Snobbiest Douchebag Of The Week Award.

I was commenting on the blog referred to in my last blog, and someone claimed scientists who happened to be atheists were, if they expressed their views on god, therefore pseudoscientists, and equated acceptance of evolution with atheism.  I replied, quite politely:

Are scientists who express belief in god pseudoscientists?

Pseudoscience would only be if they claimed to have scientific evidence of something they don’t have evidence of.  A scientist is free to espouse any views they want and is not a pseudoscientist unless they claim their religious or philosophical views are scientific without the adequate empirical support.  And evolution is in no way synonymous with atheism.

To which he responded:

I will give you the courtesy of one reply.  First off, I was simply explaining to someone who asked why the term could apply.  Considering the rather high percentage of comments in this thread that were left by you, it seems that you are just looking to argue with people.  I’m not interested in meaningless arguing.  Now, a legitimate debate is one thing but I remain skeptical that debate is really what you’re looking for.

Now having said that, those whom I described do, in fact, lack sufficient evidence to justify the very behaviors I mentioned.  Now if you can provide solid evidence for them to take the actions, then I would be interested in hearing it.  If you do so, however, be advised that unless you approach in an manner that I feel warrants a response, you won’t be getting one.  I have better ways of investing my time this evening.

What a remarkably snobby person.

I replied:

I’ve no need of snobby condescending people who pretend it’s too much of a strain to lower themselves to my level in order to answer a yes or no question, so by all means keep all that golden goodness that is you to yourself.

About agnophilo

Nerd.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Snobbiest Douchebag Of The Week Award.

  1. Mmmmm golden goodness….sounds like an apple.  Or biscuits.  

  2. TheSaltMine says:

    What a perfectly irritating bastard. 

  3. I hate to break it to you, but it looks like she understands all too well. You are someone who denies what is said on videos that everyone can hear with their own ears.Why waste time with someone who is in La La Land? I don’t blame that person one bit.

  4. Grungefan says:

    Perhaps a bit snobby.  However, what is the point of having beliefs at all, if you aren’t willing to stand behind them and defend them?  Does anyone really believe the secular humanism line of “all beliefs are equally valid?”  No, of course not.  This is obsurd.  Something can’t both be true and also not true.  When it comes to diametrically opposed views, both parties can not be correct, which leads me to my next point. I still don’t understand how you don’t see the connection between evolution and atheism.  Sure, before Darwin’s Theory of Evolution, there were atheists, but as Dawkins said, it was Darwin that “made it possible to be an intellectually fulfilled atheist.”  When it comes to the origin of the universe there really are only 2 options (only 1 of which seems logical to me):  1) that the universe made itself, or 2) the universe was crafted and designed by an outside agent.  The theory of evolution seeks to give a historical account of how option #1 might be possible.  When married with uniformitarian views of old universe cosmology, uniformitarian geology, and Darwinian evolution, macroevolution serves as 1 cog in a system designed to explain God out of the universe.  If the universe and life could have made itself, without the intervention of an uncaused causer, then there is no need in a Creator.  Like Dawkins, I too realize this.  Without evolution, and uniformitarian interpretation of evidence, belief in atheism would have no intellectual basis whatseover.  As a Creationist, I can freely admit that if these 3 models were adequately capable of explaining how life and the universe arose via nothing, into something and then managed to arrange itself through random accidents into complex, orderly systems, then I would have to give serious consideration to materialism and hence evolution.  However, as they have not, I firmly believe that option 2 provides the best explanation as to the origin of the universe; the uncaused causer, whom I believe to be none other than Jehovah, Yahweh of the Hebrew Bible, whom has revealed Himself and extended mercy into all nations of the Earth through His son, Jesus.Zach

  5. She has a very wordy way of saying, “I dont’ feel like replying.”

  6. Mugo60 says:

    @LoBornlytesThoughtPalace – To whom it may concern; IGNORE loborn and it might go away.

  7. agnophilo says:

    @Grungefan – You’ve made these arguments, I’ve responded at length and you’ve blown off my reply.  Now you repeat them as if nothing happened.  Kindly go put your head up yourself.@Mugo60 – Yup.  Note the absense of a reply.

  8. trunthepaige says:

    Whats wrong it wasn’t me this time. I must have lost it . . .

  9. Grungefan says:

    @agnophilo – You’re right.  We have been through all of this before, but don’t think you are innocent of the same things for which you acuse me.  There are many times in my replies to you that you have completely ignored the greater point that I was trying to make, and instead attempted to obfuscate and convolute the conversation by throwing out tons of things that didn’t really relate to my main point and for which I couldn’t possibly give you a proper response to all of them (not even if I spent all day writing to you).  Just because I didn’t reply back, doesn’t mean I didn’t have an answer.  Besides, when I have attempted to answer you, my honest sincere attempts have been met with ridicule, sarcasm or cursing as is the case with the current one.  I could very well do the same thing, but my faith dictates that I should be patient, humble, and gentle as I am no better than you.  However, you just merely throw out tons of vile insults and sarcasm.  For my part, I just choose not to stoop to this same level and try to repay evil with kindness as the good book commands me.  Between you and I, who sounds like the rational one?  The one that is calmly explaining his beliefs without cursing and being belittling to the other, or the one who is doing the exact opposite?  Anger and sarcasm are emotional reactions, not rational.  If the goal is to remain rational and maintain objectivity, I would have to say that I would win in this category.  However, I am not at all interested in winning a debate with you, but more so in showing you the extent to which your biases shape your worldview and just how much your beliefs are predicated upon faith!  I just want to know why you keep denying that evolution and atheism are integrally linked to one another.  Without evolution, there is no valid, rational basis for one to be an atheist.  Negate this for me if you can.  Please, tell me how rational belief in atheism would not owe itself to preconceived belief in evolution.

  10. @Mugo60 – I keep forgetting how unpopular I am with the turd-in-the-punch-bowl crowd. Sorry about that!

  11. @LoBornlytesThoughtPalace – Your sensibility is universally repulsive. Though, strictly speaking, your statement is accurate.

  12. agnophilo says:

    @Grungefan – Sorry, I don’t bother with people who ignore my responses.  Comment elsewhere if you are looking for a reply, I am not anxious to waste more of my time.

  13. YouToMe says:

    {with barbed wire of course} =)just got your messages and want to thank you for being so good to me.  i especially appreciate it tonight, and want to thank you for defending my honor on that one blog, reassuring me and all that you do as my friend. 

  14. YouToMe says:

    especially after what i just experienced, i like that you did not post that dude’s username here. and, i do understand your frustration there, but from what i do know of him, he is a caring guy, mostly very reasonable with atheists. probably he was just frustrated and was just trying to set boundaries for himself. i think this was an odd day for him.

  15. @agnophilo – Oh, man… I may have to quote you in the future… “Kindly go put your head up yourself.” That was… awesome.

Speak yer mind.

