Re: Why Do You Hate God?

This is a common question/objection/accusation many skeptics face, and I just got it for the umpteenth time in the comment section of a blog about how prayer saved someone’s life (well if you want to be “technical” about it, it was prayer, two hospitals, a helicopter medevac, two emergency surgeries and a few thousand years of accumulated medical knowledge).  But the conclusion of the blog was “see, prayer works!”  The same way it works when I pray for my car to get un-broken and then take it to the mechanic.

Anyway, I tried (totally in vain of course) to point out the shortcuts in this logic to several people and was asked why I spend so much time saying what a jerk god is (paraphrase).  This was my response which I thought was blog-worthy:

“Why do you feel the need to whine about how
terrible God is.”

I don’t believe I said anything remotely like that.  I’m taking issue with what you believe, not god.  I don’t think there is such a being, why would I think he was terrible?

“Almost every post you make is geared toward hatred of
Christianty and I rarely see you comment on a site that isn’t talking
about religion of some sort.”

Actually no, the last two posts for instance are about christianity’s hatred of minorities (or specifically, one christian’s).  When I see a belief that is wrong or does harm I argue against it.  Christianity is extremely popular and is both wrong and does lots of harm.  If an atheist argued that you shouldn’t have the same rights as everybody else (as the person I was debating with in my last two blogs was doing with gays) you don’t think I would take them to task?  I would.  I’ve admonished atheists many times for making hateful generalizations about christians and occasionally for suggesting religion should be banned etc, which is fortunately a very uncommon belief among non-believers.  Arguing with christians when they say harmful things no more means I hate christians than arguing with a black person who says something I disagree with makes me racist.

Bullshit is bullshit, whether it’s christian bullshit or atheist bullshit doesn’t matter.  Case in point, I just did exactly what I’m doing here on a secular blog claiming hemp oil cures cancer (using the exact same logic – I took hemp oil and my cancer got better so hemp oil cures cancer), link.

Do I hate hemp or pot smokers?  No, I just don’t think anecdotal evidence is valid (and medical professionals agree).  Holding a mystical “cure” up to the same scrutiny as a normal treatment to see if it has any actual medicinal value is just as important because guess what – people thinking something has medicinal value when it doesn’t kills people.  If I hated christians I would just sit back and snicker and say “oh look, that person didn’t go to the hospital because they thought prayer would make them better, ha ha”.  I am not doing that specifically because I do care.  About christians and about the people some of their beliefs hurt.

About agnophilo

Nerd.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Re: Why Do You Hate God?

  1. galadrial says:

    Um.Maybe I am being picky…but why is the refusal to accept someone else’s religious beliefs  expressed as “hating God”? I usually have to meet someone to hate them…it’s a pretty personal thing.And I get your point..it’s just sad that the same people who want you to love their god are all too willing to KILL other people…for not wishing to.

  2. Your blogs are always clear, concise, and direct. I appreciate this and your general approach to bullshit. I’ve read a lot of your blogs over the past year or two and I’m never disappointed. I just thought I’d take the time to let you know that you give me hope in humanity. Thanks again for another wonderful and honest entry. 

  3. tau_1 says:

    Ok that is your opinion about how you feel.

  4. agnophilo says:

    @galadrial – It’s just a miscommunication that comes from communities being either homogenous or segregated, so that people never get to know anyone that’s really different from them and their point of view, culture etc are completely alien to them.  It’s actually a form of mistaken empathy in a way, he’s probably thinking “if I were saying what he’s saying, why would I be saying it”.  The only thing he can conceive of is that I am angry at god.  I can relate to this to a degree, I was only mildly indoctrinated but it took literally years of doubting before it even occurred to me there might not be a god.  It was literally inconceivable.  Since then I’ve tried to expose myself to as many different points of view as possible because I don’t want to be ignorant like that about anything.@Dame_Delirium – That is very nice of you to say, thank you.  And just know I appreciate you appreciating skepticism, honesty, direct language etc as well.  Every time I get a comment like that it is encouraging too (setting aside that it happens to be directed at me of course).  I’m going into computer programming so maybe having that kind of brain will come in useful for keeping a mountain of code straight in my head and understanding the logic of all those ones and zeroes.

  5. agnophilo says:

    @tau_1 – Yes, and that is your comment.This is captain obvious, signing off.

  6. I hate the tooth fairy. She use to leave me a dollar for my tooth and she would leave one of my classmates 10 dollars. I will never forgive her.

  7. i always thought it strange when someone says i must hate God.  does a Christian hate Zeus?  probably not.

  8. I understand you think religion is dangerous. Although basically the entire population has one.

  9. agnophilo says:

    @RulerofMasons – Yeah how’s that worked out the last ten thousand years?  The secular era is also the era of democracy and civil rights that took us from horse drawn carriages to landing on the moon in less than a century.

  10. stop reciting the achievements of others.

  11. Pretending not to know what I am talking about, nice tactic.

  12. agnophilo says:

    @RulerofMasons – I know what you’re talking about, I just have no idea what your point is.  You think I’m taking credit for other peoples’ actions?  We’re talking about the consequences of beliefs, not you and me.  It’s not a “tactic”, and if it were it would be a poor one.

  13. You’re taking what I say and twisting it around right after saying “come again?” You like to change subjects when it suits you, clearly honesty is not your aim, rather confusion and disagreement for the hec of it. So I will ask you again, why do you like to point out the achievments of mankind as a way to say religion has no place in the world, if you know what I am talking about, then you know my point as well, I am trying to understand why you attack religion with such weak arguments and a folly evolution belief. You keep saying religion hurts others, that medicine helps others, not prayer, do you really think people think prayer is that miraculous? Do you really think all people who worship a God are evil? What’s going on kiddo?

  14. agnophilo says:

    @RulerofMasons – “You’re taking what I say and twisting it around right after saying “come again?” You like to change subjects when it suits you, clearly honesty is not your aim, rather confusion and disagreement for the hec of it.” How is asking you to clarify what you mean twisting what you say or changing the subject?  Bluster all you want, it doesn’t change anything.”So I will ask you again, why do you like to point out the achievments of mankind as a way to say religion has no place in the world,” That is the first time you have asked me that question, stop being childish.  And I was making an observation – as the world gets more secular it seems to be improving dramatically.  Do you disagree?”if you know what I am talking about, then you know my point as well, I am trying to understand why you attack religion with such weak arguments” That’s not a question, it’s an attack with a question mark at the end.  It’s like asking “why are you such a shithead?”  It’s just an insult masquerading as a question.”and a folly evolution belief.” Evolution isn’t a matter of belief or opinion, which is why even if you only polled christian biologists, paleontologists, geneticists etc the acceptance rate would be around 100%.”You keep saying religion hurts others, that medicine helps others, not prayer, do you really think people think prayer is that miraculous?” Yeah, lots of people do.”Do you really think all people who worship a God are evil? What’s going on kiddo?”No, nor have I said that anywhere.  There’s a difference between thinking a belief does harm and thinking those who believe it are evil.  Most of the evil in the world is done by good people with good intentions who are simply ignorant or mislead.

  15. After that rebuttal, I comprehend that your anti religious attitude is something I don’t understand. How dare you call believers ignorant. I’m not taking your views seriously until your views become stronger, reading Dawkins can only do so much in a debate.

  16. agnophilo says:

    @RulerofMasons – “How dare you call believers ignorant.”I didn’t, your reading comprehension just sucks.  But even if I did who cares?  Of course religious believers are ignorant, so is everyone else.  Just about different things.  Or do you think you know everything?”I’m not taking your views seriously until your views become stronger,” What you’re dismissing isn’t what I actually said.”reading Dawkins can only do so much in a debate.”I’ve never read or bought one of his books, stop with the stereotypical comments.

  17. You’re a pathological liar. So what do you have against Dawkins, please answer that one before you get all defensive on me.

  18. agnophilo says:

    @RulerofMasons – “You’re a pathological liar.” No, you just have poor reading comprehension and a cynical way of approaching anything I say.  I’ve not lied once in this entire exchange.”So what do you have against Dawkins, please answer that one before you get all defensive on me.”I didn’t say I have anything against him.  Again, poor reading comprehension.  “I’ve never bought one of his books” does not mean I hate the man.  There are lots of people whose books I’ve never read.  You insist I am somehow depending on his arguments and views (even though I haven’t mentioned or quoted him once) and I said I’m not and I’ve never even bought one of his books – to which you turn into “I hate richard dawkins”.You might want to listen to what I actually say instead of distorting it into something else.

  19. Okay, I’m done splitting hairs with you, it’s impossible to get anywhere with you, all you do is deny. Of course you’ve never said you hate richard dawkins.

  20. agnophilo says:

    @RulerofMasons – I was having a rational discussion – you’re the one who turned it into mis-characterizing every word I say.

  21. And you like to have the last word, you throw pebbles in my direction, and you claim to have a rational discussion when anyone reading our dialogue will know that what you actually did was just try to make yourself seem like the rational one and me like the irrational one. Next time I want to have a discussion with you, instead of trying so hard to have an argument with me, why don’t you answer my ponderings as honestly as you can. And I would not be surprised if you actually read a whole bunch of books by dawkins.

  22. agnophilo says:

    @RulerofMasons – 1) I invite anyone to read our discussion and judge for themselves, 2) feel free to have the last word now and 3) I can’t imagine why I would lie about having read his books, that makes no sense.  You just need me to some kind of villain so you can dismiss everything I say.

  23. I was not trying to dismiss everything you say, I was trying to understand why you attack religion with such petty arguments which I have read on your blogs and comments on other’s sites. And intead of addressing those issues, you would just find faults in minor details that have nothing to do with the subject at hand. Like a lying politician ducking away questions.

  24. agnophilo says:

    @RulerofMasons – What criticisms that I’ve made of religion do you think are petty?  Calling me petty is just, well, petty.  Say something of substance.

  25. Sir, I did not call you petty. The one who has to say something of substance is you. Perhaps you should read Dawkins, instead of name calling. But I will leave you be, I just hope that from now on you will write quality stuff of evolution, and stronger arguments that really prove your anti-religious views.

  26. agnophilo says:

    @RulerofMasons – Yeah who’s splitting hairs…You say my posts are petty and ask me to stop saying petty things – I seek constructive criticism and ask what you think is petty and why and you just blow off the question and decide to be a dick instead.Just stop wasting my time please.

  27. we could argue forever and end up making up. I got nothing more to say regarding the subject at hand. The next time you make a petty comment, I will call you out on it.

Speak yer mind.

