Christians Suck.

Good, now that I’ve gotten your attention, what is your interpretation of this music video.

Out of morbid curiosity : )

About agnophilo

Nerd.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Christians Suck.

  1. TNLNSL_PRN says:

    LOL!  You were about to get a big, “Hey!!” from me, and i was gonna tell you to go read my post and not piss off the red headed Irish Christian today!    Don’t have time to see the video.  Bout to head out for the day.  But i’ll try to come back.

  2. Diva_Jyoti says:

    To me it is just a piece of art.

  3. agnophilo says:

    @CrystallineFigurines – : )  I just watched a few episodes of House and I’m feeling a bit machiavellian.  I wanted christians to read the blog, seemed the simplest way to achieve that : )@And_I_love – Could you be a little more opaque?  Maybe get rid of capitalization and punctuation, misspell a few words?

  4. Diva_Jyoti says:

    @agnophilo – well, when I have more to say about something you know that is inevitable!  Don’t worry, I’m still me!

  5. agnophilo says:

    @And_I_love – I guess I got what I asked for, that made even less sense.

  6. TNLNSL_PRN says:

    @agnophilo – Haha!  I love House.  

  7. leaflesstree says:

    i like this song, but i don’t think I’d ever seen the video before. I think the message is something along the lines of faith is a horse’s ass and maybe sex is the singer/band/songwriter’s personal religion (in which case it’s easier to touch…).if you really wanted to get some crazy opinions you should post Marilyn Manson’s version. If I recall correctly, that was a fairly disturbing video…anyway, i gave up religion for lent and never went back to it, so i guess you’re not really looking for my opinion.

  8. agnophilo says:

    @CrystallineFigurines – It’s a good show.  Not many of those.@leaflesstree – I didn’t at all get “religion is a horse’s ass” but I know just the bit you’re talking about, lol.

  9. the video makes me tired ._.

  10. agnophilo says:

    @Chinese_Sait0u – That’s it?No one has an interpretation?

  11. I got nothing in the way of an interpretation. leaflesstree‘s suggestion is coherent at least. (I, too, am curious about the horse’s ass.) I’m not sure how to connect the prostitutes with the lyrics. It’s probably worth mentioning that the Gospels claim that Jesus hung out with prostitutes. Even still, I am unable to perceive any message.I find Depeche Mode–what little of their stuff I know, anyway–strangely appealing.

  12. leaflesstree says:

    I can interpret the song better than the video…the song is I think about equating religion with sex…your own personal Jesus being someone you can worship in a sexual sort of way. At least, that’s how I’ve always thought of it. The video confused me. There were a few shots of a horse’s ass and the horse’s tongue at the point in which the cowboys met the prostitutes. That section kind of creeped me out because it sort of suggested bestiality to me. Then I thought about the religious part of the song and thought maybe the horse was in regards to religion instead of sex…yeah I don’t know. A coworker of mine gave me The Best of Depeche Mode, Volume I, and some of the songs are just plain weird and others are very interesting.

  13. BobRichter says:

    It probably goes without saying (but nevertheless deserves to be said) that Depeche Mode rocks. Thanks for sharing.

  14. agnophilo says:

    @stephenandginny – I know very little of their music, the only two songs of theirs I really know are this and john the revelator, both of which are good.  My interpretation was basically that it’s saying people seek out religion for the same reason they seek sex, consolation, loneliness etc.  Also I think it’s basically saying people treat jesus like a whore, just use the idea to cope with whatever or comfort themselves and then be on their way without commitment.  The bit where it says “your own… personal… jesus” as the three guys go into each room to get their “personal” prostitutes made me think of the george carlin bit about prayer, where he says “I’ve always thought people treat god rather rudely, don’t you?  Making trillions and trillions of prayers, and most of them on sunday… his day off.  That’s no way to treat a friend.”But yeah, it’s hard to interpret, they’re very non-specific.@leaflesstree – Yeah I never got bestiality from the horses, I thought it was just because they’re cowboys and the sort of “back in the saddle” metaphor.@BobRichter – Welcs : )

  15. @agnophilo – Excellent call. When I first saw the name of the song, “your own personal” implied cheapness. You connected the dots for me.”John the Revelator” has been covered by so many bands! I first became familiar with it through the White Stripes’ “Cannon,” which features many of its lyrics. Some blues elements will never die. Long live the blues!

Speak yer mind.

