patricialbehner = Douchebag, Just FYI.

 
What’s with christians blocking me from their sites merely for quoting scripture?  The above xangan did a blog about how great the book of proverbs is and gave a bunch of quotes.  I quoted proverbs 20:30:

“The blueness of a wound cleanseth away evil: so do stripes the inward parts of the belly.”

And said “some parts are more wise than others”.

Blocked.

To be fair they also blocked (or at least deleted) loborn’s vile comment comparing atheists to monkeys.  Not that censoring even that cretin is a good thing, but at least they weren’t partisan.

About agnophilo

Nerd.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to patricialbehner = Douchebag, Just FYI.

  1. TheSutraDude says:

    Under which name was Loborn posting? I was told Loborn was banned from Revelife a long time ago. Of course you should not have been blocked. I do believe blocking some people is totally justified. When I was a kid there was a kid who lived not far away. He hung out with us for a while but he was nothing but an ill-natured trouble maker. For example we’d be walking somewhere when for no reason this kid would run over to a neighbors garbage cans and kick them over. We stopped letting him hang out with us which was in effect blocking him in real life and totally justified in my opinion. We tried to get him to stop doing such things. We gave him chances. He didn’t change. He got blocked. 

  2. agnophilo says:

    @TheSutraDude – “Prisoner of love”, and it was on xanga not revelife.And while I agree with your real life example I think words on a screen are easier to tolerate than physical damage or threats.  Someone simply having a vile opinion doesn’t warrant censorship in my opinion.  In fact the only person I’ve blocked was someone who wrote half a dozen blogs lying about me just to be an asshole.  Which actually coincides with US law come to think of it, slander is not considered protected speech.

  3. TheSutraDude says:

    @agnophilo – I understand what you’re saying. I’m of the mind that people who throw around nonsense, insults and accusations just to be disruptive and attack others don’t deserve a place in the conversation. A lot of people who might add something of value stay away from conversations and debates because they don’t want to be attacked or involved in that ugliness. To me it’s a matter of how much value can be created opposed to how much is taken away by trash talking and baseless personal attacks. That’s just me though. 

  4. agnophilo says:

    @TheSutraDude – If someone says nothing of substance I suppose you have a point – if for instance someone just called everyone who commented on one of my blogs a bad name for no reason I would delete the comments.  But opinions should be allowed to be expressed even if they’re stupid or ignorant – it is no better to censor their opinions because I disagree than to censor mine because some fundamentalist or conservatives thinks little of what I have to say.

  5. TheSutraDude says:

    @agnophilo – I agree with you as long as even however ignorant the person is at least the person is sincere and also respectful. What the troll types often do is start by using something that could almost sound substantive. A back and forth ensues and an hour or two later they invariably fling insults and accusations and in the end there was really no real substantive argument to begin with. It’s time wasted. I treat conversations on the internet as I would in real life and I feel as justified for blocking someone as I do for not engaging with someone at a bar who can’t hold their liquor, for example. 

  6. TheSutraDude says:

    And just to add, if I stop engaging with that drunk at the bar or anyone spouting foolishness I’m not censoring the person. The person can talk to someone else or to himself but there is nothing that says I have to continue listening. 

  7. agnophilo says:

    @TheSutraDude – I just ignore people like that – eg loborn.@TheSutraDude – Putting tape over their mouth is something else entirely though, and blocking or deleting the comments of someone is the cyber equivalent.

  8. xXrEMmUsXx says:

    I only censor slander and name calling situations. But its rarely here and almost always FB. I just don’t see a need for people to tear each other apart using my status or blog to do it. And I always tell them I did it and why.

  9. agnophilo says:

    @xXrEMmUsXx – True.  If someone leaves a comment just calling someone a name and says nothing of substance I might delete it – but I can’t even remember the last time I deleted a comment.

  10. xXrEMmUsXx says:

    @agnophilo – it just happened in a political conversation on FB. An old high school acquaintance called a new acquaintance a stupid woman. I deleted it and apologized for her behavior because debate does not entitle us to belittle each other and she didn’t say anything helpful to her position. It was just hurtful and unnecessary. i remember I used to sensor bad words, that was just a year ago. I’ve come a long way!!! 

  11. agnophilo says:

    @xXrEMmUsXx – Heh – I’ve never done that.

  12. TheSutraDude says:

    @agnophilo – I don’t agree with the tape analogy. If you invite friends into your home and someone starts joining in but every time he comes into your home he creates trouble, lies about people and makes it unpleasant for everyone to come over you have every right not to allow him into your home. You probably remember DaVinci. He and I became good friends after meeting on a debate site. His daughter began blogging on Xanga for a while. I often commented on her blogs too and tried to be an encouragement whenever I could. One evening I went back to one of her blogs to respond to a reply to one of my comments. It was just dumb luck that I saw a comment just below the one I was going to respond to. It was a comment about me by one of Xanga’s trolls. The guy told DaVinci’s daughter the only reason I agreed with her blog was I was trying to get into her pants and further, he said that’s what I did with girls on Xanga. I could have ignored it but you know how it is with lies. People tend to believe them. I know she didn’t but others might have seen the comment and taken it at face value to be true. In the end she blocked him. For the record, I’m a real life kinda guy. I’m 58 years old and I’ve been married twice. I’ve had more than my fair share of girlfriends in RL. I’ve no desire to hit on women online and whenever I’ve sensed a woman showing some interest in me on Xanga I’ve distanced myself. 

  13. agnophilo says:

    @TheSutraDude – “I don’t agree with the tape analogy. If you invite friends into your home and someone starts joining in but every time he comes into your home he creates trouble, lies about people and makes it unpleasant for everyone to come over you have every right not to allow him into your home. “The tape analogy was in response to your bar analogy.  Inviting someone into your home repeatedly and someone spouting off at a bar are two different things.”You probably remember DaVinci. He and I became good friends after meeting on a debate site. His daughter began blogging on Xanga for a while. I often commented on her blogs too and tried to be an encouragement whenever I could. One evening I went back to one of her blogs to respond to a reply to one of my comments. It was just dumb luck that I saw a comment just below the one I was going to respond to. It was a comment about me by one of Xanga’s trolls. The guy told DaVinci’s daughter the only reason I agreed with her blog was I was trying to get into her pants and further, he said that’s what I did with girls on Xanga.” It’s possible he was being protective and honestly thought that was happening – but it’s more likely he’s just a condescending jerk or was projecting his creepiness onto you etc.”I could have ignored it but you know how it is with lies. People tend to believe them.” Yeah, I have to crush dishonest bullshit when I see it.”I know she didn’t but others might have seen the comment and taken it at face value to be true. In the end she blocked him. For the record, I’m a real life kinda guy. I’m 58 years old and I’ve been married twice. I’ve had more than my fair share of girlfriends in RL. I’ve no desire to hit on women online and whenever I’ve sensed a woman showing some interest in me on Xanga I’ve distanced myself. “I know what you mean, I feel the same way.

  14. TheSutraDude says:

    @agnophilo – I’ve never put tape over the mouths of anyone. I remember saying in the bar analogy I stop talking to them and let them talk to someone else or to themselves. Actually bartenders often throw them out of the bar. I liked DaVinci. We disagreed on some things but that’s allowed. He was never abusive. Loborn when Loborn was still using his original name, after losing yet another argument with me (he’s never won) took to calling my deceased father an asshole on DaVinci’s blog. DaVinci blocked him soon after. That was in the day when people still believed Loborn was a young female sports model, not the balding middle aged man Loborn actually is. I do understand your decision of not blocking anyone. It’s a valid argument. I think you’ve seen my willingness to engage with trolls but I am of the mind that if trolls keep other people younger and less experienced than me from expressing their opinions openly, that is a bad thing. I know you are a good fighter for reason. How much time however is lost on fighting trolls who have only an intention to disrupt and call people names when people could better spend that time debating with reasonable people?  We have a slightly different take on this and that’s fine. I always respect you, your thoughts and your decisions. I’m typing as I’m listening to the debate so I’ll get back to the debate. 

  15. agnophilo says:

    @TheSutraDude – Never said you did – in the bar analogy ignoring a drunk loudmouth would be the equivalent of ignoring an abusive comment, whereas silencing it would be the equivalent of putting tape over their mouth.I ignore loborn most of the time, and when I occasionally engage him he always makes me regret it by being a tool or disregarding what I have to say.  But I figure even if I waste my time talking to some troll at least the truth (or a more valid position) is right there next to the bullshit for any third party that might get sucked into it out of ignorance or foolishness.

  16. Different opinions are a healthy ingredient of a country like the good old USA, and should be encouraged. Otherwise we start heading down the road to a Christian theocracy or the ex-Soviet Union. You should not have been blocked.

  17. agnophilo says:

    @justafishinoursea – I agree, but it’s always nice to know someone appreciates the value of diversity : )

Speak yer mind.

