A Challenge To Conservatives.

If you’ve spent hundreds of hours watching fox news, rush limbaugh, reading conservapedia and whatnot, I humbly request that you listen to this speech, beginning to end, and comment your opinion about what the president and the democratic party are about in their own words without the conservative spin.

You’ve consumed so much conservative media, is it too much to ask that you hear one speech without the spin and form your own opinion?

About agnophilo

Nerd.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Challenge To Conservatives.

  1. Dude, conservatives don’t take politicians at their words, we look at their actions, and even if you read the liberal media (which is what I do), then the Democrats still come out looking rotten.

  2. agnophilo says:

    @Ambrosius_Augustus_Rex – In other words, “no, I won’t listen to the other side”.  Thanks for stopping by.@UTRow1 – Thanks.

  3. @agnophilo – I’ll agree to listen to that if you agree to listen to something I send you.  How is that?

  4. agnophilo says:

    @Ambrosius_Augustus_Rex – I listen to people I disagree with on a regular basis and honestly consider what they have to say in an open-minded way.  You want me to bribe you to do the same once.  I am tired of doing the leg-work for people who aren’t willing to think critically for themselves, bending over backwards explaining and re-explaining the same ideas to fundamentalists and conservatives who shit on me for my trouble and dismiss everything I have to say.  So no, you can either be open-minded and informed or not, your call.

  5. @agnophilo – You want me to watch a 50 minute video and you are complaining about bending over backwards?  I read the liberal media as my primary news source, so it’s not like I’m only getting to hear my side, mainly I hear your side more often than not.  That being said, the thing I wanted you to watch is only 12 minutes long. That’s nothing.  You do realize that I could watch Billy Bob or any other politician all day without taking a single thing they have to say at face value yes?

  6. I’ll have to watch this later… I didn’t catch Clinton’s speech, but I heard that it was really good. (oh, btw, I’m not conservative, sorry… but maybe I can try to think like one.)

  7. Super_Andy says:

    Listening to the democratic party describe what they’re all about might avoid the issue of blurred lines from a “conservative spin,” but it’s most certainly spinned democratically. If that’s the logic, the republicans are equally rosy in their goals for the country. “Mitt Romney: helping the middle class.” Is that any different from the “Obama: helping the middle class” platforms? Isn’t that like asking Ronald McDonald about the value of a Big Mac? He’s sure not going to make mention of clogged arteries. Just to call it as I see it: one speech from an infamous democrat isn’t going to paint a full picture of what the democratic party is all about this year.

  8. UTRow1 says:

    @Super_Andy – It’s not really possible to get a full picture of what a single party is “all about” because the two major political parties are just collections of vying factions with very loose ideological associations. For instance, there’s little in common between the blue dog southern democrats and the intellectual policy wonk democrats in the northeast. You can only know (with any certainty) the general approach parties will take to solving problems.However, if you want a more complete picture of what Clinton believes were the causes of the economic collapse, and what Clinton believes should be done to get the economy back on track, he describes his thoughts pretty fully in his 20011 book “Back to Work”. His convention speech was basically a Cliff’s Notes version of the book. It’s an interesting read, particularly the first chapter, which discuses the development of the conservative anti-government rhetoric that began about 30 years ago. 

Speak yer mind.

