The Only Two Questions Christians Need Ask On Election Day.


I just said this to a christian personage and thought it worth passing on:

“Just do me a favor and this year when you go to vote ask yourself “how many mansions would jesus own?”  And “how many of his 28 million dollars in annual investment profits would jesus give to charity?”  If the answer is 6 to the first and 3 to the second, vote romney.”

About agnophilo

Nerd.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

62 Responses to The Only Two Questions Christians Need Ask On Election Day.

  1. Aloysius_son says:

    @Ikwa – What you say is indeed true, but that doesn’t negate that poverty is still a symptom of hoplessness. I agree with you, it has roots which extend into many arenas. The plight of the poor has been a serious social issue, probably since the dawn of culture. Social injustices, discrimination, persecution all are contributing factors. I merely stated, perhaps a bit tritely, that poverty as a state of mind is directly linked to hoplessness, and wealth to a sense of sucessfulness. I am aware that there are significantly greater contributing factors than ones state of mind.

  2. agnophilo says:

    @Aloysius_son – Then wouldn’t it be perhaps more accurate to say that hopelessness is a symptom of poverty?

  3. Aloysius_son says:

    @agnophilo – I shall then answer the two questions. 1. None. From my understanding of Jesus’ life he had no possessions of his own but rather lived off the generosity of others, who just so happened to have posessions. 2. If he had 28 million dollars in investment profits? First of all I would never had imagined Jesus engaging in any sort of financial investment strategy in the first place. Except, the parable I quoted does suggest that he actually might! He would have to keep reinvesting some, so that he could continue earning assets to donate to the poor in the future, he would likely want to pay for his food and lodging as he traveled. He would pay his taxes and tithes. Perhaps he would build a school and donate a percentage to various charities and make significant offerings to the needy. How would you answer the two questions?I apologize for my hurtful engagement earlier. I lost control of my emotions. I know that you are merely a seeker of the truth and did not intentionally assault me or my beliefs. You do quite often come across to me as a Chiristian hater. I was reacting to my perceptions of your tone rather than the actual content.Just for the sake of argument, and I do not mean this in the aggressive argumentitive way, it is merely a figure of speech, How would you allocate 28 million dollars in annual personal financial assests, you earned? We both probably have fantasized about having this opportunity at some time or another.I also am interested in your comment, “caring about society is wrong”. How so?

  4. Aloysius_son says:

    @agnophilo – That too. I realize it is circular reasoning, but it does seem that poverty and hoplessness go hand in hand and spiral “downward” at an accelerating rate.

  5. Aloysius_son says:

    I should also like to adress this statement of yours, “Your interpretation of “steal from those who have none to give to those who have plenty and the only thing worthwhile in life is turning a profit” is much better.”Where in my words did I state or imply, “steal from those who have none to give to those who have plenty and the only thing worthwhile in life is turning a profit”?This is the thing that bothers me. How could I have I unwittingly implied this? I believe we would each benefit more in this endeaver if we could become more biased neutral.

  6. agnophilo says:

    @Aloysius_son – “I shall then answer the two questions. 1. None. From my understanding of Jesus’ life he had no possessions of his own but rather lived off the generosity of others, who just so happened to have posessions. 2. If he had 28 million dollars in investment profits? First of all I would never had imagined Jesus engaging in any sort of financial investment strategy in the first place. Except, the parable I quoted does suggest that he actually might! He would have to keep reinvesting some, so that he could continue earning assets to donate to the poor in the future, he would likely want to pay for his food and lodging as he traveled. He would pay his taxes and tithes. Perhaps he would build a school and donate a percentage to various charities and make significant offerings to the needy.” You didn’t answer either question.  Again.”How would you answer the two questions?”1) zero, 2) roughly 28 million.”I apologize for my hurtful engagement earlier. I lost control of my emotions. I know that you are merely a seeker of the truth and did not intentionally assault me or my beliefs.”Apology accepted.  I apologize for being dickish in my response.”You do quite often come across to me as a Chiristian hater. I was reacting to my perceptions of your tone rather than the actual content.”Actually what I am “hating” is pervasive pseudo-christianity and what disgusts me about it is how far from the actual teachings of jesus (most of which are very nice) it actually is.  Jesus said help the poor, don’t be greedy, be humble, forgive others etc and it’s as though conservative christians literally are trying to outdo each other in terms of how far from that they can possibly get. “Just for the sake of argument, and I do not mean this in the aggressive argumentitive way, it is merely a figure of speech, How would you allocate 28 million dollars in annual personal financial assests, you earned? We both probably have fantasized about having this opportunity at some time or another.”I’d live comfortably off of 20-50k and give the rest to various charities.  My day job would be trying to do the most good with it I possibly could.  If I bought a hundred thousand dollar sports car I would be thinking “that’s a hundred people that could’ve gotten their heat turned back on this winter”.  I’m sure someone from a poorer country would feel the same way about eating in a restaurant for $50 when that could feed a family of four for a month.”I also am interested in your comment, “caring about society is wrong”. How so?”I didn’t make that comment.  You said that I was arguing against caring about what’s best for society (totally distorting what both of us said) and I sarcastically said “yeah that’s exactly what I said”.

  7. agnophilo says:

    @Aloysius_son – Where in my words did I state or imply, “steal from those who have none to give to those who have plenty and the only thing worthwhile in life is turning a profit”?You took the scripture you quoted which said those who have none should have theirs stolen to give to those who have as literal advice on how to live our lives.”This is the thing that bothers me. How could I have I unwittingly implied this? I believe we would each benefit more in this endeaver if we could become more biased neutral.”I asked you about your interpretation and you refused to answer my questions.

  8. Aloysius_son says:

    @agnophilo – You assumed an interpretation for me, not mine. In my silence I am inherently speaking untruths? You failed to answer each and all of my questions as is expected and I yours. I presumed certain questions to be rhetorical and it not be necessary to respond to each and every thought. Ought I to assert your opinions based on your ommissions? I did not assign an interpretation to the scripture other than to use it as an example that Jesus’ teachings on money are not soley centered on charity. I did not imply a subscription to any aspect of the scripture. Nor did I deny any. Are you supposing to know me, my mindset and my behaviors based on this single illustration of Christ’s teachings? I had not ignored the elements as you stated. I merely did not elaborate on them nor on many of the many elements.One must exercise discretion when attempting to interpret scripture. It is difficult to avoid personal biases and precognitions. I tend to view scripture as a blueprint for building a solid relationship with God. As a builder I know that sometimes the blueprints do not coincide with the actual construction process. I can not give you definitive interpretations on every chapter or verse.

  9. Aloysius_son says:

    @agnophilo – Incidentally, I did not refuse to answer any of your questions. I simply did not have one to provide.

  10. Aloysius_son says:

    @agnophilo – I did answer both questions. None, was the answer to the first question after which I elaborated. And my answer to the second, in a round about way was, he would donate a significant percentage, an exact number of which I am uncertain. I didn’t say you were arguing against caring about what is best for society! I have never thought that of you, which is why I was puzzled when you made the comment in reply to my comment.

  11. Ikwa says:

    @agnophilo – I half agree with you but i still believe in a spirtual world. šŸ™‚ But I am not going to debate that. I have Atheist family and we argue for days. ha! šŸ™‚ Take care! 

  12. jaydedheart says:

    @agnophilo – I will respond to you in full later, but am unsure where i stated that detention without trial is a christian principle. If i’m correct, i said that because Jesus was treated that way and it is seen as the greatest of offenses, surely it is a Christian value not to torture and deny trial.

Speak yer mind.

