Happier As An Atheist, Part 2.

I wrote this blog awhile back entitled “Happier As An Atheist?”  It was not hostile toward non-atheists, it did not proclaim atheistic superiority, and was only a very relaxed blog about something I randomly found that contradicted the stereotype that non-believers are less happy than believers.  The blog was interesting I thought and the comments were rich and intelligent and stimulating.  As part of the blog I invited people of all beliefs to contradict my findings with their own and I invited former atheists, christians, and believers in anything else to chime in and say whether they are more happy with their worldview than their previous one.  I tried as hard as I could to be non-judgemental and even-handed.  And the results I got were interesting.  Here I will break down the results:

Left hateful/bitter comments:

#### (2)

Happier as an atheist:           

################ (8)

About the same as an atheist:

############## (7)

Happier as a theist:

## (1)

About the same as a theist:

#### (2)

Randomly attacked evolution for no reason:

#### (2)

Now of course this is not a scientific sampling for many reasons, but like the original blog I thought the results were interesting.  And honestly even though I was surprised at the time by the lopsidedness of the responses despite my having many religious readers, I wasn’t going to blog about it until I happened across this douchebag’s counter-blog which called me a pedophile, “gay fucking retard” and many other insults simply for being an atheist and writing the other blog.  So in the name of that age old calling of “screw that guy, he’s a real douchebag”, I give you the responses of my previous blog.

Oh, and apparently google is kind of whacky, now it says “about” 200 results for “I am happier as a christian”, but only shows a small portion even when you ask it to include redundancies.  It’s worth noting that many if not most of the results are now my blog and responses to it (70% of the hits on the first page are now from xanga), and that the “happier as an atheist” hits have also gone up.

But as google results change over time, please bear this in mind and don’t accuse me of lying about the results.  The ones I posted were the results before I posted the blog and before the following comments, response blogs, response blog comments and so forth.  It’s worth mentioning that my blog and it’s responses are the only place the phrases “I am happier as a jew” and “I am happier as a muslim” appear on the internet in the english language, which is remarkable.

About agnophilo

Nerd.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Happier As An Atheist, Part 2.

  1. Knowingly using a faulty source is lying. Since atheists create their own morality and reality to suit the need of the moment it isn’t surprising that you want to give yourself a pass on that little detail.Also, in real, reality disagreement is not an attack.

  2. agnophilo says:

    @LoBornlytesThoughtPalace – You never cite sources for anything, lol.  And no, there is nothing dishonest about presenting a deeply flawed sampling as a deeply flawed sampling.And atheists determine morality themselves, they do not create it.  To suppose morality is arbitrary for an atheist is not accurate.  But many people promote this idea out of bitterness.By the way you were in the “left hateful/bitter comments” section, not the “happier as a theist” section.

  3. @agnophilo – Citing sources for you guys is a waste of time. You can’t understand simple reasoning (the existence of God) and clearly the facts mean nothing to you either.Stupidity can’t be cited away. It has to be reasoned away.

  4. liquor90 says:

    I really liked my comment on your previous blog and would like to know which category you put me in as I was both less happy and more happy as an atheist. EDIT: and btw I didn’t get any responses to my comment so… 😉

  5. taxie67 says:

    @LoBornlytesThoughtPalace – The world is constantly changing, so wouldn’t it make sense to evolve with it?

  6. @taxie67 – Human nature hasn’t changed since forever and neither have the principles of reasoned thinking.

  7. taxie67 says:

    @LoBornlytesThoughtPalace – What are those principles?

  8. @taxie67 – A person can do very well simply by understanding the obvious.

  9. taxie67 says:

    @LoBornlytesThoughtPalace – Perhaps human nature hasn’t changed, but many societies and cultures have. Mentally we are evolving at a telescopic rate, but yeah, unfortunately the innate thought processes of the majority have not. Religion is a dying ideal, I know that’s not a fact, just my opinion.

  10. @taxie67 – Religion is only a dying ideal for people who find value ingrained stupidity. Atheistic societies are one’s of mass murder, mass poverty, mass tyranny and mass misery.It’s actual history. People are still alive today who lived through such things.Yet people like you hallucinate alternate realities and deny facts.

  11. taxie67 says:

    @LoBornlytesThoughtPalace – So that is to say that religion has only done right for the world and has never committed like atrocities? Which specific historical events are you referring to? And what about radical religious folk who commit violent acts against others in the name of their religion, where is the rational, benevolent thought behind that?

  12. @taxie67 – 20th century atheists mass murdered 100,000,000 people in just a few decades. By contrast, the Inquisition that all the atheists complain about so much killed 2000 over 400 years or so.Do the math.

  13. @taxie67 – The Crusades were attempts to reconquer lands that had been Christian for centuries.Spain fought nearly 800 years to kick the Muslim hoards out of their country.Now you explain the atheist mass murder of a hundred million people that happened just last century, not 1000 years ago.

  14. taxie67 says:

    @LoBornlytesThoughtPalace – What exactly are you referring to? I can think of a couple but the numbers don’t add up. And it’s only relevant if atheism was the driving factor for the mass murders.

  15. @taxie67 – Atheism was the driving factor in all Communist mass murders that took place all over the world.

  16. agnophilo says:

    @LoBornlytesThoughtPalace – Ah, the crisp sweet smell of hypocrisy in the air.@liquor90 – If memory serves I put you under “about the same”.  And yeah sorry I forgot to reply to that.  Had to reinstall windows and fix a ton of bugs around the time you left your comment so I never got around to it.  Will do so in awhile if I don’t forget : )@LoBornlytesThoughtPalace – Yes, sweden and norway (the most secular countries on earth) are hot beds of communism and genocide…@LoBornlytesThoughtPalace – Only if you rewrite history so that every war or genocide in modern times was not only caused by, but solely caused by atheism, and massively downplay the death tolls of the inquisition.  The wikipedia page you probably got your 2,000 deaths figure from cited one account of the number of executions in the first ten years, and went on to list the total death toll at around 87,000.  It’s also worth mentioning that the death tolls of modern wars are much higher not because modern people (whether secular or religious) are more evil, but because a) military technology is vastly more effective and b) there are vastly denser populations to be targeted, a bomb can kill a few hundred people whereas in an agrarian society with small, sparsely spread out populations wars kill far fewer people.Also you seem to be conflating communism with atheism, which is pretty dickish.  It also bears mentioning that I don’t smear you with the blood of christian dictators.@taxie67 – Good answer.  You may find my response interesting (and her figures wanting).  Btw loborn really isn’t worth it.  I’m only responding so the actual figures are there for anyone who reads my blog who might get sucked into this nonsense, not because I think I will get through to her.@LoBornlytesThoughtPalace – Communism is a doctrine, atheism is not.

  17. taxie67 says:

    @agnophilo – Thank you. And yes, I love your response. Yeah, I could tell 🙂 I was getting kicks out of it for a bit, then it got tiresome so I decided to abandon the sweet little foray.

  18. TheSaltMine says:

    @taxie67 – “Perhaps human nature hasn’t changed…”There was no point in including LoBee in this but I felt I should respond to that:If human nature was not changing, our cultures would be stagnant. We would still have things like the inquisition and slavery. The changes are subtle; gradual. Most people adhere to “human nature does not change” because they are not considering the (comparatively) large picture that is the history of our species.It might be arguable that our nature as animals has not changed but I’m not inclined to agree with that. Our instincts are as much at play as our intellects, so it seems fair to conclude that either they have changed with us or are not playing as aggressive a role in our development.

  19. apyus says:

    you sould be a athiest but you still must learn to be a pragmatist

  20. agnophilo says:

    @taxie67 – Welc you : )@apyus – Of course : )  And optimism, humanism and various other attitudes are of course useful as well.  This is true regardless of your position on religion.

  21. An interesting survey. I wouldn’t say I’m happier or unhappier as an atheist.(Also, your site would be a lot less annoying if your playlist didn’t auto-start. Just saying.)

  22. agnophilo says:

    @TheThinkingPerson – Are you the same guy who’s been complaining about my playlist for ages, or someone new?

  23. @agnophilo – Someone new. I don’t think your taste in music is bad; I just dislike the auto-start.

  24. agnophilo says:

    @TheThinkingPerson – Duly noted.  That makes two against, a zillion in favor.  So yeah : PSorry for the annoyance, but I honestly care more about spreading good tunes than any personal philosophy or political view : )

  25. Aloysius_son says:

    I am not certain to what extent we can attribute our happiness to having faith or lack there of, any more than we can attribute it to having a boat or not. If you want a boat bad enough, getting one might make you happy, but then again, if you take it out on the ocean and get lost, starve and nearly die of thirst, that happiness might quickly wane.I am happy and coincidentally I have faith, and I am happy with my faith, but I am not entirely certain my faith has caused my happiness.

  26. agnophilo says:

    @Aloysius_son – I know where you’re coming from, I got similar responses and said the same myself – I am happier as an atheist, but largely due to my situation being better as an adult than it was in my teens.

  27. apyus says:

    @agnophilo – like looking both ways before crossing the street

Speak yer mind.

