Movies On TV Aren’t Worth It Anymore.

I am to the point now where I don’t even bother watching movies on tv because they edit the shit out of them so badly.  You even have to watch your favorite shows first-run because the second run they edit them to death.  The season finale of dr. who season 5 for instance was so badly butchered when it re-ran.  Blasphemy.

Good thing I have the internet and a loose interpretation of international copyright law.

About agnophilo

Nerd.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Movies On TV Aren’t Worth It Anymore.

  1. Funny how we differ….I am glad for the cuts.  I can watch Predator. Aliens, and Wrong Turn w/o all the gore and still enjoy a good movie. 

  2. agnophilo says:

    @LifeNeedsProtection – I’m not talking about censorship, they cut the movies down to make room for more ads.  There is no gore or bad language in doctor who, for instance.  The gouge things out of it that make things not make sense in the plot.

  3. @agnophilo – I understand.  I have seen it over and over again.  But it’s tv not the movies.  So they can get away with it. 

  4. At this point anything we want to watch we need to watch online or own

  5. a loose what?! I’M TELLIN’.

  6. HUMOR_ME_NOW says:

    I am 77 and love TV shoes because they are edited. lol

  7. squeakysoul says:

    This is why I watch stuff online or as you said, first run if possible.

  8. I think it’s because of commercials. I’d rather pay my Netflix subscription than to have to sit through commercials. 

  9. TNLNSL_PRN says:

    You need to share your interpretation of International Copyright Law.  LOL!!

  10. The_ATM says:

    Hmmm.. strange is the implication they were worth it in the first place.Your interpretation of international copyright law is in error.  You see, if I ask you how much movie you get per dollar (which would be expressed in the ratio [# movies]/[$]) you get a divide by zero error and mathematicians get all pissy and people who write IEEE floating point standards secure their dictatorial positions over the meaning of binary numbers.  Though, you could consider the entire movie you just downloaded to be just a number…. a really big number.  Also, the movie most likely uses some kind of multi-frame compression (motion jpeg maybe?) along with the standard JPEG compression.  This means that the movie you obtained is quite a different number than the original (off by a factor of 10^billion at least), yet somehow has an extremely similar meaning. But if the movie is copyrighted, I think that means that universal studios or whatever also has a copyright on that number. I could randomly generate numbers and write them out to a binary file and attempt to play that binary file in vlc or something. Maybe after 100 billion years, I would actually have generated that number that is the movie you have downloaded.  hmm… this is troubling to me.

  11. too_restless says:

    i know they cut out some good parts. unedited is the best way to go, what about buying music? i have accidently bought a version of Eminem the edited version. I think i had downloaded it or something, but it was the stupidest thing i ever heard…lol

  12. im with you on that one – i hate watching movies on tv for teh reason of advertising. It stupid and it makes no sense (except sometimes in certain situations, in those rare occasion when you really need to go empty your bladder :P)

  13. JasonDickey says:

    I’m in full agreement.

  14. agnophilo says:

    @CrystallineFigurines – I call it the bittorrent philosophy of copyright law : )@The_ATM – I just like to download shit without paying for it.  I’m not sure what you’re on about.@too_restless – Heh, yeah.  I don’t even mind censorship, so long as they don’t dub lame-ass shit over the curse words and pretend they aren’t there.

  15. FalconBridge says:

    @TheSaltMine – I was going to say that as well. Love Netflix.

  16. The_ATM says:

    @agnophilo – Yeah, I probably went overboard there.

  17. agnophilo says:

    @The_ATM – Probably an interesting discussion, but I wasn’t getting remotely that in-depth with this blog.  

  18. YouToMe says:

    Ah yes, Whoville!!! Don’t get me started!! Well, i, for one, am thankful for your loose interpretation. šŸ˜› Unrelated…Travel ban for my county here. 18 inches so far. Wind gusts up to 60-70 mph. No worries though, it’s coming your way too :PLOL Hope you have a good, headache free day.I’m going to make kolatckys and Swedish meatballs! šŸ™‚

  19. YouToMe says:

    thanks again btw! If ya know what I mean. šŸ™‚

  20. agnophilo says:

    @JulieDeer – Headache free.  And enjoy your 80% atheist meatballs : PAnd welcs for the who, though I don’t know what you mean with the second one, lol.  Ah wait, I think I got it.  Nevermind…

  21. YouToMe says:

    You were way off ya weirdo! šŸ™‚

  22. agnophilo says:

    @JulieDeer – : P  Not my fault you were vague.

Speak yer mind.

