Apparently I’m A Gay Needy Troll… You’ll Never Guess Why.

I will occasionally do a xanga search for “evolution”, “creationism” or something to see if there’s any new anti-science stuff floating around on xanga.  I see it as sort of my obligation as a nerd to correct misinformation.  Anyway, awhile ago I searched “crocoduck” out of curiosity, and found a blog where someone posted this picture:

Which if you didn’t know is the infamously either retarded or dishonest (depends on who you ask) “transitional fossil” demanded as evidence of evolution by Kirk Cameron (from Growing Pains) and many other creationists.

The blog (here) read as follows:

“Behold the crocoduck.
[picture]

Given our modern understanding of genetics, which was not understood in the time of Charles Darwin, do you believe one species can mutate into another if given enough time?”

Which seemed like a reasonable question, and one person had already given a scientific answer as to why it was impossible, which the blog author agreed with.

I had just seen a video the other day on youtube by AronRa that enumerated and explained the specific laws of biology which would make this and other parodies of evolution impossible, and so I, thinking the blog author might find it interesting, posted the following two sentences, which apparently made me a “troll”:

“This is impossible according to the biological laws governing genetics.  Here is a good video explaining how most of the “proofs” of evolution creationists demand to see before they will accept the theory are impossible according to the theory and would, if they existed, falsify it.

To which he replied:

Obviously the picture is a humorous implicator. Why don’t you go evolve a sense of humor?”

To which I said:

“No, it isn’t.  Do you even know if’s origin?  Kurk Cameron, in all earnesty, cited it as one of the “transitional forms” we would need to see in the fossil record if evolution were true.

And you got two serious, scientific responses and said “I agree” to his and mocked mine.  Grow up.

To which he said:

“Dude, I made this post for humor nearly a year ago, now you want me to become Kurk Cameron’s apologist? You have to be kidding me.”

To which I said:

“I have no idea wtf you’re even talking about.”

And that is it.  That is the sum total of the exchange.  Until he writes this blog about me, suggesting that I am a  troll, “needy”, compares me to loborncrazypants, and suggests I might be gay and want to have sex with him:

My First Troll Ever… WOW I’ve Arrived 😛


So, I don’t know… maybe a week ago, somebody called agnophilo struck up a disagreement with me on cmclymer’s site about whether Obama had been genuine in answering a question about his apparent Christian faith. I don’t remember all the details of the dispute and I don’t care enough to go review it, but the conversation drifted far from where it started, and I had the distinct impression agnophilo had gone into ‘defend the realm’ mode where people stop listening and argue at all cost (not to pick on him; everyone falls into this trap from time to time). Anyway, I decided since it wasn’t going anywhere to let it go, gave him the last word, and moved on with a very busy life.

So yesterday, up pops you-know-who with comments on a post I did back in ancient times (January 2010), a post I did for humorous purposes because I found a very funny picture of a ‘crockaduck.’ Dude, how did you even find that, it was so long ago . I guess somebody has been perusing my blog going all the way back to 10 months ago… Wow, agnophilo, just… wow. I didn’t think you cared .

So anyway, I did bring up Darwin in the post, just positing a question, not really making any sort of a case for or against evolution, but the picture had reminded me of genetic impossibilities I’ve read about years ago, and of course the real understanding of genetics came long after Darwin’s death.

So now I’m being called out to have a debate over evolution and Kurk Cameron over an ancient post I freaking forgot about that was more humorous than serious to start with. Good Lord. I feel exhausted already!

Anyway, I suggested to agnophilo that he should ‘go evolve a sense of humor.’ So now he’s a little bent because I ‘mocked’ him.

I find this whole thing kind of, umm… ‘needy.’

I’m not really sure why I’ve become so important to agnophilo’s blogging experience, but I guess everybody needs a friend, right? Still, I would have thought he’d have more fun with maybe LobourneLyte(?) or at least someone a good deal more time and interest than myself to engage in endless philosophical and theological debates where all assumptions must be challenged and supported, and we must go back to the stone-ages and reinvent the wheel for every belief.

INTERJECTION: My wife just walked by and said dismissively, “Getting into those silly debates again?”

Hahahahahahahahaha!!!!

Okay, okay, none of this should be construed as mockery of agnophilo… he doesn’t like that at all, it’s not polite, and he clearly takes himself very seriously. I will try to do the same, and I hope you will all join me in making your best effort not to be a scoffer or mocker of anyone seeking to become a serious force in reason and debate, especially on very serious issues like crockaduck and Kurk Cameron.

Also, I will try to be more sensitive to the needs of others… in fact some people have greater need than others, need of approval, of having the last word, of feeling significant and being taken seriously… some of this you’ll grow out of eventually, of course. I’ve been married almost 13 years, so I’ve certainly lost the need to be taken seriously by now, but let’s not talk about me, right?

Sensitivity to others… okay, I will try to be there for you, agnophilo. I don’t want a sense of rejection from me to cause you to move further in the direction of becoming a troll and start following people around commenting on posts they’ve long forgotten about. I will try to read most of your comments, even if I don’t respond to them… meet you half way, right?

Okay, that’s going to be the best I can do, but if this needy thing becomes at all… homoerotic, I will definitely be forced to block you, because on this Darwin and Jesus agree… It doesn’t make the species fit for survival.

Okay, big hug

Everybody lighten up and have a good day at work, school, whatever

About agnophilo

Nerd.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Apparently I’m A Gay Needy Troll… You’ll Never Guess Why.

  1. EricBeck says:

    Dueling mockery blogs.  That should be fun…Though I do think I have to take issue with his last comment there about homosexuality making people unfit for survival.From what I’ve seen there does appear to be evidence that it is adaptive.  As evolution tends to work more on the population level than the individual level, there can be definite benefits to having the non-breeding males around.  (I don’t think I’ve seen anything about the females.  But maybe it’s just advantageous enough that the fact that homosexuality is not tied to one gender means it’s continued anyway. Besides the obvious option that we just haven’t figured it out on the female side yet.)

  2. agnophilo says:

    @EricBeck – I think homosexuality is more likely just not hereditary and thus irrelevant to evolution.  And yeah that does sound demented, but I assumed he wasn’t suggesting exterminating gay people, but rather misspoke the fact that gay people have historically been less likely not to survive, but to pass on their genes.  Now we have turkey basters, artificial insemination and such, so it’s a whole new world.But yeah, I don’t think my blog really mocked him.  I mocked creationists a little, but as far as the blog author I really just repeated what he said.

  3. YouToMe says:

    crockaduck cracks me up. (haha) x 10 ^24thyou aren’t  a gay, needy troll. you’re just needy! (i totally kid). but we already discussed this so i dont have anything further to add.

  4. agnophilo says:

    @YouTOme – : )  To be fair I done love da cock.  By which I mean chicken nuggets.

  5. YouToMe says:

    @agnophilo – hahhaaa.  i was just gonna say that it would be very uncharacteristic of you. i knew there had to be a joke in there somewhere…

  6. agnophilo says:

    @YouTOme – Yup. : )  No offense to guys who smoke that thang, of course.

  7. I wonder what it must have been like for the croc and the duck when they consumated their relationship

  8. Hmmm…..I have never seen one of those things ….where o where can they be?

  9. agnophilo says:

    @LifeNeedsProtection – Crocoducks?  Nowhere.  They’re the product of an acid-tripping creationist with photoshop and too much free time.

  10. EricBeck says:

    @agnophilo – Perhaps I should note that I don’t think mockery is necessarily a bad thing.  Mocking bad ideas is a good thing.I didn’t think he meant exterminating.  It just sounded like that simplistic idea that since homosexuals typically don’t have children, that therefor they don’t pass on genes and therefor are ‘unfit’.I was just trying to point out that the inheritance works on a population level, and at that level there appear to be advantages to having some members of the population be homosexual.  So it’s not so bad.Like many other traits we have, it appears, from what I understand, to be a combination of the genetics and environmental factors that trigger the traits.  For example a study has shown that the more sons a woman has the more likely the later ones are to be homosexual.

  11. agnophilo says:

    @EricBeck – That’s interesting.  And yeah I would agree, in species that haven’t evolved the “homophobia gene”, varying degrees of homosexuality and even asexuality seem to be common and likely useful to overall population cohesion.

  12. Wow, this entire post cracks me up.  “Acid tripping creationist!”

  13. agnophilo says:

    @gottobereal64 – : )  That’s about it.

  14. mommachatter says:

    I saw a flock of crockoducks one time…they taste just like chicken.

Speak yer mind.

