weapon owners.

  17. agnophilo says:

    @Uek – Whether she owns guns or not doesn’t frighten me.  And it’s not like she can look up “agnophilo” in the phone book.

Speak yer mind.

