Good Quote On Religion And The Afterlife.

“I don’t respect people who don’t proselytize, I don’t respect that at all.  If you believe that there’s a heaven and hell and people could be going to hell or not getting eternal life or whatever and you think it’s not worth telling them this because it would make it socially awkward or whatever… how much do you have to hate somebody to not proselytize?  How much do you have to hate somebody to believe that everlasting life was possible and not tell them that?  I mean if I believed that a truck was gonna hit you and you didn’t believe it, that that truck was bearing down on you there’s a point where I tackle you – and this is more important than that.”

Penn Jillette (atheist)

About agnophilo

Nerd.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Good Quote On Religion And The Afterlife.

  1. locomotiv says:

    i think there is no hell after life personally..i think that the concept of hell is just a figure of speech..

  2. agnophilo says:

    @locomotiv – I have no reason to suppose such a place exists.  Other than figuratively here on earth.  As someone once said, we are punished by our sins, not for them.

  3. PPhilip says:

    People who believe in reincarnation are sort of in the same category like atheists. The people pushing heaven will also give people who do not care about the environment a chance to pollute more and not care about future generations.I wonder if people who say go to hell really believe there is a hell? Then that makes them more damned than if a non believer of hell saying the similar line.How far does a Christian care about others? I don’t think just saving a person’s soul is caring enough.@locomotiv -The figure of speech loses its meaning if there is no one believing in hell. Strangely Hello has nothing to do with hell.

  4. locomotiv says:

    @agnophilo – i know you speak figuratively…i can tell you have common sense….

  5. locomotiv says:

    @PPhilip –  hell, i’m glad you dont believe in hell either..and Hello to you…

  6. agnophilo says:

    @PPhilip – I think the fact that “go to hell” or “to hell with x” “or “god damn it” are so common shows how seriously we take the concept of hell.  I think at most most people are afraid there might be a hell.@locomotiv – ?

  7. musterion99 says:

    Here in America pretty much every one has heard about Jesus and hell. And as you can see on xanga, unbelievers don’t want to be told they’re going to hell. In a country where they aren’t familiar with Jesus, the cross, and hell, it’s a different story witnessing to them.

  8. locomotiv says:

    @agnophilo – i’m confused…to the ?…are you asking me a question ?

  9. Ampbreia says:

    I don’t know about that.  I’m an agnostic and don’t believe in the primitive/unjust concepts of Heaven and Hell but I do believe in an after life.  I just do.  It seems like a totally normal part of life.  I don’t need anyone telling me I can or can’t have it based on whether I believe what they believe or not.  That’s just all kinds of screwed up and insulting.  Hence, I don’t really like people that proslytize to me.  Please, if I need my thinking over regimented and screwed up, I can do it all my own.  I don’t need the “help” thank you.  You posted this as a joke, right?

  10. agnophilo says:

    @musterion99 – When christians tell me I’m going to hell it’s usually in a spiteful way, like “ha ha you’re gonna go to hell” or at best in a formal reciting-a-tract way.  The few times I’ve met christians who seemed genuinely concerned for me I found their concern very touching.  It’s happened maybe twice.  @locomotiv – I just wasn’t sure what you meant by that.

  11. agnophilo says:

    @Ampbreia – What?  Where’s the joke?  And why the attitude?  If your position is “screw you for talking about something!” then what are you doing on a blog site?

  12. Ampbreia says:

    @agnophilo – I’ve encountered way too many santimonious insulting evangelists.  Sure, they have free speech and far be it from me to deny them.  But I avoid reading their blogs and I don’t invite them in when they come to my door.  I figure if you’re looking for religion, you’ll find it because you’ll be receptive.  Same for nearly anything you’re looking for.  I’m just not receptive to religion.  I had my fill of it long past and am pretty much done with it.  An exchange of ideas is fine.  Always has been.  But not being preached at uninvited.Bad attitude, huh?  That’s me.  I’m bad.

  13. TheSutraDude says:

    I disagree with the quote. The operative word in the quote is “believe”. We have seen proselytizing  too many times leads people into bad situations and/or patterns of thought that do not create value but rather stunt or destroy value creation in life. One could apply here the expression, “The road to hell is paved with good intentions.” You can see someone unknowingly step into the path of an oncoming truck. I know the truck is intended as a metaphor but in the case of the truck that the truck is barreling down the road is not merely a belief.

  14. maniacsicko says:

    i actually agree with the quote..and i’ve posted some time ago pondering why i never make any real attempt here on xanga, perhaps i don’t care at all about the people i “know” in here…

  15. locomotiv says:

    @agnophilo – i was talking to PPhilip…

  16. PPhilip says:

    I suppose reincarnation could be made into an “evil” concept if someone said they weren’t prolife and believed in reincarnation. Belief in hell could be a strawman argument similar to folks who want to make you believe in Karma.But Karma has more of a logical reasoning because a bad action could trigger off a future that maybe someone or something wants justice.; The concept of a hell is pretty esoteric comparatively to Karma.Basically some people don’t have a clue when to keep quiet. Is there such a thing as a smart proselytizer?

  17. nov_way says:

    How people treat others is a reflection of who they are. If that person has no respect for others because of that, well, I am sure you get the point.Regarding the afterlife: http://hunt4truth.xanga.com/771965647/Btw, I wanted to reply to something you asked me before regarding that example of Shakespeare as I am sure you can still remember it. Simply, you are right; he got it right with that one example you showed–if that’s indeed what he said because I am not familiar with all that he wrote. The thing is, not every single thing he did and said in his entire life proved to be completely right, true and beneficial to the entire human species, but that’s exactly the case with the prophet of Islam. I am not kidding nor do I aim to convince you about what I just shared. I’ve read enough about his life and researched his words of advice for the people he encountered during his lifetime to know that he got everything right. 

  18. Jenny_Wren says:

    Sometimes you want to tell someone, but you can tell that they’d heard it before and hate to hear it. 

  19. Jenny_Wren says:

    Btw, I love Cat Stevens. 

  20. T0m03 says:

    I never thought of it that way. I guess now I can be more understanding of those who try to proselytize me. 

  21. Hunt4Truth says:

    It seems that to be believed that there are spirits and supernatural forces one would have to conduct tours of their dwellings. Tackling… interesting. How is that possible on the Internet?

  22. trunthepaige says:

    NOw I see Im sorry I had not read your entry or i would have been more responsive. I wish I had the time right now

  23. dw817 says:

    I have always respected Penn Jilette and his partner Teller, especially in his informative series, “Bullshit.”For those of you who don’t know the word, “Proselytize,” it means to, “Convert or attempt to convert (someone) from one religion, belief, or opinion to another.”But I have to disagree with him here. If you’re an avid vegetarian and you enter a BBQ restaurant on, “Meat Lover’s Night” and try to convert the customers there to hate meat solely on your beliefs, you’re going to have a small, if any, audience.There is a time and a place for everything.Proselytize, yes, but within your means and reach. Don’t preach to those you know are unreachable. The Good Lord (or Whomever), would definitely want you to use your proselytizing abilities in areas you know you can actually make an impact and influence in the community.Be friendly and cordial of course, but don’t practice what you preach when you know you are directly in the wrong territory for it is my advice on the matter.@locomotiv – As for Heaven and Hell. I have sometimes wondered if where we are now is to be considered either. If we are indeed in Heaven now, perhaps there is a hell for the truly unrepentant. But if this life is already hell, may there indeed be a greater heaven awaiting us …

  24. Thanks for the license to evangelize! 🙂 God speed, ~ Pete

  25. This here has got me thinking. Thanks, love it when something/someone makes me think. I think I may write a post with my thoughts!

    • agnophilo says:

      A related quote:

      “I very much doubt whether most religious people believe in their religion. Not really. It’s become unplausible. You know even Jehovah’s Witnesses are really polite when they come round to the door. If they really believed what they were talking about, they’d be screaming in the streets. If some Catholics believe what they’re talking about, they would be making an awful fuss. They would be having the most horrendous television programs that would make Batman look like nothing. They would have full-page ads in the papers about the terrible things that would happen if you didn’t, and more so if you did, and they would be very serious about it. But nobody is.”

      – Alan Watts

      Here’s more snippits you might enjoy:

      http://mysite.verizon.net/vze1s8au/charlie/religion/watts.htm

Speak yer mind.

