A Negative Aspect Of Belief In God.

A comment I left on someone’s site (which I got no response to by the way, big shock there):

If someone told me that say love was communicated to me by aliens in another galaxy, I would have no way to disprove that hypothesis. But I would also have no way to prove it, and so no reason to believe it.

The only reason I mention this is because there are people in the KKK who feel god’s right there on the same page with them. Their sense of being in communion with god tells them god’s just fine with killing people based on skin color. What people who believe god talks to them get from that “relationship” seems to me to be random at best. What bothers me isn’t that they believe something different from what I do, I’m fine with people being different and diverse and I’m fine with you not agreeing with me about anything. The harm comes though when somebody’s wrong about something (as religious people sometimes are) and they refuse to entertain the notion because the voice in their head told them they’re right. This kind of thinking makes people unreasonable and paralyzed by fear. It lets evil men do terrible harm and makes it easy to censor others – after all how dare they question god?

A christian person just wrote a blog about them being skeptical of a church that promotes speaking in tongues – I congratulated them on their skepticism and talked about how important I think critical thinking is. I was attacked as an evildoer and a wolf in sheep’s clothing. The only reason we have a civilization at all is because we stop and think about things. And it’s hard to not see religion in some social circumstance as the brain’s off switch.

About agnophilo

Nerd.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A Negative Aspect Of Belief In God.

  1. Using God to justify A-holeness is very common among the mentally ill.  I mean if the Lord of the universe thinks me being the biggest A-hole on the planet in his name is the greatest thing since sliced bread, why, it means I’m a saint instead of a candidate for the Rubber Room Society.

  2. Last time I checked the KKK and white supremacists in general used evolution to justify their prejudice.

  3. agnophilo says:

    @ImNotUglyIJustNeedLove – True, organized faith has many appeals to the mentally ill, it has accumulated countless defense mechanisms over the centuries.@Ambrosius_Augustus_Rex – No, they use inaccurate nonsense they call science to justify their prejudice.  And the KKK’s main influence is biblical – they’re burning crosses on peoples’ lawns, not darwin fishes.

  4. @agnophilo – If their use of science is “inaccurate nonsense” couldn’t the same claim be made about their use of religion, that its inaccurate nonsense?

  5. @agnophilo – How is burning crosses not defaming a religious symbol or icon?  Also, they do believe in evolution.  You can check stormfront if you don’t believe me.  If evolution were true then different races would have to represent different levels of development.  You can’t say that everyone evolved differently and yet somehow came out the same.  You cannot logically have evolution and political correctness, as your belief system is inherently un-PC.  You believe that behavior and intellect are tied directly to heritable factors yes?  Disparities in achievment have to be a result of hereditary intellectual difference, because your belief system is predicated on nature and it leaves no room for spiritual factors.Of course I can uderstand why you might want to distance yourself from groups like the KKK and white supremacists in general, and I can probably also agree with you that it’s psuedo-science.  But then, a case could be made for considering the majority of your views psuedo-science as well.  Anyways, if you are going to insist on associating those people with us then I am going to insist that you recognize their connection with evolutionism.I would go to the KKK website and see what exactly is there but I’m not at home now and I don’t want to do that on this computer. 

  6. agnophilo says:

    @ImNotUglyIJustNeedLove – Not effectively, no.  I mean I agree that their theology is inaccurate nonsense just as the “science” they occasionally spout is, but if their theology is informed by subjective personal conviction and prayer and perceived guidance from god, there is no objective way to demonstrate that they’re wrong that they will ever accept.  Science however is strictly objective and a false claim can be demonstrated to be false.@Ambrosius_Augustus_Rex – “How is burning crosses not defaming a religious symbol or icon?” How is eating jesus’ body and drinking his blood (then pissing and shitting out jesus) not sacrilege?  What is offensive to a religion is usually dictated by tradition or dogma, not common sense.  Cross burning is a scottish tradition.”Also, they do believe in evolution.  You can check stormfront if you don’t believe me.”  Apparently some do, and some don’t.  However most people who accept evolution or reject it (white supremecist or not) are ignorant of most of the details of the science.  For instance if you asked a white supremecist if they accept that they are “more evolved” than a black person you’d probably get a strong “yes” because (while a scientifically illiterate statement) it seems in-line with their ideology.  But how many white supremecists would enthusiastically accept that white people originated in africa?  Probably not very many.”If evolution were true then different races would have to represent different levels of development.”  It doesn’t work that way, populations and species adapt to different environments, they do not become “more” or “less” evolved overall.  A lizard is not “more evolved” than a polar bear, nor is a polar bear “more evolved” than a lizard.  Both would die very quickly in the other’s environment.  Subjective adaptation is not a ladder from “more evolved” to “less evolved””You can’t say that everyone evolved differently and yet somehow came out the same.”  Yes, black people and white people are different.  However those differences convey both advantages and disadvantages depending on the environment.  Greater skin pigment causes vitamin D deficiency by inhibiting the skin’s photosynthesis in places without much direct sunlight and less skin pigment causes worse sunburns and higher rates of skin cancer in places with more direct sunlight.  Do you think facts like these are what get people riled up at klan rallies?”You cannot logically have evolution and political correctness, as your belief system is inherently un-PC.”  I don’t care if my views are politically correct.”You believe that behavior and intellect are tied directly to heritable factors yes?  Disparities in achievment have to be a result of hereditary intellectual difference, because your belief system is predicated on nature and it leaves no room for spiritual factors.”I don’t see how “spiritual factors” can be quantified, but disparities in achievement can be caused by genetic factors or environmental factors like poverty, racism, lack of opportunity etc.  It is no more surprising that black people in america tend to be less successful than it is that freed slaves tended not to have the benefit of a college education.  Minorities (in any culture), especially ones there are strong prejudices against, tend to be the first to get fired and the last to get hired which has an effect.  If you want to know if blackness makes one less likely to be successful or intelligent find a country where black people are the majority and compare their success to that of white minorities.  Either way there are black geniuses and white geniuses and black imbeciles and white imbeciles, which destroys the premise of racism – that you can judge a book by it’s cover.”Of course I can uderstand why you might want to distance yourself from groups like the KKK and white supremacists in general, and I can probably also agree with you that it’s psuedo-science.  But then, a case could be made for considering the majority of your views psuedo-science as well.”  Not a good one.  You know science and pseudoscience actually mean something, they’re not arbitrary labels.”Anyways, if you are going to insist on associating those people with us then I am going to insist that you recognize their connection with evolutionism.”I wasn’t trying to paint you and the KKK with the same brush, I was trying to point out that feeling like god is telling you something doesn’t mean you’re right.  God supposedly tells people all kind of contradictory things every day.  I thought maybe people would, I dunno, give a shit.”I would go to the KKK website and see what exactly is there but I’m not at home now and I don’t want to do that on this computer.”I went to stormfront and read some forum comments about evolution and it’s the same ignorant rhetoric I see in creationist debates (not to equate the two in moral terms).

  7. @agnophilo – Some people use science to justify things the same way other people use religion.Developing a healthy sense of reality requires neither religion or science.

  8. @agnophilo – We don’t injest his blood and tissue, we take the communion in remberance, and even if we did do it like you said, it wouldn’t be sacrilige if we were told to do so.  That being said, there is no Biblical basis behind what the KKK is doing or their symbolism.  I don’t see how their burning of a cross is pro-Christian, except perhaps in Bizarro world.  Also it’s worth noting that back when they were active they used to also burn churches.  I don’t believe that race is a product of evolution, I believe it’s a result of independent assortment from an original human.  So I am a third party in this.  I have seen them react to OOA in a variety of ways.  Yes it’s true that they believe they are more evolved.  Although, to play devils advocate, if you are going to attribute diversity to evolution, someone has to be higher up on the evolutionary ladder.  Saying that nothing is more evolved than anything else makes no sense.  Regardless of whether or not evolution is true, reality has to be objective, and you cannot say that a dog is not more evolved than a bacteria, since the starting point was a bacteria.  Is a bacteria as complex as a dog?  If the answer is no, then you have a progression.  I think to a certain extent you are in denail about your own belief system.  I think your entire basis for believing in evolution is so that you don’t have to believe in God or objective morality.I’m not saying that evolution HAS to lead to racism or active feelings of hate toward other groups, but, it certainly facilitates, and without it they have no psuedo-scientific basis for their beliefs.  There has always been racism, but the advent of evolution was like throwing lighter fluid on smoldering coals.  I call things that people call science without proper utilization of the scientific method “psuedo-science,” and that’s being kind.  That is why I classify evolution as pseudo-science.  Both your beliefs and theirs are not that dissimilar, and both predicated on pseudo-science and ad hoc assumptions. 

  9. CrumblesAway says:

    Reminds me of the famous Susan B Anthony quote. “I distrust those people who know so well what God wants them to do because I notice it always coincides with their own desires.” Religion is a mess of a topic to talk about. Reasonable conversation is difficult because you can’t argue with belief (as I understand was the key point of your post). Most of it’s harmless but there is a fair bit that is decidedly not.

  10. Critical thinking is extremely important. Unfortunately, it seems that Christians that questioned other Christians beliefs like “speaking in tongues” is only because they don’t understand it and feel it is coerced by Satan. (USUALLY not always)As a Wiccan Witch, I’m often criticized for my beliefs and my thoughts. I think a lot. I question everything. How else are we to know our true paths? We don’t all have the same path surely. 

Speak yer mind.

