Newt Gingrich… Wow.

The frontrunner for the party that was ready to roast clinton over a spit for having an affair, newt gingrich, not only left his first wife while she was battling cancer, but it just hit the news that he asked his second wife for an open marriage after she was diagnosed with MS despite the doctors warning him that stress can make the condition worsen, then when she refused he divorced her instead.

Wow.  I mean just wow.

Is anyone running for president in the GOP field who isn’t a sociopath?

And I am not meaning this as a partisan jab, I imagine many republicans must find this stuff abhorrent as well.  But oddly it doesn’t seem to matter to the base of the party.  And sometimes the base is truly scary – just as recent example crowds at GOP debates have enthusiastically cheered the death penalty and booed the golden rule. 

About agnophilo

Nerd.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Newt Gingrich… Wow.

  1. Aloysius_son says:

    I know it isn’t a fair reason to like or dislike a man, but the name Newt Gingrich alone just leaves an awkward taste in my mouth. I have never really gotten past that. I know it is shallow, but it is much like having a quarterback named Losman…I suppose one could make a analytical study of what is in a name. Do certain names just encourage success while others invite failure?I would just hope that the voters would judge Gingrich by the same standards we judged Clinton. Although I do see substantial differences in the two case. Personally I think monogamy might be over rated, but seeing as how it has worked fairly well in my relationship with my wife and it falls into the social norms I accept it.

  2. Saridactyl says:

    Yeah, that sounds about right.

  3. Gingrich is a moral degenerate. That said, I don’t think the others are sociopaths. I love Paul and Romney is… okay. Santorum is a bigot.

  4. xplorrn says:

    anyone named after a snack cracker…  is still a cracker.  fig-ure that one out…i always forget that i get to hear great music here…  sorry if i linger and browse a bit…

  5. Zissu25 says:

    I’m 100% behind the newt in the republican primaries – he’d be a guarantee for a second term for Obama. 🙂

  6. Actually I find Newt a hypocrite. The guy has tthe balls to criticize the media when he plays the game both ways too. When he was leader of the house, he gave Clinton a real hard time when he had an affair with that Monica chick. Thing is while Newt was opening his big mouth then, like he is doing it now, he was having an affair too. So, its not really about who can talk a good line, but who really has the brains to lead.

  7. moss_icon says:

    Like a previous poster said (and as unreasonable as I know it is) his name alone is just off-putting. He’s named for an amphibian, I mean c’mon. ‘Newt Gingrich’ sounds like the Care of Magical Creatures teacher at Hogwarts. He’d probably be a better presidential candidate if JK Rowling had dreamt him up too.@sometimestheycomebackanyway – Barack Obama plays World of Warcraft…?

  8. heckels says:

    I really can’t stand Gingrich. I mean I really fucking LOATHE him. But, we should not be talking about this at all, after all what people do in their marriage is their own business. Also, I don’t feel there is anything wrong with an open marriage. But, let’s assume this story is true, because let’s face it, it probably is. All that being said, he is such a fucking arrogant, pompous asshole and about as big of a hypocrite in politics, not only for the Clinton stuff (although that alone is pretty bad) but also how he rallies against gay marriage and says that marriage is between a man and a woman, yet he is fine with an open marriage? What a fucking prick. And how about the other day when he called for Perry and Santorum to drop out of the race in spite of the fact that Santorum has been ahead of him in the polls for the past month and he lost to him in both Iowa and New Hampshire. It takes a real arrogant motherfucker to tell the person ahead of you to drop out. Of course, than yesterday he says that if he wins South Carolina than he “certainly will be the nominee.” Wow. Does he even realize how much of an arrogant asshole he sounds like?

  9. The most disgusting part of any of this is that women were/are voluntarily sleeping with Newt Gingrich. :shudder:

  10. I found it interesting to reread Robert Paxton’s paper The Five States of Fascism (The Journal of Modern History, March 1998) this morning. In it he (I assume unwittingly) described today’s GOP pandering to the Tea Party. It’s one of those things that many of us can see coming and will talk about a lot, knowing all the while that one day the excuse will be that no one could possibly have seen it coming. Kinda like the economic depression or finding no NBC weapons (“of mass destruction”) in Iraq.

  11. zionlover says:

    What someone does in their personal life has nothing to do with running the country. I say Newt for Prez.

  12. You know what annoys me?  Not Newt.  It was a group that gave him a standing ovation for standing up to the media when the question was pretty reasonable in light of what his wife of 18 years said. Recently I heard someone say that about 30 percent of the country is Democrat while about 30 percent is Republican.  You also have this group of 40 that is Independent.  That group of 40% is amazed that feminist would stand behind Clinton when he clearly went against everything they believed because he was in their party.  That same group is astonished that Newt got a standing ovation by a large group of Republicans.I must admit that you political hacks make no sense to the regular people. I always call myself a conservative but never a Republican.  It is moments like these that show why.

  13. Every time I see his name I read it as Grinch. I am not sure why but there it is. I think all of the candidates on that side of the aisle are scary. 

  14. YouToMe says:

    Thanks for the chuckles. Lol@xplorrn – @moss_icon – @Aloysius_son – Mark >>”Is anyone running for president in the GOP field who isn’t a sociopath?”lolI don’t think Romney nor all others are socios, nor am I proud of jabs at conserves butThis did give me a good laugh at newts expense

  15. YouToMe says:

    I do so much loathe hypocrisy. I recd for my 41 readers! 😛

  16. agnophilo says:

    @Aloysius_son – If someone wants to have an open marriage that’s their prerogative – but don’t vow to stay faithful through sickness and health, till death do you part – then turn around when they get cancer or MS and drop them.  He also married his second and third wives the same year he divorced his prior wives, he doesn’t waste time.  What a slug.  He also according to his campaign treasurer said of his first wife: “She’s not young enough or pretty enough to be the wife of the President. And besides, she has cancer.”@sometimestheycomebackanyway – More “I am rubber, you are glue”-level discussion.  Keep up the good work loborn.@DrummingMediocrity – I’m not so much a fan of paul anymore.  Granted he is more genuine than any of the other candidates by far,  but a lot of what he stands for is insane and he generally sides with the republican party despite his talk.  And romney is a plastic mask they tacked on winston howl the third to make him electable.  Who knows what he’s really like. Also how about herman cain?  : )@xplorrn – Heh : )  Feel free to stop by and listen anytime – though often a link will break and be replaced with a  terrible version of a song – please don’t think that’s the one I put on the playlist.@Zissu25 – Heh.  This is the country that elected george bush twice.  I don’t put anything past us anymore.@The_Eyes_Of_A_Painter – A horrible hypocrite.  And while I do agree that someone’s record matters more than their personal failings, if their personal failings are particularly egregious it does speak to character.  In this case hypocrisy and as I said basically sociopathic behavior.  If for instance a candidate had  tortured animals to death you probably wouldn’t vote for them.@moss_icon – LOL@BhOWoW.@heckels – I agree – as for the open marriage thing see my first comment – it’s an honesty issue.@carolinavenger – Yeah really.@HappierHeathen – Yeah, though I’m not sure what you’re talking about with the tea party exactly (but can imagine).@zionlover – So you’d vote for charlie manson if he had a good platform?  I think it depends on the severity of the offense – unpaid parking tickets are irrelevant, being a serial abuser of women not so much.  I guess the difference is whether something can be classified as “personal failing” or “total sonofabitch”.@TheTheologiansCafe – I both fail to see how feminists preferring a candidate who supports their causes over one that doesn’t (despite their imperfections) and how me criticizing scummy behavior of a candidate makes either of us partisan, let alone political hacks.   There are political hacks and partisan idiots to be sure, but you’ve yet to cite a legitimate example and are just being a tool basically. @RulerofMasons – What?@TigersLovePepper – I do too.  Like I said, the best candidate that’s been a frontrunner believes in magic underwear.  That’s pretty bad.  What’s the worst that can be said about the dems’ candidates (that isn’t made up)?  Kerry was boring?  Big whoop.

  17. agnophilo says:

    @YouToMe – To be fair I was making a jab at a handful of conservative candidates, not all conservatives everywhere, but yeah – glad you enjoyed : )@YouToMe – Why thankyou.

  18. @agnophilo – I didn’t mean to be a tool.  I was actually agreeing with you.  No offense was intended.

  19. YouToMe says:

    “but don’t vow to stay faithful through sickness and health, till death do you part – then turn around when they get cancer or MS and drop them. ””  I think it depends on the severity of the offense – unpaid parking tickets are irrelevant, being a serial abuser of women not so much””And while I do agree that someone’s record matters more than their personal failings, if their personal failings are particularly egregious it does speak to character.  In this case hypocrisy”Good points. Ps. I think per first paragraph of theos comment, he was indeed agreeing with you. At first skim it may seem otherwise

  20. Aloysius_son says:

    @agnophilo – Absolutely. It is an unfortunate state of our society that while we say we don’t approve of such behavior, yet we still continue to accept it almost to the point of encouraging it. The religious right which hypocritically blames the liberal left, are as guilty of the very same behavior. All the while societies lemmings follow headlong over the cliff.In the end I’ll end up voting for the candidate I dislike the least. This is why it is important to learn as much about each candidate’s views and record before an election.

  21. zionlover says:

    @agnophilo – I think it does all depend on the severity of the offense. Newt and Charles Manson are hardly analogous. A lot like comparing apples and oranges.

  22. @agnophilo – Is that a joke? “How about Herman Cain?” you have to see Colbert’s new super pac ads. Wish I knew who this winston howl is… “Mitt the Ripper” LOLOLOLI like most of the conservative views Paul has (mostly economic), as well as the liberal views he has (mostly social). I consider myself pretty aligned with him. To each his own…(:99 Luftballoons… woot

  23. @heckels – There’s a difference between a consensual open marriage and resorting to an offer of one because adultery (especially that during a person’s serious illness) has already commenced. I think that it’s very much our business if this guy wants to have the most powerful position in the country.

  24. Also, I think Gingrich is full of shit thinking his new wife is prettier. Not that that’s the point. But she looks like the wicked bleached-blonde witch of the west.. and the east… and the north…and the south.

  25. trunthepaige says:

    @TheTheologiansCafe – I would like to think they had not seen the interview. newt is a dirt bag. edit I look at where the rec comment leads next time

  26. hollowhopes says:

    @TheTheologiansCafe – I agree. I thought the audience should’ve held him accountable for his actions…and he should, too.

  27. hollowhopes says:

    @DrummingMediocrity – YES – Callista is SO frightening. Somehow much more harsh and scary than even Cindy McCain.

  28. TrainTrack says:

    Put me down for Romney.

  29. misuriver says:

    I know this is old, but I too think the Republicans have lost it if they continue to root for these guys. One has no soul, the other is a raving lunatic, one is an out-of touch, pandering flip-flopper and the last no one seems to really care about. Even this liberal thinks that these guys are not a true representation of Republicans (not the crazy fringe, idiots).

Speak yer mind.

