Atheist Music (Some Good Tunes).

I will stack the crappiest mainstream atheist bands against any band that brands itself as “christian music” any day.  Not that there isn’t good religious music (some of it is in my -now disabled- playlist after all).  But the christians who make good music tend to make music about everything else too : )  And by the way if some of them seem hostile or rude please understand their hostility is directed toward the negativity of organized religion, not nice christians.  When you think of whom their ire is geared toward think of televangelists, religious bigots, hate-mongers, sleazy politicians that use religion and the like.  I’ve never known an atheist who shit on a christian for just being like jesus.  If anything atheists often resent christians for so frequently being the opposite.

In no particular order:

“Get Born Again”

Sad suffering, I knew him when
Fair-weather friend of mine
Try not to think, I merely blink
Hope to wish away the lies…

Can you protect
Me when I’m wrecked
I pretend you’re still alive
Yeah…

I choose the day, one damp and gray
Thick fog that hide our smiles

Clear all your sins
Get born again
Just repeat a couple lines…
Lies
yeah

Can you protect
Me when I’m wrecked
I pretend you’re still alive

I choose the day, One damp and gray
Thick fog that hide our smiles

Sad suffering
Get born again

“Man In The Box”

I’m the man in the box
Buried in my shit
Won’t you come and save me, save me

Feed my eyes, can you sew them shut?
Jesus Christ, deny your maker
He who tries, will be wasted
Feed my eyes now you’ve sewn them shut

I’m the dog who gets beat
Shove my nose in shit
Won’t you come and save me, save me

Feed my eyes, can you sew them shut?
Jesus Christ, deny your maker
He who tries, will be wasted
Feed my eyes now you’ve sewn them shut

[Note: I like how she says “god is great, yeah, yeah, god is good, yeah, yeah… yeah yeah yeah” (three yeahs = sarcastic).  This is more deistic than atheistic but it’s outside the box (and a good song) so I’m counting it]

If God had a name, what would it be
And would you call it to his face
If you were faced with him in all his glory
What would you ask if you had just one question

And yeah yeah God is great yeah yeah God is good
yeah yeah yeah yeah yeah

What if God was one of us
Just a slob like one of us
Just a stranger on the bus
Trying to make his way home

If God had a face what would it look like
And would you want to see
If seeing meant that you would have to believe
In things like heaven and in jesus and the saints and all the prophets

And yeah yeah god is great yeah yeah god is good
yeah yeah yeah yeah yeah

What if God was one of us
Just a slob like one of us
Just a stranger on the bus
Trying to make his way home
He’s trying to make his way home
Back up to heaven all alone
Nobody calling on the phone
Except for the pope maybe in rome

And yeah yeah God is great yeah yeah God is good
yeah yeah yeah yeah yeah

What if god was one of us
Just a slob like one of us
Just a stranger on the bus
Trying to make his way home
Just trying to make his way home
Like a holy rolling stone
Back up to heaven all alone
Just trying to make his way home
Nobody calling on the phone
Except for the pope maybe in rome

[Note: As an evangelical christian (if you are one) you may relate to occasionally feeling an intense feeling of love and compassion for a non-believer, a desire to help them see your truth.  You may be surprised to know many skeptics feel the same feeling toward believers who believe because they are shackled to the indoctrination of their upbringing or unable to question the beliefs of their culture out of fear.  I have often felt an outpouring of love and compassion toward believers, though this is harder to feel if they’re really obnoxious).  This song I believe is about that feeling from the perspective of the skeptic.  The line about the boat and the anchor reminds me of the quote from thomas jefferson “…man, once surrendering his reason, has no remaining guard against absurdities the most monstrous, and like a ship without rudder is the sport of every wind. With such persons gullibility which they call faith takes the helm from the hand of reason and the mind becomes a wreck.”]

it’s easier not to be wise
and measure these things by your brains
I sank into Eden with you
alone in the church by and by
I’ll read to you here, save your eyes
you’ll need them, your boat is at sea
your anchor is up, you’ve been swept away
and the greatest of teachers won’t hesitate
to leave you there, by yourself, chained to fate

I alone love you
I alone tempt you
I alone love you
fear is not the end of this!

it’s easier not to be great
and measure these things by your eyes
we long to be here by his resolve
alone in the church by and by
to cradle the baby in space
and leave you there by yourself chained to fate
oh, now, we took it back too far,
only love can save us now,
all these riddles that you burnall come runnin’ back to you,
all these rhythms that you hide
only love can save us now,
all these riddles that you burn yeah, yeah, yeah

“It Ain’t Necessarily So” (this version is loius armstrong and ella fitzgerald but it’s also been recorded by ray charles, hugh laurie, miles davis and many others)

It ain’t necessarily so
It ain’t necessarily so
The things that you’re liable
To read in the Bible,
It ain’t necessarily so.

Now david was small but oh my
Little david was small but oh my
He fought big goliath
Who lay down and dieth
David was small but oh my.

To get into heaven, don’t snap for a second
Live clean forget your faults
I take the gospel whenever it’s possible
But with a grain of salt

Oh jonah he lived in a whale
Oh jonah he lived in a whale
He made his home in
That fishes abdomen
Oh jonah he lived in a whale

To get into heaven, don’t snap for a seven
Live clean forget your faults
I take gospel whenever it’s possible
But with a grain of salt

Methuselah lived 900 years
Methuselah lived 900 years
Who calls that livin’
When no gal will give in
To no man what’s 900 years

It ain’t necessarily so
It ain’t necessarily so
The things that you’re liable
To read in the Bible,
It ain’t necessarily so.

Ain’t necessarily so
Ain’t necessarily so
Ain’t necessarily so

– That’s it for now, rec if you would like a part 2.

About agnophilo

Nerd.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Atheist Music (Some Good Tunes).

  1. jmallory says:

    All of these are really good songs. It’s interesting though… as much as I love grunge music, I’ve always preferred Audioslave to Sound Garden… Of course, it could be the idea that I also love Rage Against the Machine, and to combine those two bands has always been mind blowing to me- However, I’ve always loved the spiritual themes on Audioslave’s albums. It’s said that Chris Cornell had some sort of Christian experience prior to forming Audioslave, but I don’t know… he never really talks about it…

  2. Kellsbella says:

    You have interesting taste in music. The first group seems to have been strongly influenced by the Beatles. Their harmony is very nice and then it is drowned out by their instruments (just my opinion.)The female sounds as if her influence was Joan Baez.Didn’t care so much for the following number as it had too much of a “pop” sound to me.Really dug the Porgy and Bess number (even though it’s a male who performs it in the opera.)  If you’ve not seen the show, rent it!I believe music to be universal. In other words, one may coin it as Atheist or Christian, but it is the feeling that one derives that touches one’s soul. That said, My favourites of your collection would be the first and the last. And now, because you hate me with all of your might, I think I’ll just have to crack myself up here (someone has to laugh at my jokes….may as well be me, right?)

  3. A bit random, but did you see Religulous? What did you think of it?

  4. Kraatakans says:

    Opiate by Tool is a fantastically condescending song on religion.Also check out Erased by Paradise Lost

  5. agnophilo says:

    @jmallory – I don’t know any audioslave songs I like, and I know only a few soundgarden ones I really like, lol.  I wouldn’t classify either as grunge really.  But then what do I know.Didn’t know about the conversion experience or whatnot.@nodnarbassoon – Yep, and I was going to include the stevie wonder song “superstition” from it in part 2 if I did one : )  I thought it was pretty good, though the end was a bit heavy handed and obnoxious (the whole “religion must die so humanity can live” bit).

  6. agnophilo says:

    @Kraatakans – Opiate is better, and as I said anti-religion, not insulting to all believers necessarily. 

  7. Townsend2 says:

    You’re reaching out for something. Keep searching. The deeper you get, the bigger you’ll find creation to be. I’m just an onlooker, but I believe that God’s looking out for you as well. I have nothing to gain from this post. I have no ulterior motive than to encourage you to continue researching the Christian faith. There is nothing quite like finding out the truth and I wish you the best in your journey.

  8. agnophilo says:

    @Townsend2 – I’m a life long seeker of truth, beauty and meaning – but I do not want the world to conform to my preconceptions or what I naively think it should be like.  I do not seek a particular “truth”, I seek the truth, reality, whatever it may be.  I do not try to believe or not believe in a creator, that is literally make-believe.  Willing yourself to believe something is self-deception.  And in my many years of searching I have found nothing in particular to be gained from your worldview.  I would not be more moral or think the universe any more beautiful or meaningful if I were christian.  You think your view of life is so much grander than mine but only because you are a bigot – you pre-judge me and my worldview out of ignorance without taking the time to learn a thing about either.  Which is no more accurate or fair to me than me telling you what you’re like based on the color of your skin without knowing a thing about your beliefs, personality history, upbringing etc would be.

Speak yer mind.

