Motivational Videos, Bucket Lists And The Meaning Of Life.

This is part of a comment I left as part of a conversation I felt worth passing on:

I remember seeing a motivational ted talk recently about a guy who did all this amazing stuff with his life because he created a bucket list and has done about 80% of the things on the list and is still young.  I was thinking on one hand that’s nice but all his things on his list were self-indulgent.  Make lots of money, live in x number of countries, skydive, write a book etc.  Why not have “get at least one homeless person permanently off the streets” on your bucket list?  Especially once you have the financial means to do so.  Convince someone life is worth living.  Save someone from depression.  Help one village in some far-flung part of the world be self-sustainable, lower your carbon footprint to x number etc.  I want to see that ted talk.

About agnophilo

Nerd.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Motivational Videos, Bucket Lists And The Meaning Of Life.

  1. locomotiv says:

    he could have at least send me a million dollars…

  2. TheSutraDude says:

    I agree. I find being around people who are all about “me me me” a most unpleasant experience. Suffocating. I never made a bucket list but I think it can be a good idea. I’ve accomplished many things in life. Part of the reason is I didn’t own a television for more than 35 years. The times in my life I’ve felt the happiest were those when I gave my time for others. I wish I had done more. There are people who put a tremendous amount of time and priority into doing things for others.

  3. agnophilo says:

    @TheSutraDude – Sadly in america people give most of their time for others – the greatest benefactor simply never meets them and doesn’t need their help very much.But I agree. I remember reading in Meditations by Marcus Aurelius (probably misspelled the last name) in the section where he’s thanking the gods for all the things he’s grateful for (he was a king), he says he thanks the gods he never wanted to help a man and was told he was unable to do so.

  4. TheSutraDude says:

    @agnophilo – You spelled his name correctly. 😛 Wow I had to read that about Marcus Aurelius twice. I was given many opportunities to help people face to face. It got to the point I seriously wondered who was helping whom because I benefited so much from the experiences.

  5. I understand tomorrow is xanga’s last day. Just want you to know that yours is one of the top handful of sites I have enjoyed here and will truely miss. Reading your posts restores my hope just when I think sanity and humanity have exited the building.

  6. jasonwl says:

    @ItsWhatEyeKnow – I thought that was going to be Jul-15-2013.

  7. jasonwl says:

    I agree completely with this sentiment.

  8. Lovegrove says:

    Motivational speakers are just salesmen types after your donations. Or is my cynicism showing through?

  9. agnophilo says:

    @TheSutraDude – Ironically I had to read that twice to figure out what you had to read twice : ) And yeah, altruism and human connection are some of the most meaningful things in life.@ItsWhatEyeKnow – 15th of next month is xanga’s last day. But thank you, that is very kind of you to say : ) And for what it’s worth the demons run amok because, to quote john stewart, “reasonable people have shit to do.”@Lovegrove – I agree they sound like used car salesmen. Then there are corporate motivational speakers who are paid by companies to make their employees more productive.

  10. TheSutraDude says:

    @agnophilo – Ha! I’ll try to be clearer next time.

  11. agnophilo says:

    Nah it was what you were responding to that made it unclear, just thought it was ironic.

Speak yer mind.

