Why I Don’t Like Christianity.

Mainly I don’t like christianity because it has so little to do with jesus.  While I don’t agree with everything he said, he did say some very good things which I rarely see put into practice by christians, especially on a national scale.

The “christian” political party in the united states staunchly supports and defends pre-emptive war and torture, is strongly against equal rights for all americans.  They take a hard-line stance on protecting the wealth of the top 2% richest americans while sneering at the very thought of helping the poor, making the word “welfare” toxic.  Just recently they opposed raising the debt ceiling,which would mean we would stop paying our debts to everyone in the world simultaneously, get our credit rating downgraded (which would seriously hurt the economy and hurt our standing in the world).  They refused to let congress raise the debt ceiling, threatening to let it go past the deadline and hurt america if…  the bush tax cuts on the top 2% of americans weren’t extended.   They basically held a gun to the head of the economy (as bad as things are) and said “keep giving the richest of the rich even more money or the economy gets it!”  And partly because of their opposition to raising the debt ceiling we ended up getting our credit downgraded anyway (it was explicitly listed as one of the reasons by the agency which downgraded us).  A few months ago they did the same thing, just in a more sickening way.  They actually threatened to stop payment on out of work peoples’ unemployment checks if the democrats didn’t extend the bush tax cuts for the top 2% permanently. 

And now they’re actually going after the poor, please watch the first part of this.

Warren Buffet btw (mentioned in the video), is an atheist.

My point is not to vilify christians or say atheists are better, but rather to express my heartfelt disappointment that christianity, instead of being a strong force for good in the world so often it is just used by evil fucks to do bad things – and what hurts most of all is that your average atheist seems more offended by that than your average church-goer.

Like when bush was in office – I would talk to another atheist about him and they’d be able to reel off a long list of things he said and did that was un-christlike – but the more religious people were the more fervently they tended to support him.  Maybe part of this is that the miraculous side of christianity (heaven, hell, god watching over us etc) gets more play than the moral or philosophical side?  Reminds me of the line in Jesus Christ Superstar, “Your followers are blind… too much heaven on their minds…  it was beautiful but now it’s sour, yes it’s all gone sour…”  Either way I hope it would change.  And soon.

About agnophilo

Nerd.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to Why I Don’t Like Christianity.

  1. QuantumStorm says:

    You fooled me with the title. 

  2. Christianity has EVERYTHING to do with Jesus. Hallucinating an alternative reality doesn’t change the truth.Even the name “Christianity” has Christ’s name in it. My goodness! You even hallucinate C-h-r-i-s-t right out of the name, Christian.And your political tirade is the typical liberal hallucination meant to demonize Christians. Does that mean atheists are devil worshipers, because they do so much demonization?Did you know that the world has science because of Christian thought. I’ll bet you didn’t know that. And I’ll bet the first thing you do is hallucinate a denial.

  3. saturnnights says:

    I can agree that Christianity has been used to do bad things. There is a warning about that very thing in the bible, something to do with pretending too be doing good while doing evil.I guess Republicans are the Christian party? I would guess there are many Christians in the Democratic party as well, but since Jerry Falwell’s “moral majority”it seems like all you need to do to get votes from the Christians is to say you oppose abortion. I never saw changes to Rowe vs. Wade by electing neocons, but I did notice a change in the way we begin wars, and it didn’t seem to change with a Democrat in office.I’ve had the same issues with Christians, and I am one. For years, Christian churches have added “rules” to set them apart from the world. Not anything biblical necessarily, but just simple legalism. Now the world expects us to live up to these standards, and why not? I try to be a follower of Christ. They used to be called Christ ones, and the term, Christian carries some heavy duty meanings in our society, and covers a lot of differing beliefs, (not necessarily faith) many that I don’t care to be associated with.

  4. There is the Christianity of Christ and there is the christianity of man.You seem to think they are one in the same.I could argue just about everything you say here Mark,but it wouldn’t prove one thing and I just don’t have the stomach or time to go through it all.

  5. mammaquiet says:

    I am with you. It’s most of the organized churches and the fanatics that ruin it for everyone.

  6. jmallory says:

    So you don’t hate Christianity. You hate the abuse of Christianity. I do too.Everything you mentioned about right-wing politics merging with Christianity is something I and many other Christians are against too. But I would go so far as to refrain from merging it with left-wing politics as well. I believe in keeping the Church and state separate at all costs, as much as possible, anyway. These good things that you’ve mentioned, like helping the poor and needy, I believe should be done privately. If the government decides to help them, more power to them, but it shouldn’t be done because “It’s the Christian thing to do”. Jesus makes it clear that our good things we do should not be done as a public spectacle… that is something that done over and over again within politics… but instead, Jesus tells us to do our good deeds privately. It’s humbling. 

  7. I find it interesting you didn’t capitalize jesus’ name, proper noun and all. I do that when I want to show clear disrespect. ;]

  8. Da__Vinci says:

    Christianity is not something that can afford to be dynamic and still be true to what it is. As the world changes and becomes more liberal, Christianity stands out more. This is perhaps due to Christians and Christianity conflating the message to include more than it should. When I hear people say that America is a Christian nation, it makes me think that the only reason they say that is because there are so many of them; Christianity by osmosis. When they were a very large majority of the population they brought Christianity into many areas of life that it has really never been involved with before. They could, so they did. Now, thanks to liberal progressives, society is forced to not only wonder if this was right, but also to try and untangle the true faith with all the secular things it is bound up with. Think of a bunch of jewelry chains all tangled up. Try to get the golden chains free of the cheap junk.Add to that the fact that when and if things ever get sorted out, the influence of the church will suffer a major setback, and you can see why they continue to battle with progressive philosophy which is proving them wrong almost daily. 

  9. agnophilo says:

    @QuantumStorm – Heh.@saturnnights – Thanks for not being like that.  I think any kind of group-think tends to help promote nationalism, sectarianism, division, fascism etc.  I can’t imagine a non-dogmatic version of christianity being anything but better than the traditional version.@Inspectorgrampy5 – In the blog I am clearly talking about the disparity between the two.  Did you even read it?@mammaquiet – Whenever someone says “lets all get together and agree with each other on everything!”, best to slowly make your way to the door.@jmallory – Then feed 20 million starving people with tax dollars and don’t show up to the photo op.  But the idea that we shouldn’t help people in big ways because it wouldn’t be humble is just counter-productive.  I think you may also be confusing the prohibition on public prayer as hypocrisy passage with good deeds.  And you’re right, church and state shouldn’t be melded in any way.  I think that government requires reason, scrutiny and science, and faith just screws it up.  Instead of bush praying before invading iraq he should’ve just added up the number of innocent people who would be killed if he didn’t, then added up the number of innocent people who would die if he did, realized the evil vastly outweighed the good and asked his military and intelligence advisers for a better option.  The governor of texas just held a big prayer event because he says we need a miracle from god to balance the budget.  No, we need addition and subtraction.When faith gets injected into anything, logic goes out the window.@AlluringAddiction – I do it when I’m lazy.@Da__Vinci – Good commentary.  And yeah it could just be the faith/institutionalized/bias lag which always tends to drag anywhere between 50 years to a few centuries behind the times.  And yeah I think the churches and institutions are on the decline, which I think is a good thing.  I think people, for all their flaws, make better decisions away from the mob or the cleric.

  10. wearywalden says:

    so your problem is not with Christianity it is with Christians.  I can’t argue with that.  We humans find away to screw everything up.

  11. @jmallory – And if all Christians believed as you do, my atheism would be a simple mental exercise, only pulled out when I wanted to have good-natured discussions with my Christian friends (as it is with my liberal Christian buddies in real life). Instead, because of all the reasons agno listed above, I often feel like I’m on the defensive, or even need to go on the attack. My problem is almost never with religion itself, but with the dogma attached to it.

  12. mccanarie says:

    I know we disagree on nearly everything. I know you are not a Christian. But you are spot on and this is what I have been saying for years now. This is also what the prophets in the church have been saying. Christians have rejected their God and replaced God with money, time, pleasure and they have lost their position of favor and influence in the world.The (western) church is in the same position that the kingdom of Judah was in after Josiah was their king and were exiled into Babylon.

  13. BenelliMan says:

    Then am I correct to assume you dislike Fox News?Christianity doesn’t cause disparity of equality in America.You need to take a look at social-psychological-economical functions of America to understand that rather than a blanket statement about the disparity of the rich and the poor.Christians, nowadays, are just a title. It’s like a right to join a fraternity or an excuse for people to befriend one another.  In some neighborhoods, it’s a right to pick on or find and excuse to blame someone else for their problems.

  14. jmallory says:

    @agnophilo – For my argument, you have to kind of look at it from a Christian’s angle. To pass on responsibility to the government waters down what the church is meant to do. Though, I’m happy that it’d be done in the first place. And I think your right about what president Bush should have done before invading Iraq. “I think you may also be confusing the prohibition on public prayer as hypocrisy passage with good deeds.”I’m not confusing anything. Matthew 6 talks about praying in secret, sure, but it also speaks of alms giving before that.

  15. Ignoring the usual political differences I have with you, I would have to say I agree with you in part. Much of what I would call “church” can be gamed and manipulated by unruly and dangerous people and often are. The message of the gospel is still powerful to save and heal. However modern christianity has done a subpar job in representing that message and offering hope to the world. However it hasn’t completely failed. Alice Cooper who sang “Schools Out” when I opened your page is now a Christian.Another one bites the dust.

  16. I don’t think christianity itself is to blame (though I disagree with about 95% of it), it’s fundamentalism. That ‘it has to be interpreted literally or I and everyone I care about is going to hell!’ mindset. It drives them to hurt or kill people and manipulate the law to reflect their own beliefs. It makes them think that women are put here only to serve their husbands and that if they’re not blocking legislation to legalize gay marriage, they’re on the fast train to the hot place. It also causes them to value fetal life over the life of a person who has already been born and to believe with everything they are that they have to guide the rest of us, to ‘save us from ourselves for our own sake and the sake of our souls’.Regular, moderate, non-batshit insane, non-fundy christians don’t believe that way and are perfectly content to let other people live their lives in peace, even if they disagree with how those other people are living. Fundamentalism is the problem.

  17. TheGreatBout says:

    Jesus Christ Superstar is one of my favorite shows. Which version are you most acquainted with? I did a blog about it once. All the disappointments you mentioned in this blog are also disappointments to me as a Christian. I wouldn’t put my trust in the U.S. (as a nation or government) when it comes to finding a worthwhile example of Christianity in this world. Besides, Jesus wasn’t concerned with passing legislations or having is followers change government but rather change hearts of individuals and to enter the community of God the church). I’d walk into a local church and see what I can find by knowing the people there if I wanted a better and more honest picture of western Christianity. True, many Christians are missing the mark. All are off in some way (to say otherwise would be a lie). But a true representation of Christianity is going to be found in the committed folks in local congregations. Maybe this is semantics but if you see that Christianity can be used by bad people for evil then you’re problem may not be with Christianity but with people and their use of Christianity for evil. Christianity is pure and good because it is nothing but the revolving around Christ Jesus like electrons and protons around the nucleus of an atom but people are corrupt and confused. If I had named this post it would have been “Why I Don’t Like Politicians” (because they abuse and manipulate what is good)

  18. @followfreedom – He always was christian. He and his wife were both raised by religious parents (both of their fathers were pastors). He never renounced his christian beliefs or identity.

  19. @ZombieMom_Speaks – Thanks. I stand corrected. πŸ™‚

  20. NachDemGeist says:

    No political party is Christian, no matter what their rhetoric is nor which has more Christian supporters. Meanwhile, the majority of what you’re having a problem with is what people are calling Christian but isn’t really Christian. Just like when someone finds out you’re an atheist (or agnostic) and they immediately think you’re okay with abortion or drugs or premarital sex. It just doesn’t follow.I am against raising the debt ceiling, but not because I am a Christian. I just think any government should stay within its means. By that, I am including allowing some debt, but overall we’re probably at a point where we can never get our debt below 1 trillion dollars every again. So, do we just cast everything into the wind and say “screw it! we’ll never get out, keep spending!!!” … or try to be responsible now? A debt ceiling is supposed to limit our spending, raising it is essentially saying there isn’t one. We have no intention of actually paying off our debt.Not to sound arrogant, but this issue (and consequent collapse?) might just be one of those things we’ll be reading in the history books a hundred years from now. I dunno. I think we can still turn our budget around. Cut spending.

  21. CorvyusMorte says:

    monotheist in general are pretty intolerant, religious wars started when a god proclaimed himself “one and  only” before that my gods would meet yours and if I like any of yours “Welcome”.

  22. Hinase says:

    @jmallory – I quite agree with you. There is a reason why the founders wanted church to be separate from state. Merging both proved to be disastrous time and time again in different countries.

  23. I’ve read that African Americans and Jews more consistently vote Democrat than evangelical Christians vote Republican. If I weren’t more of a libertarian stripe myself, I guess I could write a post explaining why I don’t like either of those groups.

  24. saturnnights says:

    @AlluringAddiction – First thing I noticed too, but then, I saw that he didn’t capitalize anything but the beginning of sentences.  jesus, bush, america…  all lower case.I do have to give you Warren Buffet though. 

  25. saturnnights says:

    @Da__Vinci – “Think of a bunch of jewelry chains all tangled up. Try to get the golden chains free of the cheap junk.” I know about this.  The bible refers to it as dividing the wheat from the chaff, and the chaff will be discarded and burned. 

  26. agnophilo says:

    @wearywalden – I have disagreements with parts of what christ taught as well, but I would prefer a society that embraced even the parts I disagree with but also embraced the good bits to the one we have now.@mccanarie – People tend to be decent enough when left to their own devices, and can be better when inspired by positive example – so much of what we call christianity is based on fear and desperation and escapism and con man televangelism and indoctrination.  Bias, even instilled toward good things, is not enough to navigate the complexities of this world in the 21st century.  Nor are good intentions.@BenelliMan – “Then am I correct to assume you dislike Fox News?”Yes.”Christianity doesn’t cause disparity of equality in America.You need to take a look at social-psychological-economical functions of America to understand that rather than a blanket statement about the disparity of the rich and the poor.”I didn’t say it did.  Though clearly in a nation that is 3/4 christian and a few decades ago was about 99% christian something isn’t working.”Christians, nowadays, are just a title. It’s like a right to join a fraternity or an excuse for people to befriend one another.  In some neighborhoods, it’s a right to pick on or find and excuse to blame someone else for their problems.”In a sense I agree, but once people join that fraternity they enable it’s teachings by either active participation or silent consent.  Most americans do not favor equal rights for gays, and would not vote for a non-christian and they elected george bush twice, primarily because he belonged to their fraternity.  Christianity even as a social club has a very real impact on the world and the country.

  27. agnophilo says:

    @jmallory – “For my argument, you have to kind of look at it from a Christian’s angle. To pass on responsibility to the government waters down what the church is meant to do.” I don’t know what is more terrifying to be honest, the thought of collapsing the social security net of every first-world country, or the thought of giving the church the power and wealth of the US government.  And if you mean the vatican I honestly think they have all of the scruples of the mob – if that.  Even the president wouldn’t live in a palace like the pope, nor would the US government ever systematically protect child molesters.  Or if they did they would be in prison.  No, that is a very, very bad idea.”Though, I’m happy that it’d be done in the first place. And I think your right about what president Bush should have done before invading Iraq.” Thank you for saying that : )”I’m not confusing anything. Matthew 6 talks about praying in secret, sure, but it also speaks of alms giving before that.”Thanks, always glad to be corrected when I’m wrong : )

  28. PinkLeopards says:

    I’m not a fan of the doctrine nor the people. 

  29. agnophilo says:

    @followfreedom – I was going to point out that cooper was always christian, but someone beat me to it : P   But yeah, if christianity were non-dogmatic and more individual it would be greatly immunized from such influence.  And btw I have christian music on my playlist too – I wouldn’t mind if cooper had converted : )@ZombieMom_Speaks – I mostly agree with you, though I would not call fundamentalism “the” problem – fundamentalism is largely enabled by large swathes of people in the middle who go along with nonsense because they can’t openly disagree with it without being ostracized or they don’t want to deal with the “how can god be wrong” aspect of it.  If the only thing at play were fred phelps and his ilk, gay people would’ve had equal rights decades ago.  @TheGreatBout – The 1973 version – it is spectacular, and while I know I’m biased toward it and the other versions are probably good, anything else I resent as a re-make.  Plus that one was actually filmed in israel, everything else kind of pales in comparison, lol.  And by christianity I mean as it is, not some fictional idealized version of it.  In the blog the point I make right off the bat is the disparity between the teachings of christ and modern christianity and you’re like the 10th person who’s tried to explain to me that they’re not the same thing.  If not for the jesus christ superstar bit I’d have thought you didn’t even read the blog.@NachDemGeist – I don’t think assuming I have no morals because I’m not christian and expecting someone who calls themselves christian to behave in a christlike manner are at all the same thing.  And I know it’s not “christian” in the sense of being christlike, that is my whole point.  Yet another person explains the point of my own blog to me.  As for not raising the debt ceiling it doesn’t address the problem.  If you don’t have enough to pay the mortgage you don’t stop paying in order to keep your cable on.  The wars, the bush tax cuts, the reduction in revenue from the recession and a few other things are the problem, not borrowing from china to keep the lights on.  And we need to cut spending and let the bush tax cuts expire.  We had a budget surplus and a debt a small fraction of what it is now a little more than a decade ago – then the banking industry was deregulated and the republican party happened and here we are.  And I don’t think we’ll be reading about it in the history books in a hundred years unless you know something I don’t : P@CorvyusMorte – True dat.@stuartandabby – Christianity implies a moral code, being black or jewish does not.  Thanks for playing.@saturnnights – I also capitalized Jesus Christ Superstar : PIt’s hit and miss.@saturnnights – In the traditional interpretation, folks like me are the chaff.

  30. liquor90 says:

    I’m hallucinating a good response to loborn’s post

  31. jaydedheart says:

    @Hinase – This isn’t really true. Not that i’m saying any religious belief(christian, jewish, buddhist, muslim, atheist, ect) should take over law, but many of the founding fathers strongly persued a theocracy. To a certain degree, that’s exactly what the United States was. Certain States did not allow non-Christians or Catholics to serve office. There were official, explicitly Christianity-tied laws and celebrations. There still are no less then a few. Separation of Church and State was a Jefferson idea, but not one that drew wide support from the other founders.

  32. jaydedheart says:

    @agnophilo – The president does indeed live in a palace. What else could one call a place with 128 rooms? Yes, it’s shaped differently, but that is Roman influence and a desire to disguise the Castle that a then Anti-King society was going to be staring at, many from shacks or shackles.

  33. zoetherat says:

    It’s hard to know whether people are conservative because they’re Christian, or whether they’re Christian because they’re conservative. 

  34. mycontinuity says:

    Obama is Christian too. ><

  35. saturnnights says:

    @agnophilo – I missed it..  look, my eyesight ain’t perfect anymore, ok? 

  36. @agnophilo – Yes sir I read it.I disagree with a lot of what you said and don’t care to get into it.I guess I mainly am pointing at the generality of your title.Maybe it should be worded “I hate false christianity because it doesn’t tell truth” You put the two together with your title unless you hate both and thats what I was getting at.No problem tho.You see things your way and I see things mine.I want whats best for people like you do in reguard to the gov’s end of how you say Christians affect politics.We just see it differently

  37. agnophilo says:

    @liquor90 – Heh : )  Best to ignore him.@jaydedheart – The idea that jefferson was a standalone for separation of church and state makes no sense.  Apparently there were a few supporters since it passed in congress and was ratified by 2/3 of the states.@jaydedheart – Most of it is office space, the residence, while nice, I don’t know if I would call a palace.  And certainly not comparable to the vatican is the point I was making.  White house residence, the vatican.  One’s a big house attached to a big office building, the other is… the vatican.@zoetherat – I think without indoctrination, dogma, etc people have more mobility of thought either way.  The nice thing about being a skeptic is that if I’m wrong about something I’m not stuck being wrong about it until I die.@mycontinuity – Yeah, he’s one of the few in public office who seems to actually know a thing or two jesus preached – and he gets all kinds of shit from religious folk whenever he tries to practice it.  He’s been denounced as un-christian for not wanting to pray in public (which christ condemned) etc.@saturnnights – I’m not ragging on you, just pointing it out.@Inspectorgrampy5 – The title’s just to get people to read it.  The point is what I actually say in the blog.

  38. hitetrel says:

    I hope you realized before you made this post that you were going to provoke a lot of debates regardless of your stance.:PLike your post though. Had some fair points that I would rather not spend time outlining. But examples of people who are well known are most likely generalized more often than individuals that you see everyday.

  39. apb102088 says:

    I am a Christian and I think you have a good point. I am 100% on page with you here. I was brought up thinking that being a Christian meant you were a republican. Seriously. My family never really talked about Jesus, but they talked about politics to no end, always somehow weaving God into the mix about how He would judge us if we let those darned Democrats have their way.But anyway, I encourage you (and others) to consider what Christ says. He says his followers will act like his followers. They will have the fruits of the spirit-they’ll love, be patient, kind, gentle, etc. They’ll care for others and be compassionate. They’ll also just love the Lord. There are many proclaiming Christians in this world, especially in the South. But the litmus test for an authentic, regenerated believer is, do they act like Christ say his followers will act? I think it’s safe to say that probably half (if not more) of “Christian” republicans…couldn’t tell you one thing about Jesus. Thanks for your time and great post.

  40. Hinase says:

    @jaydedheart – Well, okay I’m wrong about that..but I support Jefferson’s ideals at least. 

  41. jaydedheart says:

    @agnophilo – Didn’t say he was a stand alone, but it’s certainly a disregard of history to suggest that this was the way America was generally run in it’s first 100 years..especially it’s first 50. As for 2/3 of the Congressional Congress passing the “separation”, it didn’t quite do that. And, while it stands to reason that “freedom of religion” would encompass no religion being favored by the government over another, it wasn’t utlilized that way until some time in the 20th century. And to be honest, it’s still not quite a truth. And that’s a two or three way street! We have certain religious holidays(despite secularization) for both Christians and Jewish people, but none for Muslims or any other group. Despite it’s influence on society, we don’t allow god-related ideas, on the other hand, to even enter discussion amongst students in school with the other religion, science. Yes, science is in part a religion, largely based on theory like anything else. Much of which will eventually be proven wrong, again and again, like anything else. Hell, much of what i was taught when i was a kid(which isn’t all that long ago) has already been disregarded or altered. But yes, there’s no balance, and depending where you are focusing your examining eye in terms of the law, there is a clear breach of the idea that church and state are separate till this day. I’ll just say it’s used selectively.

  42. jaydedheart says:

    @Hinase – That’s fine, and to be honest, i agree with the notion that intermingling church/temple/mosque/ect with the state is only going to interfere with the right for someone to practice what ever it is they believe.

  43. NachDemGeist says:

    @agnophilo – Of course not-raising doesn’t address the issue. But raising doesn’t address the issue; it only makes it worse. I totally agree we don’t need to be in, .. what was the number again?… 129? countries around the world pouring millions of dollars every moment where we have no responsibility and the costs are unsustainable. There are plenty of other places to cut government spending apart from military too. But no one wants to get their department cut and no one has the balls to do it (because they’ll get hurt politically). It’s an absolute shame.As far as the history book reference, I am suggesting that this will be the talking point of economy history unless we change stuff significantly. I can’t know that. Bunch of rhetoric for us to try to be responsible now.

  44. @agnophilo – So a group having a moral code is the criterion that justifies making gross generalizations of it? And the Republican party is the “Christian” party because you say it is?*Some* of the constituents of the group support positions that you find to be inconsistent with your interpretation of its founder’s values and teachings. It’s kind of like environmentalists who drive cars, those who advocate for coerced redistribution of wealth but don’t give to charity, or vegans who wear leather jackets.When it comes to groups that I don’t like, the hypocrites aren’t the ones who cause me to object. I object based on what I consider to be flaws inherent to the position itself.I like Metallica. I don’t pass them over because they have fans who only like the first four albums or who only listen to songs released on the radio.Btw, “Sugar” played when I was typing this. Def one of my fav SOAD songs.

  45. dsullivan says:

    Sorry, off your topic here.  Nothing to do with your topic of Christianity.  I just want to apologize that on Blonde Apocalypse I confused you with Loborn, whom I had been debating about Japanese culture.  I left the discussion for a while, and when I came back I saw your “high or something” remark.  At first I couldn’t figure out what you meant, until I went back and checked on the remarks.  No wonder you thought I was high on something…LOL.   My apologies. 

Speak yer mind.

