Christians Must Accept Astrology As Valid.

I was talking to a friend on the phone the other day and realized that, while I knew there was a lot of astrology in the bible, there is at least one instance that can’t be chalked up to human error – ie that the bible was just colored with the common beliefs of the time.

The three wise kings.

In the bible three wise kings see a star in the sky signaling the birth of a great king and follow it, and it eventually leads them to christ – or so the story goes.  The point is that this was one of the miracles that supposedly proved the divinity of jesus, kind of a big deal in christianity.  How can christians get around that?  It actually is hard-wired into the bible that the stars foretell the future.  How many christians believe this?  Maybe some, but I doubt most do.

They were after all called the three wise kings, not the three superstitious-and-profane-but-ridiculously-lucky kings.

About agnophilo

Nerd.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

62 Responses to Christians Must Accept Astrology As Valid.

  1. agnophilo says:

    @howsaboutsomemilk – Why did you even comment?  “No, this is not true but I won’t say why.”

  2. @agnophilo – I’m hesitant to engage in non-constructive debate.

  3. agnophilo says:

    @howsaboutsomemilk – I assume you define constructive as ending in my conversion to your way of thinking.  I used to be christian, became agnostic, an atheist, and now I agree with much of taoist and buddhist philosophy.  How often have you changed your mind about your worldview?

  4. @agnophilo – well assuming – that’s where you went wrong. I define constructive as listening to what the other has to say in an environment free from judgment or accusation. I’ve changed my worldview three times.

  5. agnophilo says:

    @howsaboutsomemilk – From what to what to what, if I may ask?  And “you’re wrong but I won’t say why” is hardly constructive.

  6. @agnophilo – because if I did say, the argument wouldn’t go anywhere but around and around in circles. You’ve got a rigidity to your arguments that makes me feel uncomfortable, and I find it hard to believe that I’ve got something to say that you’ve never heard before and will somehow magically change your mind. Also, you seem slightly angry in general.

  7. agnophilo says:

    @howsaboutsomemilk – I am somewhat annoyed at being jerked around.  Say something or don’t say anything.  But don’t just dawdle.  Life is too short.You don’t want to put your views forward because you will subject them to criticism, then you will have to deal with those criticisms etc and that is not conducive to faith.  It is, however, conducive to truth – whatever it is, and whoever is right.

  8. @agnophilo – Are you assuming that I never subject my faith to criticisms and would rather be conducive to faith than to truth?

  9. agnophilo says:

    @howsaboutsomemilk – It’s not an assumption, I’m describing your current behavior.

Speak yer mind.

