Size Of The Earth Comparison (Mind-Blowing).

Rec’ if this made your head hurt in a good way : )

About agnophilo

Nerd.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Size Of The Earth Comparison (Mind-Blowing).

  1. TheSutraDude says:

    Makes me want to go bowling. I love these types of demonstrations/comparisons. Look at our sun compared to Sirius then Sirius compared to the next group. I remember many of these stars from when I studied astronomy for a bit in college. Betelgeuse is a red giant in Orion I think. 

  2. PPhilip says:

    The distance Light travels can be a rough way to measure things. It takes 8 minutes for light to travel from the sun to earth. Since Jupiter is 5 times as far from the sun it takes 40 minutes. A light year is 365x24x60=525,600 minutes. Alpha centari our closest star is about 4 light years away so it is the distance to Jupiter times 52,560.Numbers can make people’s head ache but it is good to know relatively what distances and sizes matter.

  3. PseudoLeben says:

    My mind is always so blown when I think about the size of stars and just the universe in general.  Almost makes our worries here on Earth seem minute and pointless.

  4. FalconBridge says:

    So I’m not even a speck of dust. I’d rather be a star. 

  5. Peridot21 says:

    Wow that’s amazing… in that second pic, earth is like a marble and Jupiter is like a, what, beach ball! We are teeny-tiny! 🙂

  6. The idea that earth is in all reality pretty small is not a new concept for me, but makes a person feel puny though. 

  7. whyzat says:

    @TheSutraDude – I will go bowling if I can use Anteres. It looks like  a ball I could handle.i’m left-handed, so you can pretend that i am your riner. Oh, did I say i splay like crap? Took my sleepkng pills and typing is hard.

  8. TheSutraDude says:

    @whyzat – I like Antares for a bowling ball. Don’t feel bad. I didn’t bowl enough to get good at it. A victory for me was my ball traveling 3/4 of the lane before finding its natural place in the gutter. I thought there should be points for that. As far as I’m concerned strikes are for unions. Spares are for flat tires. 

  9. TheSutraDude says:

    @BookographyReviews – I had a book on the history of astrophysics. Part of the intro explained humans once thought the Earth was the center of our solar system and The Universe but we learned we are not only not the center of our solar system and The Universe. Our galaxy is not the center of the Universe and our solar system is not the center of our galaxy and in fact our solar system is not only not the center of our galaxy which is not the center of The Universe but we are somewhere out in the galactic burbs. That cracked me up. 

  10. @TheSutraDude -, “We are the center of the universe. Everyone must worship us!” So saith the puny humans. Yet…. We are a speck of dust in a million specks of dust. Lol. The intro bit makes a good point. 

  11. Hinase says:

    I’m always fascinated by these types of things. 

Speak yer mind.

