Earth’s Freaky Orbit.

How many times have you skeptics heard some fundamentalist talk about earth’s “perfect” orbit?  It’s crazier than you could imagine : )

(Disable Above Playlist First)

About agnophilo

Nerd.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Earth’s Freaky Orbit.

  1. SamsPeeps says:

    It played kinda “choppy” for me… probably just my internet connection? … But I enjoyed it. It reminded me of a science class I took back in high school. I always liked that class (I always liked science classes, esp. anything to do with space); the teacher was kooky and fun, and we got to watch a lot of films…

  2. agnophilo says:

    @SamsPeeps – Played choppy for me too, I think the vid was just not compressed well.

  3. SamsPeeps says:

    @agnophilo – I’m always kind of quick to blame my internet (because, for cable, it stinks). The choppiness sort of reminded me of the films in h.s., too, though! LOL They were always poorly edited!

  4. cringercat says:

    This is very interesting, although I can see it going over some people’s heads somehow. And, I can honestly say I’ve never heard someone say that the orbit of the earth is perfect. oo; For one thing, perfection is a human idea. There is no such thing as perfection.The only reason I can think someone would say that the earth’s orbit is perfect is because they’re religious and they say God made it that way so because that’s how God wanted it then it must be perfect.Or they are relying too heavily on science textbooks made for 4th graders back when I was a 4th grader, which for simplicity’s sake showed the earth’s motion around the sun as completely circular and not oval. We didn’t get into things like that, the extent of what we were told was to look at the picture in the textbook, maybe read the text if you weren’t too lazy, and that the earth travels around the sun completely at a rate of about 365 days a year, largely influenced by the gravitational pull of the sun. That was the extent of it. Because, we were 4th graders. That put us at…what…10 years old? So yeah, there’s a reason that 10 year olds aren’t given high school level or university level science lessons, but its not meant to shape our entire view of the universe. Its just meant to get us ready for 5th grade, which is meant to get us ready for harder stuff as we go on along the grades and get older and are able to comprehend more.So, anyone using the logic gained from their science textbook in 4th grade is being ridiculous (unless they actually are a 4th grader). And, I’m not going to get into the religious notion. Or perhaps they’re going on a notion that its a mixture of both. Who knows?However, I find this to be a very interesting video and I added it to my YouTube favorites and I’m going to post it on my Twitter and Facebook. 🙂 Thanks for posting this!

  5. maniac_rose says:

    a bit choppy, but educational anyway.

  6. Dargon says:

    Wicked cool. I knew the axis wobbled, and thatthe orbit was not circular, but I did not know it was non-overlapping as well. And I have indeed heard the “perfect orbit” argument as an argument for the existence of God.

  7. agnophilo says:

    @SamsPeeps – DSL : )  And it ran smooth the first time then choppy the second, even though it was loaded well ahead of where it was playing.  So I think it’s just the file size, or maybe the rest of the page loading or my sucky PC.@cringercat – Yup, all true.  Though something can theoretically be a perfect circle or perfectly straight line (well, without getting into relativity the bending of space).  Though a perfect car or kidney or something is impossible to define or imagine.@maniac_rose – : )@Dargon – : )

  8. agnophilo says:

    @Dargon – Oh, and my favorite is venomfangx on youtube saying earth has a “perfectly spherical orbit”, haha.

  9. misuriver says:

    This is, honestly, new for me. I had no idea that we did not have an over-lapping orbit. Thank you science sensei.

  10. agnophilo says:

    @misuriver – Yup.  And the distance from the sun varies about 15 million kilometers.

  11. RaVnR says:

    Science is so freakin’ cool!!

  12. YouToMe says:

    shiny cool. lol sensei. lol

  13. agnophilo says:

    @YouTOme – You watched it not : P  But thanks for the miniature.

  14. YouToMe says:

    i think i just increased a few IQ points =P

  15. YouToMe says:

    @agnophilo – i’m warching right now mister. ..earth’s eliptical, zodiac sighs, etc.  let me get back to it! lolz

  16. YouToMe says:

    “..the semimajor axis of the orbital …the duration of seasons depends on the excentricity of the orbit….in addition to axial procession, there’s the axial tilt. 24.4 degrees….varies to 24.5 degrees…every 41,000 years.  this change in tilt is directly related to ice ages on earth.  next min. tilt will happen 11,800 a.d.”.

  17. agnophilo says:

    @YouTOme – : )@YouTOme – Fair enough.@GodAintGood – I thought so : )@YouTOme – : )  Yup.

  18. YouToMe says:

    this is my walking away from you so i can watch again comment

  19. agnophilo says:

    @YouTOme – This is my confused by your comment comment. : )

  20. asrial86 says:

    No sound at work, but interesting to watch silently.

  21. royal_diadem says:

    ahaha i thought the ending was cute. the universe amazes me. 

  22. agnophilo says:

    @haloed – : )@royal_diadem – The universe is awesome : )

  23. Justin_DeBin says:

    Actually I’ve heard your theistic buddy saying many times that Earth’s orbit is in funny shapes. he told me once that it goes through a period of elongation over time or something like that. He said it’s why we have ice ages.

  24. agnophilo says:

    @Justin_DeBin – My theistic buddy?  

  25. Justin_DeBin says:

    I see you comment on his site all the time and you two seemed to both be the firsts to comment on my post today. You both are the only respondants to my message.

  26. agnophilo says:

    @Justin_DeBin – Nidan is annoying and never deals with any criticisms of his blog (from me), and the connor guy I don’t recognize.

  27. Justin_DeBin says:

    @agnophilo – Connor is a friend of mine. You’er feeling a little neglected from Ni? Ten and he will go at it for hours!

  28. agnophilo says:

    @Justin_DeBin – No, he just never responds intelligently to my arguments.  I was just saying he’s not my “theistic buddy” or whatever you said.

  29. Justin_DeBin says:

    @agnophilo – Atheists always say theists “Don’t respond inteligently” when it comes to debates. You and theists are more alike than you know.

Speak yer mind.

